Skip to content

Bits from Utah Jazz Draft Workout: Mike Moser, Akil Mitchell, Bryce Cotton and Taylor Braun

May 8, 2014
tags: , ,

507 perrin

** How many guys do you plan on bringing in this year?
I have no idea. I, you know, last year, I know I broke the record. We’re all, look, we’re all in the business of trying to break records. So, who knows?
** What do you want to get out of this draft? Will you be addressing specific needs, or is it best player available?
Franchise players. All-Stars. That’s what we’re looking to get. But we also understand that we, you know, we need depth. We need rotational players, and we have a lot of needs in terms of shooting; in terms of defense; in terms of also rebounding. So, we’re looking at a lot of different things.
** Does it matter who the coach is when you’re looking at prospects?
Well, the philosophy is always best available player. So, once you bring a coach in, he will be able to adapt that player to whatever system he may have, or utilize the strengths that that player has and try to hide the weaknesses that he has. That’s what a good coach does.

507 moser

** Second workout; first one was with Sacramento
** Comment on the altitude
It just takes a little bit getting used to, and I think they just kinda want to see how well you can push through it.
** Which aspects of your game are you trying to highlight in workouts with teams?
I’d say how well I’ve improved on my shooting, and just my versatility. I mean, I feel like I can play a bunch of spots in this league, and really just trying to show that as best I can.
** Which player do you pattern your game after?
I’d say a mixture of guys. I try to emulate Kawhi Leonard, the way he rebounds and defends. Mike Scott, the, his versatility and the way he can stretch the d[efense] at the three-four position. Any guy kinda similar to that.
** Will you be a stretch four or a three in the NBA?
I honestly want to say both, ’cause I feel so comfortable doing both. I’m really getting more comfortable at the three, but I’d just probably say stretch four is probably where I could shine at the most.

507 mitchell

** First workout; no other workouts scheduled at present
** What are your strengths?
My defense. I feel like I can defend pretty well anywhere on the floor, any position on the floor. My energy and my rebounding. I feel like those are the two big things that I can bring to any team. And my ability to, you know, put the ball on the floor and make plays happen. I feel like I’m developing, for sure.
** Do you have any idea of where you fit into draft projections right now?
I have no idea. I don’t even really try to think about it too much. I let my agent handle that, and my coaches and everybody else talk about it…As far as what I’m doing, I’m just, you know, working my butt off and trying to stay in the gym and give it everything I got, and I feel like everything will work itself out in the end.

507 cotton

** First workout; has a second one scheduled with Sacramento
** Comment on the altitude
I handled the altitude pretty well.
** Are you a one or a two in this league?
I’m a one.
** What are your strengths?
My strengths is I’m a great leader, unselfish player. I love getting guys involved, making my teammates better. And if I’m open, I can make open shots. And I can definitely create for others.
** Which player do you pattern your game after?
Nobody in particular right now. I take bits and pieces from a lot of people, but somebody from back in the day who I think I have similar style of play to is a guy named Dana Barros, ’cause he was similar size and weight. So, I feel me and him have a similar style of play, but like I said, whatever the team requires of me, that’s what I focus on doing.
** On his (lack of) size
It’s something that I’ve heard my whole life. You know, I’ve always been small, in other people’s eyes. You know, I don’t see it that way, and at the end of the day, Imma go out there and Imma be a competitor. And there’s plenty of other guys who have paved the way for people like me that have fared well in the NBA. So, I don’t see why I can’t be another one as well.
** Do you have a contingency plan? Are you all in for the NBA right now?
All in for the NBA. I got strong faith in God, and I put in a lot of hard work and prayers, and now that I have these opportunities, Imma give it all I got. You know, see what He has in store.

507 braun

** First workout
** On making the most of his opportunities
I’m fully confident in what I can do. I think it takes, it’ll take a little time to adjust, but any, I think if a team gives me an opportunity, you know, they’ll definitely, it won’t be a waste of time.
** On the NBA workout experience
It’s an incredible experience, you know? You know, you’re on the biggest stage now. You know, they fly you out first class. You know, I’ve never done that before. You have a hotel room to yourself. Never done that before. I mean, even the practice is, everything is just top-notch. And coming from a small school, you appreciate that stuff that much more. And then getting to compete with these guys, you know, that’s an honor in itself. You know, these, lot of high-name, high-profile-school players here, and it’s just an honor to compete with them, and I’m just enjoying it.

Other players that worked out for the Jazz today with no interviews made available: Stephen Holt (STEVE HOLT!) and Ronald Roberts Jr.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    May 9, 2014 5:12 am

    I really wanted to hear from STEVE HOLT!

    I think it’s funny that Walt Perrin says I a lot instead of we.

    Everyone knows because it was said last year DL was behind the change in the number of players worked out. Not Walt Perrin .

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

