Skip to content

Gordon Hayward talks the Philippines, what kind of transportation there is in the Philippines and coaching change

April 28, 2014
tags: ,

via NBA Cafe Manila

Interviewer: David Locke
Interviewee: Gordon Hayward

G, how are you?
Hayward: I am good, how are you doing?

Locke: Wow, this is so funky. What’s it like?

Hayward: It’s hot…Definitely need some sunscreen out there.

Tell me how this came about.
I mean, it was just one of those things where they came to me with the opportunity, and, I mean, it’s a trip to the Philippines on the NBA*, and I get to go with [fiancee] Robyn, and, I mean, couldn’t pass it up, so. Excited to see some hoops here.

* Emphasis mine.

Have you been able to see much of Manila yet?
Not really. We stayed at the hotel a lot. We went to a mall yesterday, and did some shopping and stuff. And had a little banquet yesterday, but other than that, we kinda been at the hotel. But it’s a nice hotel, so. They treat us right here.

So, does Manila fulfill the American stereotype of Asian cities like Tokyo, or Singapore, or Shanghai, or Bangkok? Is it just incredible population numbers with an amazing amount of activity and hot?
It definitely fulfills that stereotype. Took us about an hour to go 10 minutes around the block to the mall, just with the traffic and everything, so. It’s pretty dense, and definitely fulfills that.

I’m ignorant of the Philippines. Is it just cars, or is it cars, bikes, rickshaws and pedestrians? What is the traffic pattern, or lack thereof?
A little bit of everything. It’s, like, cars…and then they just have, like, random bikers running through the streets. They get so close to each other.

Robyn’s not the tallest thing, but does she, the American beauty often gets a lot of attention there!
Yeah, she does. And you know, we were walking around and she had some heels on. And we looked like giants compared to everybody.

What’s your schedule like?
Today, we have, like, our opening ceremony, and kinda our first day on the court. Yesterday, we had a welcome dinner, and today, we get to the, get on the court with the kids, and I think we’re doing a couple workouts, and first day of drills and stuff, so. I get to check out and see how they are.

Who else is there with you from the NBA?
Hayward: Tina Thompson from the WNBA…It’s just me and her.

Locke: I called her games in the WNBA. She wore redder lipstick than any person ever in the history of basketball. If you didn’t know that, you can ask her about that. I wouldn’t do that.

How old are the kids?
Hayward: Ten to 14.

Locke: Do they know the NBA at all?

Hayward: I haven’t really talked to much of them yet, but there’s definitely some Utah Jazz fans just over here, ’cause just walking around the streets there’s been some people that have said “Go Jazz” and stuff.

* Can’t claim to have been everywhere, but the Philippines is the most basketball/NBA-crazy country I’ve ever been to, and it’s not close.

Any thoughts on Tyrone Corbin being let go?
I mean, it’s one of those things where it’s difficult just ’cause I’ve been with Ty for the past, you know, four years, and he was great for me and for the organization. And, but I think it’s, you realize it’s a business…It’s just, sometimes you have to move on. So, sad for Ty, but excited for the organization.

You said at locker room cleanout the Jazz have to play with more athleticism and pace. Do you hope that’s the direction the organization goes with the new coach?
Yeah, I think so. I mean, we should probably utilize what we have, as far as just the speed we have out on the wing and some of the athleticism. I mean, it’s, hopefully it can [result in] easy buckets.

I mean, you know, it’s hard to score in the NBA when you have to walk the ball up the court every time. So. I think definitely, if we get out in transition, it’ll probably be a little better for us.

Congratulations to you and Robyn. If I don’t talk to you before your nuptials, I’ll probably text you, just to wish you luck. And then in July I’m going to start texting you every hour. “What’s new?” “What do you know?” “Come on!” And you’re gonna be like, “Locke, stop it!”
Right. Yup. (Locked on Jazz)


Locke was on 1280 the following day and was asked what was his biggest takeaway from his conversation with Hayward. His response:

I think that he was, he just, you know, last year was a frustrating year. I’m not sure he, clearly, from his comment at the locker clearout, that he always thought that whatever we were doing was best to help him out of his problems.

I’m not sure that that’s fair, but that’s probably irrelevant to the conversation right now, of whether that’s fair or not.

