Skip to content

Game 78 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Dallas Mavericks (24-54)

April 9, 2014

bucket chart

Pre-Game Quotage
** Gordon Hayward on Jeremy Evans the artist
He’s really talented. I like to challenge him and hype him up and say, “You can’t do this or that.” And he gets all riled up and then does it. And then I get to see, you know, a pretty cool piece of art, so. He did one the other day coming back from Golden State, just on the trip home, that was just, like, on his iPad, just in an hour and a half, that was incredible, so.
** Hayward, asked if Evans has ever done one of him…that he knows of
He did one of me at a Noodles, or somewh–no, Macaroni Grill. The place where you get to draw on [the table]. We went to dinner, and he drew a picture of me, like a caricature. Yeah, with crayon. So, it was pretty good, for just, like, a at-dinner, crayon doodle.
** Trey Burke, asked if he’s ever seen any of Evans’ artwork
Yeah, I actually was watching him draw on the plane on the way back from Golden State. He was drawing me. I kinda laughed, ’cause he kept, him and Gordon kept looking back, and I was wondering why they was looking back at me…He has a app where he can draw, and it looked just like me. You know, it was kinda cool.

** Jeremy Evans, asked if he’ll show everyone the portrait he drew of Trey Burke on the plane
Ooh, I wish I could. I’ll do another one, but I deleted that one ’cause, actually I was just, you know, drawing.
** Evans, asked if he should have gotten more credit for his painting dunk in the dunk contest, and many people not realizing he painted the painting himself
Yeah, I think so. And plus, I don’t think a lot of people recognized how big the canvas was. It was pretty big. And taller than a couple of you guys.
** Evans, asked if art is something he will focus on after his basketball career is over
Oh yeah, of course. When this is over, that’s probably what I’ll be doing. Spending my time also with basketball, but also with doing art. I’d love to do both.
** Evans, on the picture he drew of Coach Jerry Sloan when he was a rookie
Wasn’t proud of it, but I, you know, did it in maybe two hours…[He was] very surprised, but he knew who it was, so that’s the good thing.

via @utahjazz

** Hayward on what he wants to accomplish in the last five games, as a team and individually
Well, we wanna get wins. At least, I wanna get wins. And I think we wanna get better as a team, ‘specially defensively, so. We’re not very high up in the rankings defensively, and I think try to improve in these last five games.
** Burke, asked if there are personal goals he wants to achieve in the last five games
Yeah, absolutely. We just wanna continue to get better. I think that’s the most important thing. You know, as a team and then individually, I think we all wanna, you know, continue to develop, you know, as players, you know, for next season, and going into the off-season, we wanna basically go into the off-season and finish off strong, so I think that’s the number one goal. You know, obviously we wanna win these last five, or, you know, have the opportunity, or be in the, be in those la–be in these last five games. So, we just gotta play hard.

favors-move

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the game
Give them a lot of credit, they shot the ball extremely well. I don’t know, I, it didn’t seem like they were missing any shots in that first quarter, and then after that we did a better job of staying closer to ‘em. They gonna make some shots, and Dirk [Nowitzki] is tremendous and Monta [Ellis] is tremendous.
** Corbin, asked if he could shed any light on why he elected to go with Alec Burks over Richard Jefferson in the second half
I just decided to go with the change-up.

lowe suitAnother classic Sidney Lowe suit

** Trey Burke on the biggest difference between the first half and second half
Well, they just made shots. I don’t think we just played awful defense. They made, they hit open shots. Dirk hit shots, you know? We expected him to make some tough shots, but they shot 94 percent after the first quarter, so I don’t think it was a lot on our defense. I just think they made some shots tonight.
** Jeremy Evans, asked if he wanted to play this many minutes
Oh, of course. Yes. Just to go out and try and, you know, do my assignments, you know, it was big. But I feel like I have a long way to go, and a couple mistakes…I helped a little too much and you know, coach just told me not to do that. I feel like, you know, those mistakes were huge down the stretch.
** Evans on his blocked dunk that would have cut the lead to nine with 5:28 remaining
I just feel like, you know, I let everybody down, just because I feel like, you know, that play right there, it’s huge, and I didn’t really jump as hard as I could have…I feel like, you know, defensively, I was okay, but I could’ve had, like, the worst offensive game of my career.
** Enes Kanter on how the Jazz continued to fight
Yeah, definitely. I mean, everybody, you know, everybody I think played pretty hard. And you know, I’m, I mean, I wan–I especially wanna say, you know, how about Jeremy? Coming from the bench, and he just playing those minutes and giving his best. I think he did a really good job, and I think he just, you know, played one of his best game.

sean jerry tweets

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Alec Burks “Alex Burks”: nba.com recap guy
** People calling San Antonio “San Antone”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @Mark_R_Pereira)
** While Enes Kanter was doing his post-game interview, Rudy Gobert (three lockers over) said “Salaam Alaikum” to Enes, and Enes replied “Alaikum Salaam.”
** Diante Garrett posted a picture of himself on Instagram earlier in the day. Later in the day, he tweeted:

garrett tweet

See if you can deduce why he had to delete it…

a651aac8bf2c11e3a2160002c954a0d6_8

** Poor Erik Murphy didn’t get the hand slap he was expecting.

marv-handslaps

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Ron Boone: That was just too hot to handle for Dalembert, and Gordon was the recipient there.
** Booner on Alec Burks charge: Alec went just a little too far.
** Craig Bolerjack: Joey Crawford has two fingers up. (H/T @shandonfan) <—- UDQM of the night!
** Booner on Dirk Nowitzki: When the contact is made, it’s made on the lower part of his body, because he’s leaning back, and the lower part of his body’s in front. Watch how he’s leaning back…He’s fading away, and he gets that shot off with ease.
** Booner on Nowitzki’s ascent on the all-time scoring list: He’s getting in that area, Craig, where he’s gonna start knocking some guys off.
** Boler on Hayward: He was ridin’ him; Calderon lost the handle. (H/T @Mark_R_Pereira)
** Hayward on the second half: We got them to do things they didn’t want to do.
** Kanter on his game: I mean, I’m just trying to go out there and try to touch every ball. You know, just try to touch every one, you know, just try to help my teammates out.

To close: A deleted scene from Utah Jazz vs. Dallas Mavericks, Apr. 8, 2014:

ty-deleted-scene

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

