Skip to content

Game 56 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Boston Celtics (20-36)

February 25, 2014

rj-wink

hayward stevens

Pre-Game Quotage
** Brad Stevens on extending Jared Sullinger’s game back to the 3-point line
Well, I mean, we all know that a, you know, a 33-percent 3-point shooter is better than a 47-percent 2-point shooter, so, from long range. And I think that that’s something you have to consider, you have to factor in. He’s not there yet, but he has the ability to stretch it. He can really, you know, him and Kelly [Olynyk], for them to become the best players they can be, they have to eventually make threes at a very, very consistent level.

andy ty tweets

jody olynyk

** Derrick Favors on his injury
It’s very frustrating, man, ’cause one minute it feels good. Soon as you go out there and play, you know, reinjure it again. You know, it’s tough, but you know, I just gotta take care of my body, listen to my body, get a lot of rest, do a lot of treatment, just get it right.
** Trey Burke on his recent shooting woes
I would say, it’s just confidence, and making sure I’m getting the, getting arch on my shot. I think a lot of my shots, you know, when I get tired, are flat. And then it’s short, and then they’re going left or right. For me, it’s just about, you know, making sure I’m getting the proper lift on my shot, and shot selection as well. I think I’m getting much better at that.
** Gordon Hayward on the most important thing the Jazz have to do against Boston
Make sure we come out and start early with a lot of energy. Especially with a team like this, try to put them away. It’s the last game on their road trip, and try to put them away early, and run them out of the gym. So hopefully, we come out with a lot of energy.

rj-dunkSurprising and shocking to everyone, Boler correctly used the word “Hammer!” on this play.

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the Jazz being the aggressors
I thought early was great, you know? You know, they showed signs that we had to get better from the last ball game we played, and at the end of the game there I thought they were a little bit aggressive and we had to respond to it. And it’s good for this young group to learn, ‘specially this time of year in the second half of the game, how teams pick up the pace defensively and put their hands on you. We gotta learn how to execute during those times.

fav-squeegeeMorgan Jeweler’s Moni Jazzfanatical’s Play of the Game

** Marvin Williams on Derrick Favors’ return
Just knowing that he was gonna suit up, you know, tonight, was a good feeling. I think that just boosted the morale in itself, just having him back, man. And Derrick’s been huge for us all year, offensively and especially defensively. So just having him back in the lineup, I think excited everybody.
** Gordon Hayward on what he’s doing on and off the floor to not press
Well, just trying to stay mentally calm. I mean, it’s easy to get frustrated, especially with the amount of games that it’s been like this for me. But we’ll see.
** Enes Kanter on the win
We felt really good out there and we had so much fun. And I’m just, we just happy that we won.

mcenroe

Rudy Gobert Gets Popcorned
Rudy Gobert forgot to bring donuts (as part of his rookie duties) to shootaround today.

unsuspecting

** Gobert: I knew something was coming. I could feel it. But I didn’t know what.

rudy-popcorn

rudy car

** Gobert: I guarantee you that the rookies, if I’m here, the next few years, you know, they will get something too.
** Surprising and shocking to no one, Rudy’s Instagram reply to Brandon Rush has been deleted. (H/T @RxMike12):

rudy ig

** Gobert, asked whether he has any suspects: I’m sure it’s Rich. Jefferson…I know it’s him.

cleanup rudy

** Richard Jefferson on there being a picture of him and Andris Biedrins popcorning Kent Bazemore’s car last year: I don’t, like, honestly, you know, just because you have a prior conviction does not mean that you are guilty of what they had. (Video via KSL)

biedrins chin

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** David Locke/Phil Johnson: You should never let the ball get stolen from behind. (H/T @swissbarker102)
** Ron Boone on Alec Burks: I just wonder what kind of body he’s gonna have, 15 or 20 years from now.
** Booner on Enes Kanter: The body ended up making contact there with Bass from the backside.
** Craig Bolerjack: The muscle of Enes Kanter!
** Boston announcer: They usually have trouble scoring but not tonight. (H/T Diana Allen)
** Booner: Derrick really didn’t want to stretch out, and I don’t blame him. You know, you never know what that hip is gonna do.
** Booner on Matt Harpring’s hair: He plays with it enough…he just uses his fingers.
** Boler: Wallace, banging down low outside Johnson.
** Booner on Jazz defense on Jeff Green: Just what they call, just smashing him over there.
** Richard Jefferson on Derrick Favors: Heck yeah. Heck yeah. You always defend when you got a big fella behind you.

To close: My good friend Max Chang (even though I’ve never met him) kicking ass in the halftime competition! H/T @UGottaLovItBaby for the video:

max-dancing

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    February 26, 2014 2:19 am

    Go Max!!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

