Skip to content

Bits from David Stockton’s workout with Jeff Hornacek (and the Suns)

June 12, 2014

horny stock

David Stockton gets left behind
As told by Jeff Hornacek:

“My three kids’ age correlates with three of John’s kids,” Hornacek said. “When the games were going on, I know Tyler and David would be in the wives’ room playing basketball. I don’t know if they even watched many of the games. It seemed like the older kids sat there and watched them, but they were off playing.”

The familiarity between families extended off the court as well, where Hornacek once took advantage of a slight mishap on the elder Stockton’s part.

“John, after the games, he liked to leave the arena quickly to avoid [the media],” Hornacek said. “He had all his kids behind him and David was walking with Tyler. We were walking out and they were getting in the car backing up and we were walking behind and I’m like, ‘I think they’re going to forget David.’

“I said, ‘Hurry up, David! Come on with us!’ we jumped up in our car and I caught them up the ramp. I’m honking and I pull up next to them. John’s going ‘What?’ I said ‘Did you forget somebody?’ I tapped David. He was in my lap and David popped up and John said, ‘Oh man!'”

David may have gotten left behind more than once, because his version of the story is a little different:

There’s six kids in my family, and you know, we get lost pretty quickly. And I got left at the Delta Center in Utah, and you know, Jeff trotted by with his family, and says, “What are you doing?”

I’m like, “I’m looking for my dad.”

He said, “I just saw him leave.”

I’m, “All right.” So I just hop in their car.

And eventually you see my dad screeching back, and you know, Jeff [says] out the window, he’s like, “You looking for David?” And you know, I was hiding in the back seat. But it was fun.

How far back does the Jeff Hornacek-David Stockton coach-player relationship go?
As told by Horny:

“David was a guy you could see back in fourth grade that he had a good feel for the game,” Hornacek added.

“He knows how to play and makes great passes. He showed that today. Obviously size will be tough for him, but he knows how to play.”

As told by Stockton:

Jeff was actually my coach for the Knights when I was, I think, in the third and fourth grade. So he’s, you know, he’s taken a step up from that.

Was he a demanding third grade coach?

Yeah, most definitely. We were good, too. It was a lot of fun. (suns.com)

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

