Skip to content

Game 45 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Sacramento Kings (16-29)

January 28, 2014

The Kings have replaced the Jazz at the bottom of the Western Conference with this Jazz win.

After the final buzzer (finally and mercifully) sounded, Craig Bolerjack declared the game a “chess match.”

That it was.

It was a chess match between two not very good checkers players.

Pre-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin, asked if as a coach, he has to watch film to learn what a new guy is all about
[Malcolm Thomas] is a 4-man, and he plays hard. You know, maybe at times we, if we could play small or big, play him at some “three,” some “four.” But is that who he is? And you gotta figure that out on the fly.

malcolm

** Malcolm Thomas on what he was doing when he got the call from the Jazz
Took my mom to get a pedicure, and I actually got one. And that’s when I got the call, so it’s not too manly, but that’s what I was doing. That’s the truth. … I thought it would be a little longer before I got a call from anybody, so I was excited. I feel blessed.
** Thomas on what kind of player he is
Energy guy. You know, defense, rebounding. Trying to, you know, add some more stuff. Just started shooting more mid-range and 3-pointers, but you know, it’s basically energy and defense.
** Thomas on his relationships with Richard Jefferson and Dennis Lindsey
[Jefferson]‘s always good to me, telling me where I need to be, what I need to do. So, it was good having him here. I got lucky to have him here so he could help me with some stuff…I had met [Lindsey] two years ago. So, he called me actually before I came up here and told me that he was glad to have me here. And so, I feel like I got lucky getting two guys I know.

** Marvin Williams on whether playing power forward this year is more physically demanding
Without a doubt. I feel more beat up now at the halfway mark than I feel, you know, towards the end of the year sometimes. So, like I said, it’s been new for me, man. It’s been a new position for me. It’s been a great experience for me…I feel like I do okay with the guys that are bigger than me, as long as they’re not, like, as much of an offensive threat. But when you get a guy like Nene who can really score the ball and he outweighs me by 25, 30 pounds, it becomes a little difficult.
** Gordon Hayward on his Super Bowl pick
I don’t really care, ’cause I’m a Colts fan. But I’m gonna go with Peyton [Manning], ’cause he played for the Colts, and I don’t want Marv to be wearing all the Seattle stuff all around the locker room, so.

jl3 shoes

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the Jazz’s frontcourt rebounding and the game
I thought they were great. Marvin, especially with, you know, he’s a little banged up in, it being so late in the season the way I have him fighting big guys down there, for him to get 11 rebounds for us. And then Jeremy [Evans] come off the bench and get 10 for us, it was great. Derrick [Favors], you know, it’s been customary for him, and we need him to continue. But I thought the guys, when we were going good, we executed very well.

** Trey Burke on what was going through his mind at the end of the game
With me on the bench, I’m thinking what can I do to help the team right now. And you know, I was trying to continue to encourage guys. I didn’t know if [Corbin] was going to put me back in at the end of the game. But you know, the guys that was already out there, pretty much seemed like that they was getting the job done.
** Derrick Favors on winning
To me, a win is a win. You know, I don’t really believe in all that “good-quality win” or a “good-quality loss”…You know, a win is a win to me.
** Favors on Jeremy Evans
I was happy when, you know, Jeremy had a good game. I’m always happy when Jeremy have a good game, ’cause he works hard.
** Jeremy Evans, asked why he got extended minutes tonight
I have no idea. Coach put me in, I’m just going to play. So, just trying to help.
** Evans on outscoring Gordon Hayward
I’ll get him tomorrow or something. I’ll tell him to work on his jumper…I’m sure he took more shots than I did. (KALL, Utah Jazz)

grandmas with bearPoll: Is Bear wearing a Pill Millsap or Richard Jefferson jersey?

Random Stuff, etc.
** Greg Miller’s Undercover Boss disguise (via CBS):

1289949

** People calling Isaiah Thomas “Thompson”: Craig Bolerjack. (H/T @bjcseven)
** Matt Harpring said during the broadcast that he’s a big fan of “The Bachelor,” then backtracked immediately and said, “I’m not a big fan, but I watch,” then immediately backtracked again and said, “I’m forced to watch.” This all took place in the span of eight seconds.
** So awkward. So very, very awkward.

 

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack: That’s what you call pounding the boards. Favors was all over him, and Marvin there to clean it up.
** Boler on Alec Burks’ game against the Wizards: 16 electrifying minutes.
** Matt Harpring on his McFlurries: I can do one, maybe two. But no one can do three. [Demonstrates how he can "do" three.] You can’t do this. Three, at once.

harpring mcflurry

** Brown to Hayward’s mom and aunt: We have a camera on you guys at times during this game and I know neither one of you can stay still.
** Brown to Hayward’s aunt: Just hold it down a little, okay, ’cause we do have certain behavioral laws in this state.
** Boler on cameras: When that red light goes on, Matty, you decide to, you know, have a little fun or you just kinda go “Uh-oh.”
** Boler: Thornton launches deep, almost hits Hayward in the face.
** Harpring on Gordon Hayward’s mom and the point differential: …Mom, got a nice cushion…
** Trey Burke on no longer being last in the West: Definitely a relief, you know? You get tired of seeing yourself down there at the bottom.

To close: Richard Jefferson laughing at someone being fat? (One poster on the Kings game thread thought RJ was laughing at Carl Landry). H/T @halloweenheadfm:

rj-fat

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2014 11:29 pm

    RJ probably was laughing at Landry. Probably an inside joke with him, Biedrins, Rush, and Carl all being on the Warriors last season.

  2. Diana permalink
    January 29, 2014 2:11 am

    Kind of insensitive of RJ to be making fun of fat people with Rush sitting right next to to him ;)

  3. bebop permalink
    January 29, 2014 8:19 am

    That Steve Brown segment was so awkward and creeper. Why is he even on the Jazz payroll? Dude sucks being on camera.

  4. Rafael Amarante permalink
    January 29, 2014 7:50 pm

    “we have some behavioral laws in this state”

    *throws up*

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

