Skip to content

Bits from Randy Rigby Interview, 5/21

May 22, 2014
tags: ,

rigby

What was your reaction when you found out the Jazz fell to fifth?
Well, my heart sank. I was, you know, I have to admit, I was disappointed. I, you know, you always go into those experiences being hopeful, and encouraged that, and then start thinking what it would mean to the community and to the Jazz fans and to the organization to move up to being one, two or three. But you know, it was, so it was tough.

But most people would rather live in Salt Lake City and draft fifth than live in Cleveland and draft first three out of four years, right?

I would agree with you with that one. You know what? This is a great place to live and we get great people here.

And as Dennis [Lindsey] and I talked about it afterwards, you know? We said, you know what? We’re not afraid to do it the old-fashioned way. We’ll work harder. We’ll work smarter, and we’ll do what it takes. If luck doesn’t shine down on us, we’ll, you know what? We’ll just put our heads down and get after it.

And hey guys, at the same time, five, there are still very good players at five…One thing that this week does now, it defines for us, we’re a lot clearer with clarity, now, of knowing exactly where we’re at with our picks and what we need to do and what we can do based on now where we’re at with, in the draft.

Are the Jazz willing to pay a price to move up in the draft?
You know, I don’t wanna just say, there’s not just four, to me, key players in here. I think, really, we’re in a position that we have the opportunity to also, at five, of really looking at a player that is a difference-maker, even if we stay at five.

So I’m ver–I feel very good that with the intel and the conversations that I’m having with Dennis and with our staff, that there’s a player for the Utah Jazz to be had.

Where does the Jazz roster need upgrades?
Well, you know, I think one of the areas that we continue to look at is, you know, I feel we need to continue to strengthen our wing position. Wing players is an area that I think is, would be very beneficial for us.

That small forward position is an area that would like to see, I’d like to see us be able to have more f–shooting from the outside. So, I, that’s an area I continue to feel we need to strengthen, and have a backup for [Tyrell?] in the point guard position.

And then I feel we need to continue to build our defensive toughness. And so I’d like to continue to see us have some real tough players who can give us a defensive presence for the organization as well.

Closing thought
I want our listeners to know: Hey, this is, you know what, we didn’t get the top, there are nine other teams that also were disappointed in moving back one. We’re number five, and that’s a great place to be.

We got a great assets. We got a great group of people. And there’s a very good draft that’s coming up here. I’m excited about what we’ve got in front of us and I’m looking forward to it, ’cause I think we’re gonna make some magic out of this whole thing. (1280)

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

