Skip to content

Bits from Dennis Lindsey Interview, 1/24

January 25, 2014
tags: ,

lindsey

Assessment of the first half of the season
Well, that, clearly that first month was rough. And which we knew it would be, because of the youth of our team and the injuries that we were conservative with. We had to get guys back at full speed, and then the, obviously the strength of schedule and the number of games played. That was a recipe that was gonna be tough, given all those circumstances.

And you know, I’m glad that some of our veterans in Gordon [Hayward] and Derrick [Favors] were very steady during that process. And I think Ty[rone Corbin] and his staff deserve a lot of credit that we came out of that period and got healthy and you know, tried to come together a little bit as a team now.

Are you a patient man, Dennis? Are you a guy who wants to get things done and get it done quick?
Well, you know, I think in, we all have our crosses to bear, and I’ve never claimed to be the most talented player. So that forced me to be patient, you know, before, you know, I was able to develop…I think, you know, from a intelligence standpoint, you know, I’ve been always more of a grinder.

So, I think just by the very definition of, you know, how I came up, in the business, way back from starting to play, to you know, coaching, scouting, now as an executive, I think by definition you could say I’m patient, yeah. My wife and kids may differ on any particular night.

You’ve said the team would be judged on defense. Have you seen improvement in that area?
I, in a couple of areas. Yeah, so, I wouldn’t call us the Indiana Pacers, you know, any day, but we’ve changed some schemes, that I think has helped. We’ve kept Derrick closer to the paint, closer to the rim, and so we can use his physicality and presence.

I think we’ll be able to do more of that with Rudy Gorbert* going forward; maybe not this year, but I think some of Rudy’s characteristics and presence would allow some of our current schemes…I think fits him really well as well.

I really appreciate, you know, some of the adjustments that Ty has made, you know, in our training camp, you know, period, all the way to practice. You know, our lead-up drills, our intensity, our conversation’s much better.

So I think we’re doing better things, that, always hasn’t made the court yet. But I think, frankly, that has more to do with young personnel than what we’re doing on the practice court.

* Not a typo.

On Gordon Hayward’s contract situation*
We’ll get a deal with him in July, either, you know, with an offer that we make or someone else makes, and, you know, with our restricted rights. And we’ll be glad to pay him. And I’d be very surprised if he doesn’t continue to trend in the right way, and we need that development. Not just out of Gordon, but collectively.

And you know, I think the way he was raised, you know, it really is just a real good fit for the program. His parents deserve a lot of credit, and he’s a very poised young man beyond his years.

And I think, you know, it’s just a good natural fit for our program, and even if he isn’t the most vocal and, you know, isn’t barking out instructions or whatnot, which I think his vocal leadership has been better this year, you know, he just continually does the right thing and is understated. (1280)

* FWIW, Hayward was apparently standing right next to Lindsey during this last part.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    January 25, 2014 5:03 pm

    Why would you publicly say you’re going to match any offer for G Time even though you know he’s not worth the max? That’s just asking some douchebag team to max him and make us match.

    • January 25, 2014 5:12 pm

      *cough* Portland *cough*

    • January 25, 2014 10:53 pm

      Because if it’s public knowledge that you will match anything, teams won’t make offers. It will just bind their cap space while other players get signed.

      It’s what Minnesota did with Pekovic, and the result was nobody went after him, and Minny got a fair deal.

      • Diana permalink
        January 26, 2014 7:25 am

        Thanks Jon for the reasoning, I was wondering myself why he would say it.

  2. Diana permalink
    January 26, 2014 7:25 am

    Weekly Ty lovefest brought to you by 1280 The Zone.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

