Skip to content

Get to Know: Andris Biedrins

January 17, 2014
tags: ,

From David Locke’s “Get to Know” series with Jazz players.

biedrins

First team ever played on: Riga Skonto in Lativa at age 15.

First buzzer beater: Probably around age 13.

First dunk: Probably around age 12 or 13.

First pair of basketball shoes: I think it was New Balance. It was terrible.

First time you ever saw yourself on TV: Around age 14. It was weird, but I was so excited.

First car ever driven: Dad’s Volga.

First other player’s jerseys owned: Shaquille O’Neal.

First autograph: Someone on the Latvian national team.

First big purchase: First car in the NBA, a Porsche SUV.

First time you ever got in trouble as a kid: A lot.

First kiss: Age 13 or 14.


Best game ever played: 31 points against the Denver Nuggets in 2006.

Worst game ever played: Had a couple of those.

Best place ever traveled to: I like Paris a lot.

Best athlete ever: Michael Jordan.

Best meal ever: No specific one, but best meal is a home-cooked meal.

Maddest you’ve ever been: I was mad in high school all the time.

Most famous person ever met: Michael Jordan.

Earliest you ever woke up to work out: 5:30 or 6:00.

Best friend in the league: I’d say Stephen Curry.

Best movie ever: Step Brothers.

Best TV show ever: I don’t watch shows a lot.

Dinner with three people, dead or alive: You [David Locke]; Usain Bolt; my mom’s dad, who I never had a chance to see.


What’s your mom like? Really sweet and nice, and a great inspiration. My dad was the discipline guy and my mom was always taking care of me.

You knew you were in trouble with mom when… When she called dad for help.

You made your mom most happy when… When my son was born, when she became a grandmother.

Inspiration/mentor: My dad. He was really strict. He was taking me to the practices; he was waiting for me outside after them. I couldn’t go anywhere; I couldn’t go hang out. He was at every practice and every game.


Last vacation: Bachelor party in Thailand.

Last item bought: Laptop.

Last music downloaded: Kings of Leon.

Last time you were scared: Can’t remember.

Last time you were incredibly happy: I’m happy right now.

Last time you cried: Probably when my son was born.

Last book you read: Been awhile.

Reason for jersey number: Wore Nos. 11, 14 and 15 for the Latvian national team. Wanted a change for Utah and No. 15 was taken.

If you could come back as any NBA player: I don’t know. I kinda like myself.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    January 17, 2014 3:57 pm

    I love his last answer so much!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

