Skip to content

Game 38 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Cleveland Cavaliers (12-26)

January 11, 2014

ty-shaking-head

irving-cj

Pre-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on CJ Miles hitting 10 three-pointers in one game
When he get going, there’s not a 3-pointer he don’t think he can make.
** Corbin on Gordon Hayward’s stats going up when Trey Burke’s dip and vice versa
You know, it’s the league, man. It’s, you know, it’s a long season. And you have pockets in the lea–season when you’re going well in one area and one other area go down a little bit, and then to come back to the other area, and the other area go down. So, you know, as long as the team’s moving forward, our play is getting better ™ as a team. Individually, that stuff will level itself out. So, we’re figuring each other out still, what we, how we can get everybody going at one time. We haven’t gotten there yet, but we’re getting better™.

** Richard Jefferson, asked if he’s quite an ice skater
I’m actually, I’ve never actually been on ice my entire life…We’re not allowed per our NBA contract.
** RJ on what kind of coach Tyrone Corbin IS
He’s a very good coach. He’s a young coach. He’s gonna get better. He’s a guy that, I feel, if you look at our improvement on our, of our team, I think that shows his coaching, you know? It would’ve been very easy for our team to continue to struggle…He’s a very, very consistent guy, and he really, really brought stability to our team in the sense that he didn’t panic, so we didn’t panic. We didn’t start having these three-hour practices. We didn’t start having these team meetings and player-only meetings.* And you know, he just [told] us, “Hey, it’s gonna get better. We have to stay focused. We’re playing good basketball. Just continue down this road.” And it, and I think that just shows how good of a coach he is.
* Except, player-only meetings *were* held earlier in the season.
** Derrick Favors, asked if he’s ready to the be offensive leader with Gordon Hayward out
Yeah, I mean, if it comes to that, yeah, I can do it.
** Favors, asked what is the next step in his offensive development
Just probably being that go-to guy. That’s probably the next step, especially in the post or whatever. Just being that go-to guy when we need a bucket.
** Marvin Williams, asked whether he feels it’s on him, as a veteran, to pick up the slack with Hayward out
Nah. I’m just gonna continue to do my job if he can’t go. And I’m sure coach will put somebody else into the lineup that can, that’ll definitely try to fill that void.
** Marvin on football (Seahawks fan)
I love football. You know, to be honest with you, football was, growing up was my favorite sport. You know, I just kinda grew a little tall, taller than my dad and he didn’t want to play anymore. But I’ve always followed football very closely and I’ve always enjoyed watching it. I enjoyed playing it. I love basketball, but football is definitely probably my favorite sport.

awkward-hugAwkward hug

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the game
These guys played hard, give them credit. We just didn’t match their intensity.
** Corbin on Trey Burke
Well, you know, it wasn’t his best game. I thought, you know, he had some moments he played pretty well. Had some moments he got behind plays and didn’t get back in ‘em…We’ll look at the film tomorrow and see where we can get better™.
** Phil Johnson, post-game
Trey scored some points and everything, but he was really having difficulty, and he wasn’t getting a whole lot of help from his teammates as far as [Kyrie] Irving was concerned. I thought Irving just turned this game around, really…I didn’t think the big guys really showed in helping [Burke] as much as they should’ve.

** Trey Burke on Kyrie Irving
My mentality coming out of halftime is to try to slow him down, and obviously I picked up them fouls and had to go to the bench, and you know, he got going. So it’s unfortunate, but we’ll be ready for him next time.
** Enes Kanter on what lesson was learned tonight
The lesson is, I guess, we cannot be relax. You know, we cannot be a little bit, we cannot be relax, especially on defensively. You know, we always have, ’cause we have enough talent to, you know, score the guys always, but you know, defensively.
** Kanter on playing with Derrick Favors
I’m feeling so much comfortable playing with him on the court, ’cause I mean, he’s always helping me on the defense, on offense. And I mean, he knows I always got his back and he knows, I know he always got my back, so it just really nice to play with a good player like that.
** Kanter on the third quarter
I was pretty pissed that, you know, they had a run like that, when we were in the game. So it was pretty tough, definitely. (KALL, 1280, Utah Jazz)

cj and bearLess awkward hug

Random Stuff, etc.
** Quincy Miller last night paying homage to Karl Malone:

karl-dunk-1-s

karl-dunk

** CJ on Jerry Sloan (via @saltcityhoops):

BdrNdapCAAAENlT.jpg large

** Lol at Rudy Gobert.

rudy comment rush ig

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on CJ shot: Boy, he barely got it off, by a fingertip.
** Boler: Delladelova just got a taste of Mr. Burks.
** Boler on Burks’ 3/4-court near miss: He was down and it came back out.
** Ron Boone: One of those long ones just might surprise you and go in. This was just a little hard, but this was down in there. (H/T @5kl)
** Booner on Burks: He likes to penetrate.
** Booner on Burke and-1: He initiates the contact here. And you just don’t realize how much control you have with your body when you initiate the contact. Nice finish.
** Boler: Garrett slides it out, Lucas back inside, Garrett left hand, rolls it in. Diante!
** Corbin, post game: The finish was tougher than anything.

To close: HOUDINI!

hou-dini

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    January 12, 2014 1:51 am

    Very appropriate title for CJ and Ty’s hug. That is sooo awkward.

    I am happy that CJ had a good game last night. I think its fun for players to play well in their old building. I feel bad that he is yet another former Jazz player left with a dirty taste in his mouth from the Jazz. These last four years need to be forgotten and quickly.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

