Skip to content

Game 70 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Orlando Magic (23-47)

March 23, 2014

Never mind Gordon Hayward’s travel lol.

burke-shot

r4r5

Pre-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on how much getting heavy minutes in his rookie year will benefit Trey Burke in the future
I think it’ll be great. I, you know, just playing the minutes. I think how we’re playing, and what he’s been able to do and learn from the things that he has to do individually and what he has to do for his team to be effective. I think they were, they would grow a long way to him developing to be the player that he’s gonna be in this league.
** Corbin, asked where he sees the biggest growth from Trey Burke this year
Experience.
** Corbin on talk of tanking
It makes your skin crawl. It makes your skin crawl as a competitor, personally. But it seems to be a popular thing nowadays with some people, but you know, if, media, whoever drives it, drives it…As a coach, you tell the guys, “Look, this is who we are. You know, work as hard as you can to be as good as you can be now. And you can’t always look past the now, because you gotta get through now.”
** Corbin on what he’s most pleased about with the team
They seem to have stayed together as a team, understand what we’re trying to do on the floor, and try and get better there. And everybody has an opinion about what they should be doing, what we should be doing, but they don’t have any idea of what it takes to go through this. They talk about it from the sideline, they talk about it wherever they’re from, but it’s difficult. If you compete, you trying to have a chance to win every night. You know, it’s a tough thing. But these guys have shown that they, they’re, they understand where we are.
** Corbin on playing the Magic
These guys are who they are, where they are. And we are who we are, where we are. And you have to compete, and we can’t think we can show up and win the game.

searching rr

** Trey Burke on what he’s heard or knows about the 83-84 team
Well, I wasn’t born, so it was before my time. But you know, from what I hear, you know, they were, you know, pretty much like the turning point in this franchise…goes to show what type of guys they were, what type of culture they built.
** Richard Jefferson on fans that want to tank
It’s stupid. It’s like, urban legends. You know, it’s like, those things do, but how many times do you see a top three pick not pan out? How many times do you see a number one pick not pan out? You know, how many time–you know, at the end of the day, you need to develop the guys that you have, you need to build a winning tradition, and you need to build winning habits starting within your organization. You know, just ’cause you get the number one pick or the number two pick, doesn’t mean that all of a sudden you’re getting Tim Duncan. It doesn’t mean that you’re getting Michael Jordan. …
You have to build a winning attitude for the young guys that you have in your organization. You know, any fan that thinks they’re better, team is better off losing, you don’t understand. You’re gonna teach Alec Burke* and, you know, and Trey Burks*, and Gordon [Hayward] that, oh, we want to lose right now so we can get a better player? Well, if you do get a better player, and you teach these guys losing habits, where’s your organization gonna be then?
* Not typos.

In-Game Quotage
** Darrell Griffith, asked by Ron Boone if he still keeps in touch with the guys from the 83-84 team
** Oh absolutely, Boonie. I talk to Rickey [Green] a lot. I talk to Thurl [Bailey] and Mark [Eaton], and JJ [Anderson]. I was just able to get John Drew’s number. That’s another person I wanted to talk to, hadn’t talked to him in awhile. And I talk to [Adrian Dantley] occasionally.

burke-2-fav

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the game
We didn’t shoot the ball well in the second half. I thought in the, you know, in the second quarter, and some of the first half, we were starting to get things going, and then we got out of it there in the second quarter, like we were running in mud…We just settled for jump shots, we didn’t create the pace we wanted to. But again, I think the way we finished the game, the poise they showed down the stretch, was really good for this young group.

** Trey Burke on what Corbin drew up for the last play
Coach told [Gordon Hayward] to just get to the rim, try to get a quick two. But you know, I think we were down two, but you know, the three was open, and G did his job. He found me, and I made the shot.
** Burke on the team effort
Tonight, it was a ugly night for me. You know, I had some turnovers, and I owed it [to] my teammates for, to make that shot.
** Derrick Favors on the game and Burke’s shot
It was a hard-fought game. You know, Trey made a big shot for us. You know, he saved me because I turned the ball over earlier…I appreciate that, man. I turned the ball over. Y’all would’ve been down my throat.
** Richard Jefferson on Trey Burke’s shot
Well, Trey saved me. After missing that free throw, missing the free throw, then missing that open three in the corner, I re–I’m glad he hit that shot, ’cause I would’ve had a sleepless night had that not [gone down]. But there are certain players that just, when they catch that ball, and it’s, you know, 30 seconds left, under 30 seconds, they just have a knack for zeroing in and hitting shots.

ronnie p

Random Stuff, etc.
** Worst of the Night: Craig Bolerjack deciding to talk over Dan Roberts while he was introducing the members of the 83-84 team between the first and second quarters. I mean, WHY would you talk right then?

83-84 teamVia the Salt Lake Tribune

** People calling Alec Burks “Alec Burke” and Trey Burke “Trey Burks”: Richard Jefferson
** People calling Ron Boone “Boonie”: Darrell Griffith
** RJ outscored the Magic 17-16 in the first quarter.
** Karl Malone did not go to bed hungry. Via @mamail32:

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on Ronnie Price: He is on your belt buckle like a bad cold.
** Boler: I’m a two-fisted McFlurry man. (H/T Diana Allen)
** Sidney Lowe: Obviously, Afflalo’s gonna try to get off in the second half.
** Ron Boone on Trey Burke: He has such a great release. Very soft.
** Steve Brown to Burke on the game winner: Was that freelance, with G going underneath, and let’s see what happens?

To close: Ron Boone busted out the earrings for 80s night, because “It was okay to wear earrings back in the 80s.”

booner earrings

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    March 23, 2014 9:34 pm

    that travel…
    that shot….

    oh well we’ll have to be blessed right by the basketball gods for actually trying to win ball games?

    I think Randy Rigby is looking for a real coach. He must be somewhere, I’ll look here, I’lll look there, I’ll look everywhere :)

  2. Diana permalink
    March 23, 2014 9:40 pm

    oh and I love Ronnie P! Anyone from those teams I am going to get excited about seeing. They seem so perfect now and like a dream.

    That pic of Karl is just awesome. When Kay first posted that pic of the shrimp and crawfish I thought they had to be at some restaurant. I thought that is awesome, funny but awesome. Then seeing the pic of Karl and knowing they are at home just makes it that much better!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

