Skip to content

Get to Know: Enes Kanter

January 7, 2014
tags: ,

From David Locke’s “Get to Know” series with Jazz players.

kanter

First team ever played on: A college team in Ankara at age 14.

First buzzer beater: Turkish junior national team against Greece.

First dunk: During warmups at age 15.

First pair of basketball shoes: Puma, with a hole in it.

First time you ever saw yourself on TV: At age 16 or 17 on Turkish television.

First nickname: Something really crazy in Turkish that can’t be shared.

First car ever driven: Turkish car.

First CD: What does that mean?

First video game ever played: Mario.

First day off in Utah: Look for some houses.

Other players’ jerseys owned: I didn’t have any jersey. My brother had a Shaq jersey.

First autograph: From somebody? I can’t remember. I don’t know.

First big purchase: I went to Pizza Hut.

First time you ever got in trouble as a kid: Knocked yogurt over in the fridge and blamed it on his brother.

First pet: Bird or fish.

First kiss: I don’t wanna answer that one. My mom might hear it.


Best game ever played: Turkish junior team in France. Something like 30+ points and 19 rebounds.

Worst game ever played: Last night.

Best place ever traveled to: Pennsylvania (did not explain why).

Best athlete ever: I would hate to go against Karl Malone.

Best meal ever: Kebabs in Turkey.

Hardest workout ever: Probably this summer with Karl during Ramadan. We had morning practice, then went to go fishing, then I got in accident, then went lifting, and another practice.

Most famous person ever met: I haven’t really met that many famous people. I guess, basketball-wise, I think it was Karl.

Best friend in the league: Probably Doron Lamb.

Best TV show ever: SpongeBob.

Dinner with three people, dead or alive: The guy who made SpongeBob; my little, little brother; the creator of Family Guy.


Last sport played besides basketball: Swimming.

Last vacation: Turkey.

Last item bought: Carpet.

Last music downloaded: I don’t listen to music.

Last bad grade: I got good grades in Kentucky. I passed all my classes, but I dropped art, because it was three hours at nighttime.

Last good grade: Geography and math.

Last time you were scared: Probably last game.

Last time you were incredibly happy: I was so happy when I start playing basketball 5-on-5.

Last time you cried: Like, real, huh huh huh, like, real? I can’t remember, man.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. BC7 permalink
    January 7, 2014 11:18 pm

    This is the greatest GTK of all time.

    Last major purchase? Carpet!
    First big purchase? Pizza Hut!

    /dies

  2. Diana permalink
    January 8, 2014 5:08 am

    oh my gosh!!!

    “First big purchase: I went to Pizza Hut.”

    Okay so this is way different than the rest of them, I take back what I said on the Brandon Rush one.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