But I do think for him personally, this is probably the best for him, is a new, fresh start, and hopefully a coach that he, you know, he has a little bit of what I would call Brad Stevens-itis. And there probably also might be a little Jeff Hornacek-itis. I mean, I think he, it’s particularly Brad Stevens-itis.

He’s had a, he just, you know, had such a fabulous experience with Brad Stevens that I think he’s had a hard time adjuusting to having a different head coach and having a coach who does things in a different way. And hopefully, you know, this fresh start will be good for him.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Erich permalink
    April 29, 2014 1:32 am

    God, Locke is really starting to disgust me. I bet Hayward didn’t leave his hotel because he saw Locke waiting in the lobby with his bathing suit on.

  2. Diana permalink
    April 29, 2014 2:52 am

    Sharon served her mission in the Philippines, she said they LOVED the NBA. And they loved Americans. People would stop her on the street just to touch her beautiful blonde hair. Sharon is 5′ 2″ and she was kind of tall there. Where she was they didn’t really have many cars it was all rickshaws, bicycles and scooters.

    From what Sharon told me about the Philippines it didn’t sound like Singapore at all. Nor from what Annie told me about China, its not similar in culture to the Philippines.

    Sorry but Locke sounds pretty ignorant in world culture in this interview. I mean I get that just because of family and travels I have a little more knowledge than some Americans about certain cultures including the Philippines but if I was doing a professional interview I probably would have studied up more if I was Locke.

    I am happy that Gordon is getting this experience and exposure.

  3. MyKroberts permalink
    April 29, 2014 4:46 am

    I’m on the lets bash Locke bandwagon, but I don’t really see an issue with this interview. He straight up says he doesn’t know much about the area other than the stereotypical assumptions and asks Gordon for his impression.

    I think there are a lot of legitimate issues with Locke’s reporting to really take offense by this puff peace.

  4. J87 permalink
    April 29, 2014 6:51 am

    “So, does Manila fulfill the American stereotype of Asian cities…”

    So, does Locke fulfill the world stereotype of the American (not beauty)?

  5. corrsty permalink
    April 29, 2014 2:31 pm

    Metro Manila is a very big metropolis and just like most big cities, there are nice areas and some areas tourists should not venture. Traffic jam is an ongoing problem with many undisciplined drivers, mostly from the public utility sector. Gordon is right, cars and motorbikes do get extremely close to each other.

    The Philippines was a Spanish colony for more than 300 years. It was also under American control for close to 50 years (some would say that The Philippines is still under USA’s control). It is an Asian enigma in the sense that the people have some Latin flavor to them but a propensity for everything American. Basketball is our country’s favorite sport, not football/soccer which is the sport of choice for almost all Asian countries. And as Moni indicated, the NBA is huge here.

    I just wished Gordon and Robyn were able to visit some sights outside the city. We have some of the best beaches in the world and I’d bet if they’ve been to one, they’ll come back for their honeymoon.

    • April 29, 2014 3:46 pm

      I was in Boracay last year. One of the best places/beaches I’ve ever been and I’m hoping to go again…as soon as possible :)

      • corrsty permalink
        April 29, 2014 3:52 pm

        Glad you liked Boracay. Did you stay at the Shangri-La?

        (best takeaway from this is the great Moni visited our country!)

        • April 29, 2014 4:06 pm

          Yes I did! Only for two out of four nights though due to $$$, but it was hands down the most amazing hotel I’ve ever stayed at. Also loved seeing probably one out of every five men/boys on the street wearing a basketball jersey, whether NBA or PBA.

          (It was my third time in the Philippines btw, though the first two times were when I was much younger :) )

    • May 2, 2014 11:19 am

      I figure you’re also Filipino? Hole-in-one description of the basketball (and the general) culture in the Philippines.

      Also good to hear some fans have some knowledge of our country and that moni has actually been here and loved it.

      I actually feel bad I couldn’t come to MOA where Hayward was at (though I don’t really know if fans were allowed in the venue). Would’ve been awesome to take a picture, or just see him in person.

  6. corrsty permalink
    April 29, 2014 4:21 pm

    NBA jerseys are big here but more of the “pirated” kinds. ;) Original jerseys are out of reach for most.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

