Skip to content

Get to Know: Trey Burke

March 10, 2014
tags: ,

From David Locke’s “Get to Know” series with Jazz players.

burke

First team ever played on: Youth For a Positive Image League at 5 years old.

First buzzer beater: Floater in 3rd grade AAU game.

First dunk: Junior year of high school.

First pair of basketball shoes: Black and red Jordan IXs.

First time you ever saw yourself on TV: High school game against top-ranked Findlay Prep.

First nickname: Other than Trey, “Trey-Rey.”

First car ever driven: The white Porsche I have now.

First video game ever played: Madden.

First day off in Utah: Went to eat in Park City with family.

First sports jersey owned: Michael Jordan.

First autograph: Ruben Patterson; met him at a wedding.

First poster: Michael Jordan.

First time you ever got in trouble as a kid: Getting detention in elementary school.

First pet: Dog named Brandy; she ran away.

First kiss: My mom’ll be mad at me. Kindergarten. I had a crush in kindergarten. I think we kissed in kindergarten. I remember that.


Best game ever played: Against North Carolina State last year: 18 points and 11 assists. It was a model of how I want to play, what type of player I want to be in the future.

Worst game ever played: Against Ohio State freshman year in the Big Ten Tournament.

Best place ever traveled to: Salt Lake City.

Best athlete ever: LeBron James.

Quickest player you’ve ever played against: Lewis Jackson from Purdue.

Best meal ever: Mom’s pasta: lasagna, spaghetti.

Hardest workout ever: A post-practice workout with Johnnie Bryant.

Maddest you’ve ever been: Losing the national championship.

Most famous person you’ve ever met: Mark Walhberg.

Earliest you ever woke up to work out: 4:45 a.m.

Latest you ever studied for a test: 2 or 3 a.m.

Best friend in the league: Jared Sullinger. Draymond Green.

Best movie ever: The Sandlot.

Best TV show ever: Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

Dinner with three people, dead or alive: Martin Luther King; Michael Jackson; Michael Jordan.


What’s your mom like? Very competitive; loving; taken care of me my whole life. Always provided for me and supported me in basketball.

Lover or disciplinarian? Both. She wasn’t super strict, but definitely demanded respect and obedience. She tried to grow me into a man. Love her to death.

You knew you were in trouble when… Got in trouble at school; stayed out too late on a school night; stayed up too late playing video games.

You made your mom most happy when… Making it to the NBA.

Inspiration/mentor: My father. He was very hard on me from a young age and my AAU coach. I’m so coachable now because of learning how to look at him as a coach instead of a dad. Struggled with having dad as coach for five years, but dad got through to me by telling me there were people (college coaches, etc.) watching, so I had to cut the attitude out.


Last sport played besides basketball: Track.

Last vacation: Orlando…in 5th grade.

Last item bought: Subway sandwich.

Last music downloaded: Drake.

Last bad grade: Pop quiz at Michigan.

Last good grade: I got good grades at Michigan.

Last time you were scared: Coming out of the game when my finger popped out against the Clippers.

Last time you were incredibly happy: When my mom and dad came out to visit a week ago.

Last time you cried: When we lost the championship.

Reason for jersey number: Lucky number and religious beliefs; I wear it for the Holy Trinity.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

