Skip to content

Game 40 of 82: Utah Jazz at San Antonio Spurs (13-27)

January 16, 2014

The quintessential “Good job, good effort” game.

good-effort

Post-Game Quotage
** There was no post-game with Tyrone Corbin, even though they kept saying he was up next.
** Trey Burke on his strong fourth quarter
I just think, you know, I never mentally checked out. You know, shot wasn’t falling tonight, but I felt like I did a good job of getting everybody else going. You know, once I, you know, missed a couple mid-range shots that I usually don’t miss, you know, I knew that it just wasn’t falling for me tonight. Obviously, the foul trouble early on, and you know, I just gotta learn to play through that. I gotta learn how to impact the game in different ways, and that’s what I tried to do. And then, you know, late in the fourth quarter, all my teammates just told me to continue to stay aggressive, and that’s what I tried to do.

** Derrick Favors on the game
We kinda made a lot of mental mistakes out there on the defensive end. You know, I think that what cost us the game.
** Favors on his offensive improvement
I’m very confident…You know, everybody been saying, you know, I suck on offense or whatever they say about me, but you know, I just been working on my game all summer, all season. Even during the season, I still work on it, just improve little things, and you know, it’s showing in the game.

** Enes Kanter on playing “bully ball”
You know, I try that and then I get, like, two offensive fouls, and you know, I talk to Andris [Biedrins], you know, they saying, just get a quick move. You know, just spin baseline…just catch the ball and just go. So I tried to do that in the third and fourth, sorry, fourth quarter, and it really worked.
** Kanter on his improved footwork
I been watching, you know, Big Al [Jefferson] the last two years, so I learned a lot from him. You know, also my coaches too. So you know, I’m just working on my, you know, foot, everyd–not everyday, but on, in practices. So I’m just, you know, try to get better at it.

kanter-bucket

Random Stuff, etc.
** Via @tribjazz: An icepick fight in a parking lot really happened in San Antonio a few days ago lol. (Here’s the reference, Part Eight.)
** People calling Derrick Favors “Derrick Favor”: ESPN guy.
** Gordon Hayward may have spent the entire game sitting behind the bench talking to his girlfriend future child bride…not even looking up while giving Alec Burks a fist bump when he came out of the game.

gh-gf

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Tyrone Corbin on Gordon Hayward’s injury: He tried a little bit this morning and he’s still a little stiff. (H/T @DJJazzyJody)
** ESPN: Surprisingly, Boris Diaw holding his ground, not allowing Kanter to back him in.
** ESPN on the Spurs: It’s amazing what they’re able to do. Just inserting guys all over the place.
** Enes Kanter, post-game: Coach been telling me, you know, have to, you know, just do the little things, and you know, the big things gonna come.
** Boler to Kanter, post-game: San Antonio didn’t really have an answer for what you were doing inside.

To close: Here’s Hayward nuzzling his face in his phone or blowing kisses or…I don’t even know what’s going on.

hayward-gf

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    January 17, 2014 4:39 am

    oh my gosh that last gif of Hayward is priceless!!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

