Skip to content

Get to Know: Brandon Rush

January 7, 2014
tags: ,

From David Locke’s “Get to Know” series with Jazz players.

rush

First team ever played on: CMH 76ers at age 12 or 13.

First buzzer beater: At Mt. Zion (prep school).

First dunk: Just messing around in 6th grade.

First pair of basketball shoes: Jordans.

First time you ever saw yourself on TV: Modeling promotion thing at age 12.

First nickname: B-Rush.

First car ever driven: Buick Skylark.

First CD: Jay-Z.

First video game ever played: ’92 Madden.

First day off in Utah: Nothing. Slept on my couch all day. Watched TV.

Other players’ jerseys owned: Kobe.

First autograph: Michael Jordan.

First big purchase: Escalade.

First time you ever got in trouble as a kid: It was a lot.

First pet: Cat named Joe.

First kiss: Sophomore year in high school


Best game ever played: Freshman year against Kentucky. 20 points in the first half.

Worst game ever played: A few years ago with the Pacers. First egg in my life.

Best place ever traveled to: I’ve been to China a few times.

Best athlete ever: Michael Jordan, hands down.

Fastest player ever played against: Dwyane Wade.

Strongest player ever played against: Carmelo Anthony.

Best meal ever: Anything from Houston’s Restaurant.

Hardest workout ever: A workout with the Miami Heat coming out of college.

Maddest you’ve ever been: Whenever I lose my phone.

Most famous person ever met: Michael Jordan.

Earliest you ever woke up to work out: 7.

Latest you’ve ever studied for a test: Maybe ’til 3 o’clock in the morning.

Best friend in the league: Mario Chalmers.

Best movie ever: Bad Boys.

Best TV show ever: Martin.

Dinner with three people, dead or alive: Michael Jordan, Michael Jackson, Barack Obama.


What’s your mom like? She was hard on me. She made sure I got things done for school and made sure I went to college. … She wasn’t a lover. I didn’t get spoiled or anything like that.

You knew you were in trouble when… Whenever she got out of work and she heard something or my grandma told her something.

You made your mom most happy when… When I went to college.

Good day in the house when… The day I went to college.

Inspiration/mentor: My old AAU coach, John Walker. He’s been by my side since I was 10 years old. … That’s why I’m here today.


Last sport played besides basketball: Tennis.

Last vacation: Hawaii.

Last item bought: Phone.

Last music downloaded: Justin Timberlake.

Last bad grade: F in science.

Last good grade: A in P.E.

Last time you were scared: When I break my phone.

Last time you were incredibly happy: We just got a new dog.

Last time you cried: When I hurt my knee last year.

Last book you read: I don’t read books.

Reason for jersey number (25): [Older brother] JaRon was 4 and [other older brother] Kareem was 21 when he was in college.

If you could come back as any NBA player: Magic Johnson, ’cause he had the life, and now he’s just living it right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    January 8, 2014 5:06 am

    don’t these answers all start to sound the same, I mean not all but many.

    I am sad he doesn’t read.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

