Skip to content

Game 76 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. New Orleans Hornets (24-52)

April 5, 2014

evans-dunk-1

Pre-Game Quotage
** Derrick Favors, asked to summarize his season
I think I had a pretty good season. You know, had a couple up and downs, and you know, people say this and that or whatever. I think, personally, I think I had a good season this year…I got better offensively, you know, past three years I been here, and I showed a lot of new stuff that y’all didn’t see that I had, and I think I got a lot better.
** Favors, asked whether he feels like he has go-to moves now
Yeah, I got a couple moves. You know, I can do, just the point of getting the ball in the right spot, and just having patience, and you know, just getting to the move and finishing.
** Trey Burke, asked what specifically this team needs
I think first and foremost, we need to find our identity as a team, and you know, move on from there.
** Burke, asked for his thoughts on Utah
I definitely plan on being here for as long as, you know, this organization wants me to be here. I’ve embraced it a lot since I’ve been here. I didn’t really know how I would adjust when I got traded on that, on draft night, you know, for the simple fact that I had never been to Utah. I didn’t know anyone, not one person in Utah, and you know, it was kinda like my first time ever moving that far away from home. So it was a little intimidating at first, but you know, the fan base, they’ve done a great job of embracing me, you know, through the good and bad…I love it here.
** Gordon Hayward on what he hopes to accomplish in the final seven games
Oh, just to get better. I mean, just to, try to improve on our mistakes. And win some basketball games.

Another look, because one isn’t enough:

evans-dunk2

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the game
I thought the guys, for a stretch, they were executing the offense really well. I thought we were a little better defensively tonight. We made a few turnovers there…we had 17 turnovers for 21 points, but you know, we gotta continue to get better there.
** Corbin, asked how the game changed when Anthony Davis returned
We play our game. Anthony Davis is their problem. It’s not ours. We play, we call our plays and sets and we wanna be able to attack inside. I mean, he made some plays in the first half. I, you coach against the guys on the floor. You gotta axe him how the game affected them with him out there on the floor.
** Corbin on what the team needs to do
Well you know, we talked about just being able to finish games, and you know, we still, you know, we have to have the energy to have a chance to compete, you know, from where we are with our development. And you know, it’s been a long year for these guys, man. They’ve been through a lot and you know, we just gotta make sure we stay on the same page, that we are who we are right now, and we have to have everybody focus on what we need to do to have a chance to be successful and finishing strong. We’re not just try and come out here and get the games over. We wanna try and make sure we continue to develop.

brown america

** Derrick Favors on the third quarter
You know, we just wanted to come out with a lot of energy. I mean, myself included, you know, I played like crap in the first half, you know, and I owed it to my teammates to come out and play with effort, play as a team, you know, just, and get this win.
** Gordon Hayward on Favors
He did a great job for us. He was a monster in the first half, defensively too, with those blocks, and we need him to do that…Derrick’s a monster, like I said. You know, he’s tough to deal with, so we need him to play like that every night.
** Hayward, asked about Alec Burks’ acrobatics (by Craig Bolerjack, obviously)
You just gotta watch him, when he has some ups, up-and-unders, Houdinis, like you like to say. And it’s fun to watch, man. He’s a good player.

grandmasPink grandmas on the Jumbotron! Via Diana Allen

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Alec Burks “Alec Burke,” twice: Craig Bolerjack
** People calling Al-Farouq Aminu “Alf, Al, Amino”: Tyrone Corbin
** Most of the players showed up for the Leapin’ Leaners event dressed like this (posted on Instagram by every player in the pic):

Richard Jefferson, meanwhile, hilariously wore this (via @dlocke09):

Unintentional Dirty Video Captions of the Night

udqc

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack: Trey Burke is in search and destroy mode, and he goes down low.
** Boler on Richard Jefferson’s career: RJ is not finished.
** Boler: Derrick Favors, just eating it up in the third.
** Boler: Marvin, pulls off Aminu for the rebound.
** Boler: Down goes Burks, and a hand up from Morrow.
** Boler on Trey Burke foul: Put his hand around Roberts, to try to slow him down.
** Boler: Aminu, on a pivot, soft touch, and puts it in.
** Boler: Evans got a piece of him. You can tell, Davis is stiff. Doesn’t have a lot of motion in that body tonight.
** Gordon Hayward on Derrick Favors: He’s a monster down there.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    April 5, 2014 10:38 pm

    I can’t believe that was not Dunk of the Night, and only placed 5th on the NBA’s Top Ten. W.T.F.

  2. BC7 permalink
    April 5, 2014 11:24 pm

    No. I do not want that.

  3. Kashif permalink
    April 6, 2014 2:14 am

    It was number 2 on the SportsCenter top 10 plays last night.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

