Skip to content

Game 37 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Oklahoma City Thunder (12-25)

January 8, 2014

A summary of the game in gif form:

fav-dunkThe best part about this is Derrick Favors’ lack of reaction.

brooks-shaking-head

kd-losing-cool

zarba-doc

hay-ward

happy-bench

Pre-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the many high-profile injuries around the league
I mean, it happens during the course of–it’s a long season, man, and guys in and out. And that’s one of the team, one of the things that teams try and avoid, is guys being out for extended amount of time.
** Corbin on Kevin Durant
He’s worked every year to get better™. His team has improved, and now they’re one of the best teams in the league, and you know, it’s gonna be a great game for us tonight to continue to grow with this young group of guys, who have against a great opponent.
** Corbin on how important practice time is with a young team
Well, you know, practice time is invaluable to us, where we’ve had so many games, so soon earlier in the year, and then they’ve been coming so frequently, we haven’t had a lot of time on the practice floor. We had to try and get the guys who were getting a lot of minutes in the game probably rest when we have had days to get on the floor. So you couldn’t go at ‘em too hard there. Now, we’re getting some time to be able to get some more repetition at the things we wanna do on the offensive end, to get better™ at the things we need to get better™ on the defensive end…We want to improve on all areas.
** Corbin on whether he likes Enes Kanter coming off the bench
Yeah, I think right now, for us, where we are, where we building right now, it helps us, and you know what, we try to, we thought about early on what he would be a guy that we can come off the bench, he and Alec Burks both, if we can get some points through them, we could run offense through them at those times. It’s been up and down during the course of the year, but we look forward to being more consistent.
** Corbin on Trey Burke’s progression
Well, he’s getting better™. You know, the grasping of the team, he’s still a real young guy, and then we’re a young team…But he will be one of the guys we look to lead the group as we go forward. It’s a lot of pressure to put on a young guy, to axe him to do the things we axe him to do on the floor and then lead the team off the floor in the locker room also. He’s showing some of those characteristics, and we’re looking forward to him grow him, growing more in those areas.

rj tweets

** Gordon Hayward on whether the Jazz suffers from not having a superstar
I don’t know, I mean, I just think the way [Kevin Durant] is, he’s aggressive and you know, referees are used to the way he plays. So we gotta be the same aggressive, and if, you know, they’re not giving something, I guess we gotta say something to the refs about it, you know, call the game fairly. But I’m not gonna say that there’s a bias there or anything. That would get me in trouble, so.
** Trey Burke, asked if he played football growing up*
I played all the way up into my freshman year of high school, and you know, my dad pretty much wanted me to focus on one sport. It’s, honestly, I love both of ‘em. You know, I didn’t know what sport I liked more going into my freshman year of high school. And you know, once I got there, it was kinda like, I gotta pick one, you know, to kinda focus on. And you know, now that I think about it, I wanted to continue to play football, but it, I think it was best for me to just focus on basketball…[I played] cornerback and running back.
* No, Matt Harpring was not the one asking.
** Trey Burke on Mike Harris being waived
Yeah, it’s, you know, the name of the game, man. It’s a business…Obviously, it’s tough on the team, but we, you know, we have to move forward, and we wish him the best.
** Enes Kanter on Mike Harris being waived
It’s a business, but you know, seeing my teammates and leaving like this, you know, it’s tough. I’m just gonna pray for him.

wheres diante

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin, post-game
It was a great thing for our young group of guys to weather the storm and be able to finish this ball game out with a win.
** Corbin on Gordon Hayward
Oh, he was huge. I mean, we needed every last basket he made for us. And not only on the offensive end, but defensively I thought he made some plays for us. Got his hands on some balls and he carried us down the stretch just by making plays…He was determined to get the ball where he wanted.
** Gordon Hayward on the game
Hell of a win for us, and that’s what I’m most proud of. Even though they had some guys that were down, they’re still a really good basketball team. And they made their run, and we withheld it and then made one of our own there at the end of the game. So it was a great win for us as a team.
** Hayward on his performance
Just got myself in a rhythm…The rim gets a little wider for you. You kind of feel like anything you shoot’s gonna go in. It’s a good feeling, for sure, so. Hope I can get there again.
** Derrick Favors on Hayward
It was an intense game towards the end. You know, we did a great job out there. You know, G-Time hit a lot of big shots. He got hot, so we just kept going to him.
** Alec Burks on the game
It was physical, you know? Refs got into it, we all got into it, you know? It was a good game, you know?
** Burks on Hayward
You know, G had a phenomenal game, you know? We just rolled with that. (Utah Jazz, 1280)

trey getup

Nicknames
** Enes Kanter on what it would say on his nickname jersey: Big Turkey?
** Trey Burke on what it would say on his nickname jersey: I would say “TB3,” if it’s allowable.
** Burke on which Jazz player would have the best nickname jersey: “Dunk Champ.” Easily. Jeremy Evans, you know, we all call him “Dunk Champ,” so I think that’s the best one. You know, you see that on the back of a jersey, it might intimidate somebody.
** Gordon Hayward on what it would say on his nickname jersey: G-Time…I had [this nickname since] Reggie Miller, I think, had the whole “Miller Time” thing back in Indiana, so when I was really young. So, I wanted to be like him, so people started calling me that, so.
** Derrick Favors on what it would say on his nickname jersey: Probably just D-Fav. Something simple. You know, I don’t have any nicknames.
** Favors on which Jazz player would have the best nickname jersey: Probably Jeremy. We call him “Snoop Doop.” So he probably got the best one…I got here my rookie year, that’s what they were calling him. “Snoop Doop.” I don’t know where that came from.

selfie off

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on Russell Westbrook: He’s a penetrator. (H/T @bjcseven)
** Boler: Burks wiggles straight away.
** Matt Harpring: I’m easy, Boler. You’re hard sometimes. (H/T @theshums with assist from @caseygreer)
** Boler on Kevin Durant scoring after getting scored on: He calmly comes right back, and throws it right in your face.
** Harpring: Durant the only one on the floor with length, but not enough length for Favors.
** Harpring on Favors shot: He just kind of flicks it up there with the left hand, and it goes in.
** Boler: Kanter reached up high, grabbed it, and put it right back in.
** Steve Brown to Favors: You guys maybe backed off a little, and then you came back even harder.
** Phil Johnson on the ball(?): Everybody was touching it. (H/T @5kl)
** Trey Burke: Gordon got really hot, and you know, we pretty much rode him the whole night.

To close:

gh ptsd(reference)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chiselmcsue permalink
    January 9, 2014 1:24 am

    facepalm on the way burke wears his gold necklace …

  2. January 9, 2014 6:07 am

    ear assault PTSD is not a laughing matter for those who suffer -

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

