Skip to content

Game 48 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Toronto Raptors (16-32)

February 4, 2014

At least there was this.

play-otg

Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin, post-game
We miss [Derrick Favors] and Jeremy [Evans]. We need all of our pieces to be effective, and with two key guys like that out, we have to step up, and we’re just not making shots right now…It wasn’t the ball movement. We missed shots. I thought we had some great shots. You know, we missed some really good looks…We just didn’t make shots.
** Corbin, asked what’s the remedy for late-game turnovers, fouls and mistakes
Young guys. Young guys. Just being patient. You know, not underestimating or taking anything for granted. Focusing in and trying to get the ball where you want. Being determined to get to your spots, and making sure, you gotta make, you can’t take risky passes. You gotta make a sure pass.
** Corbin, asked if he’s going to let guys who are struggling (Gordon Hayward, Trey Burke) play through their struggles
Got to. I mean, that’s what we have.
** Corbin, asked for his thoughts on Marvin Williams’ performance tonight
True professional. Been great for us all year long, giving us whatever he has. He’s a little banged up, but he continued to come out there and try and help us win ball games. He’s one of the key guys in this locker room. When things are going bad, he step up and try and make sure we continue to play, and we really appreciate what he bring to us.

enes-elbowsSomewhere, Karl Malone was smiling proudly over the way Enes Kanter was swinging his elbows.

** Marvin Williams, post-game
Coach makes it really easy for me, ’cause he gets mad when I don’t shoot the ball. You know, sometimes guys will hesitate to shoot the ball because, you know, they think the coach might get mad at them. But he gets mad at me when I don’t shoot it. So, whenever he’s always yelling at me to shoot the ball more, it makes it really easy for me to play.
** Trey Burke on his shots not falling
I think it got, it has something to do with your legs. You know, I have to contin–make sure I’m getting lift on my shot. As the season’s continuing to go on, you know, everybody has to use their legs more to get more lift in the shot because of the amount of traveling we’re doing. So you know, you have to get adjusted to everything. And for me, that’s what I’m going through right now.
** Alec Burks on his “Houdini shots”
I give it a chance on the backboard, you know, give it a chance to go in. It goes in, you know?…Give it a chance, you know? That’s my motto.
** Burks, asked whether his game and confidence have changed since the beginning of the season
Nah. I feel like I’m the same player. Same aggressive Alec…My confidence never changes, you know? If you ain’t confident in yourself, then who will be? So that’s how I feel.
** Rudy Gobert on whether he enjoys playing a physical game
I like to play physical, even if I’m not, like, the strongest guy there. But I like to play physical, and I don’t like when it’s easy for the opponent too.
** Gobert on Alec Burks’ “Houdini” shots
Every time I go for offensive rebound, like, maybe he gonna miss. But every time he makes it, so I mean, he’s a great finisher.

** Phil Johnson, asked if he’d ever return to coaching
I said when I resigned…I will never say never, but I’m saying probably not. And you know? I just don’t see myself as coaching again. So, the answer to that is, “Maybe.”

marvin-wtfWanna feel like an accomplished lip reader? Read Marvin’s lips. (H/T @5kl)

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling John Salmons “Salmons” like he’s a school of fish: Matt Harpring.
** People addressing Alec Burks as “Al”: Steve Brown.

jazz dancers

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Matt Harpring on how he spent Super Bowl Sunday: I enjoyed myself alone, actually…I had a good time, just with myself.
** Harpring: What a difference when players get into other players and make them uncomfortable.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. steppx permalink
    February 4, 2014 5:59 pm

    ty corbin is a joke. Watching the Jazz these days is painful. Worst coached team in the league and honestly, they barely try. You see the difference against a team well coached like toronto. FIRE the jerk….stop making excuses Ty.

  2. Diana permalink
    February 5, 2014 1:53 am

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha oh Ty.

  3. modernagejazz permalink
    February 5, 2014 4:09 am

    Lol at Harpring’s quotes!

    Btw, what’s happening to Kanter? Looking from afar, I’m very disappointed…

    • February 5, 2014 10:04 am

      Part of the answer can probably be found in KaBar6’s comment below…

  4. KaBar6 permalink
    February 5, 2014 9:45 am

    Seriously Ty, what is considered a young player? Hayward has been in the league long enough to know, how not to make so many turnovers. That’s a coaching mistake. Oh, they work through their struggles huh? Is that why you bench Kanter over a silly error, but leave RJeff in the game when he makes so many defensive errors? No wonder this team struggles.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

