Skip to content

Bits from Sidney Lowe Interview, 3/18

March 19, 2014
tags: ,

lowe

What about San Antonio makes them so effective? Why can Gregg Popovich interchange pieces and still have the same level of success?
You know, I don’t, I mean, they, I mean, Pop does a great job obviously, you know? You know, we, there’re great coaches in this league. There’re a lot of good coaches in this league, and you know, but with those good coaches, you know, you have to have good players. And Pop has that.

And he’s done a great job, though, of instituting the pieces, as you say, as you said, that fit to what they’re doing. And then the second thing is, I think that there’s an accountability factor there. You could see it. Those guys know that they have to do the right things. They have to play the right way. They have to play hard, or they’re gonna get it.

They’re gonna hear it, whether it’s from Pop, whether it’s from Timmy [Duncan], [Manu] Ginobili or Tony [Parker]. Especially Timmy and Tony. Those two are very vocal leaders, and Pop doesn’t have to say much. So, that’s a major factor. …

When you have that type of leadership from within, where the other guys respect you, then it really almost doesn’t matter who you bring in, because they’re gonna have to play the right way or they won’t be there. And that’s a major thing. That’s a big factor.

Are there players on the the Jazz’s current roster that are likely to develop that kind of vocal leadership? Which player is best-wired to do that?
You know, I don’t know. I don’t know. You know, because it’s a situation where you have to be willing to separate yourself from the friendship. You have to be willing to separate yourself from it being your best buddy. And you have to be willing to tell that guy that that’s a bad play or he’s gotta move the ball or he’s gotta defend or you’re not doing something or you have to rebound. You know, you have to be willing to do that, and I don’t know if we have anyone that’s like that. …

It’s a born, it’s something that’s in you. It’s just in you. And so, I don’t know if we have that guy yet, and I’m not saying it can’t happen. I’m sure it can, but I’m not sure if any of the guy–

Trey Burke, if I had to say one. If I had to say one, I would say Trey Burke might have that quality, that characteristic in him, where he’s not concerned that if he say something to one of the guys, even if he’s thinking they might talk back. And that’s where you can’t be afraid.

Are you disappointed that your answer is “I don’t know,” 68 games into the season?
You know, when you look at our team and you look at the experience or lack of experience, you know, there’s a guy, maybe there’s a guy in there that’s, maybe he’s afraid or uncomfortable right now because he’s too young, and you’re giving too much respect to guys that have been in the league before him. I mean, I’ve seen that happen. So no, I’m not disappointed in that at all, that I said that. But, you know, it’s just a fact. It’s just the way it is.

Is that type of leadership in Derrick Favors?
Derrick Favors is gonna be a very good player in this league. I don’t think Derrick Favors is the type of guy that would be comfortable speaking like that. I think he does his more by example, with his work. But I don’t see him–you know, it’s hard to get him to talk now, as it is. So you know, getting him now to take on that role, I don’t see that.

Teams are shooting very well against you, but you’re playing some very good teams. What are you trying to do on defense lately?
Well, I think, number one, you, first of all, you said it, you know? The last few teams we’ve played have been very, very good teams. And they are getting geared up, you know, for the playoffs. And that’s, unfortunately, that’s what happens. And when you have a young team and you run into situations like that, unfortunately you might have a few games [like that]…

We have to continue to stay focused on our assignments. And that’s not blaming anybody or any players or anything like that. But you know, we made a lot of mistakes last night, especially in that pick and roll coverage where guys didn’t do what they were supposed to do.

And now, I’m not saying that’s why, you know, we lost as we did, but we have to do a better job there. We have to get our assignments down, stay focused on our assignments and what we’re supposed to do and everybody stay on the same page.

Lowe’s recap of the John Lucas III-Francisco Garcia scuffle
I was looking down the court, but I was looking at some other players down there. And then I saw John coming with the ball, and then he passed it, and he was, you know, he was right by our bench. And Garcia just elbowed him. I think he elbowed him, like, in the ribs and knocked him, you know, out of bounds.

And then John pushed him, and you know, my first reaction was to get in between these guys because it just, you know, certainly didn’t want that to happen. So I just tried to get in and prevent anything getting out of hand there, and so I just kinda pushed Garcia back and had my hand on Luke a little bit and just tried to separate those guys…

So you know, it was an unfortunate thing, but yeah, I was trying to get in the middle so, hoping that no one was gonna throw a punch.

Would have you preferred it if Lucas had just allowed Garcia to run out the clock?
Well, you know, normally, you just let the guy run the clock out. I mean, that’s what normally happens…

So, you know, but I don’t, you know, either way, I mean, you know, like I said, there’s been, it’s happened before. But most of the time, guys just let the clock run out, and get the game over with. So, I don’t know which way I feel. I cert–I don’t think I would’ve done it, but I don’t know, you know?

On losing
I’m not good after losses. I don’t talk after losses very well. So you know, you want your players to feel that. You know, you don’t want it to be one of those things where they say it’s just a game, or just another game. Or we’ll play tomorrow. Well yes, we know we’re gonna play tomorrow, but you know what, you just lost.

And it’s unfortunate that, you know, you do have players out there like that, where losing is not important. So I understand [Lucas'] frustration, and especially when you’re in the ball game like that, like we were last night. …

I think our players have done a great job of staying with it, and continuing to play hard, and I think it shows the character, you know, of those guys. So you know, and I think that’s what you build on. You build on the character. You build on them continuing to work hard.

You know, there’s never, it’s never too late, really, to improve when you’re talking about young players. It’s never too late to look and you know, you can, we can improve something in 14, 15 games. (1280)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana Allen permalink
    March 20, 2014 2:34 am

    Can’t wait for when we can hear from competent head and assistant coaches.
    Only Sid would make it sound like Popl isn’t special.

  2. KaBar6 permalink
    March 20, 2014 7:22 am

    What a bumbling idiot. How was he ever a head coach?

    You know

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

