Skip to content

Bits from Sidney Lowe Interview, 4/1

April 2, 2014
tags: , ,

lowe

What happened in the second half of the game against the Knicks?
Well, one, we didn’t make shots. You know, we had some open looks, some open situations, and we didn’t make shots. And then they made shots. And Carmelo [Anthony] came out and made some shots, and J.R. Smith made some tough shots…They got the momentum going in their favor, and you know, they were able to go on and win the game.

** Gordon Monson asking Sidney Lowe about losing, #UDQM: Can you address that a little bit, in what you try and do to pump guys up a little?

Lowe: Well, you know, one, you’re glad to see that they, you know, that they hurt. But, and I think part of it is because, you know, these guys have continued to play hard…It’s just frustrating when you’re, you know, you’re working hard at it and working hard at it, and you just can’t seem to pull the, pull the win out.

This is not a leading question, but how complicated is it to get more transition and fast-break baskets? Do you have to have the personnel to accomplish that?
I think it’s a combination of things. You know, certainly, you know, personnel can dictate that, but I think, just, you know, if we can get stops. You know, get stops and then get out and run. We certainly are a different team, and at times we’re effective when we can get out and run.

When we can, you know, we get stops and we push the ball down the floor, and get some easy baskets. That’s very beneficial for us, because of, you know, some of the guys we have…We don’t do it enough, you know, consistently.

We don’t look to push that ball, and you have to get some easy baskets in this league, expecially* when you’re playing against, you know, experienced teams that just execute you to death. You know, you can’t beat ‘em in the half-court game, so, but some of that starts on the defensive end, and that’s getting stops, and then being able to run.

* Not a typo.

What is the usefulness of the remaining seven games?
Well, you know, to continue to play. I mean, you, you know, you’re still trying to win games and you’re still trying to, you know, one of the things with teams is, you try to learn how to win.

You have to learn how to win down the stretch. You have to learn how to win games. It’s not gonna be a lot of blowouts, and sometimes it takes teams a little longer to get it. But you know, you just need those few, to win, to get that attitude and that feeling that you’re never out of a ball game.

Why did Marvin Williams start over Enes Kanter against the Knicks?
Well, I think that was based on the match-up situation. Once we found out that [Amar'e] Stoudemire wasn’t playing and that Carmelo was gonna be starting at “four,” C♥ach decided to start Marvin to match up a little better with Carmelo.

So, you know, going forward, I’m not sure, you know, it’s C♥ach’s decision what he’s gonna do with that. But I know that that certainly had something to do with it last night.

You are a veteran coach that has been around the block. What is the human side for you as a coach to be with a team that’s only won 23 games so far this season?
You know, it’s tough. I mean, it’s very tough. You know, I’ve been fortunate that I’ve been with some good teams and I’ve, you know, I’ve been with teams that have gone to the Western Conference Finals. I’ve been with Detroit, gone to the Eastern Conference Finals. You know, we’ve had four All-Stars in Detroit. We had two, three All-Stars in Minnesota.

So, yeah, you know, it’s difficult. It’s difficult because you know the other side. And obviously, as a competitor, I hate losing. But at the same time, you know, we, you have to be realistic in a sense of looking at your team and finding other goals. Winning is always the most important thing, but you also have to look at the other things.

You have to look, again, you know, are we getting better? Are the players getting better? Are the younger guys, are they improving, in different areas? Are they better defensively? Individually, are they better? Offensively? Are they better as a team? Working, collectively?

So you know, you look for those things, and as you talked about earlier, you know, you look for the guys who can finish games for you. What guys are capable of making plays for you?

So you know, there’s so much still to learn from these losses. There’s a lot to learn, and you find the character of your guys. You know, I’m one, I like to look at players after a loss. I want to see the reactions. I want to see, right after the game, I want to see, after the game, after we get on the bus, after we get on the pla–there’s certain things I want to look at to help me as a coach, to tell me a little bit about players.

So, because I’ve been around guys that have won. I’ve been with winners, and I know how you should feel, I guess, what I think you should feel, and how you should react. (1280)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2014 3:09 am

    * Not a typo.

    I’ve been reading this blog for years. Perhaps it’s just my memory, but I don’t recall you taking the time to write out the various odd pronunciations from Sloan, Kirilenko, Okur, etc. Is there a reason you seem to do this when people use “ks” instead of “sk” or similar common changes?

    • April 3, 2014 7:27 am

      I wasn’t transcribing stuff back in the Sloan/Kirilenko/Okur day. This is a relatively more recent development.

      It’s just for accuracy so that I transcribe everyone the same way, regardless of who it is, where they’re from, etc.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

