Skip to content

Game 35 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Milwaukee Bucks (11-24)

January 3, 2014

Ending 2013 on a good note and starting 2014 on a good note as well with the 11th win of the season!

flattery day Was it Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Flattery Day at the LHM Group?

Pre-Game Quotage
** Richard Jefferson on his role
We have good young guys here, and we got a great coaching staff. My job is just kinda to reinforce what the coach is already saying. Coach Corbin, and the rest of the staff do a great job of making sure everyone works extremely hard, everyone’s consistent, everyone’s professionals. Because that’s why, that’s what he did in the league. And so, he just tries to instill that in them.
** RJ, asked what was his mindset as a rookie
Oh, to try and kill everyone, as possible. I wanted to stop everyone. I wanted to dunk on everyone. I wanted to run the floor. That’s all I wanted to do. I had a problem. I had a serious problem…They just kept giving me more minutes, so apparently I was doing something right.
** Marvin Williams on his heel
Coach did a nice job of kinda, you know, backing me off yesterday in practice a little bit. You know, I kinda went through maybe half and I feel really, really good today.

creepy dancers

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on what the team can do to continue on an upward trend
Well, you look at, you know, when we started the season, we had 10 guys in uniform that were able to play. And as we’ve gotten healthy, we, you know, we’re trying to find a rhythm here. We got a lot of work to do to s–to continue to get better™ . And you know, we can’t think that we can take anybody for granted. We can’t take any team lightly, and rest on our morals. We gotta work everyday to get better™.
** Corbin on Enes Kanter
Playing a lot better. Getting back to his old ways. He’s being a beast down low. We were able to go to him in the post…We need him to continue to get better™ and be more consistent.

Thank you John Lucas III.

** Enes Kanter, asked whether playing time is important to him when he’s slumping
I mean, yeah, definitely. I mean, everyone wants to play more minutes, but I mean, if we win, I’m okay with that, you know?
** Kanter on focus
I talk to a couple of my coaches, and you know, they just said, just, you know, the most important thing is just, being, you know, keep being focus. So that’s what I’m trying to do…My thing is not about basketball, not about anything else. It’s just being focused, you know? If I’m focused, then I’m okay. But if I’m not focused, then, you know, like little distractions, then sometimes can affect me.
** Trey Burke on the bench and Enes Kanter
We’re gonna need guys coming off the bench with intensity, and you know, guys like Alec [Burks], guys like Enes, you know, coming off the bench, Diante [Garrett], giving us sparks, you know, when the first team isn’t, you know, producing as much as we can be…Enes is a guy that we’re going to need to come off the bench, you know, every night and give us a spark, whether it’s on the offensive or the defensive end.
** Derrick Favors on tanking talk
We can’t play into that, man. You know, lotta guys, during the summertime, you know, they work hard. You know, they get their bodies in shape, they work hard, and you know, we don’t come into the season looking to lose just to get into the lottery and pick whoever. You know I’m saying? As players, you know, we come in, play hard, trying to showcase our talent to the rest of the league, and try to get wins.
** Richard Jefferson on his dunk
This is the best my body has felt in years, probably about four or five years. You know, I just feel great. I’m glad I’m getting an opportunity to show it.

rush bryant

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Andris Biedrins “Dre”: Richard Jefferson
** People calling Alec Burks “Alec Conley”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @gorn1)
** People calling Alec Burks “Al”: Steve Brown
** Via John Lucas III (@luke1luk), “Look what the homie RJ made @tr3yburke put on after the Michigan lost to Arizona LMAO the face tho salty”

Speaking of Trey Burke, he and his girlfriend are expecting:

trey baby

Let’s hope Trey is a new breed of Jazz player and cut from a different cloth than Jazz players of the past, whose games inevitably went down the toilet when a pregnant wife/girlfriend entered the picture lol. Good times.
** Congrats to Jeff Hornacek for winning Coach of the Month and also…

jody jeff tweet

** Mo Williams’ kids “got chance to see uncle Big Al” in Portland tonight. Awwww! (via @mogotti25)

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Steve Brown: We’ll have the tip coming up next. (H/T @bjcseven; I assume it was Steve Brown. The UDQM was attributed to “Douchey McMute.”)
** Craig Bolerjack: Kanter’s been up, down and sideways at times.
** Matt Harpring on OJ Mayo’s poor defense: You never want that on film, Boler. ‘Cause you’re gonna see that the next day, and guys are gonna make fun of you.
** Boler on RJ slam: Oh my! The old fella! Yeah, he can still get up! You betcha!
** Harpring: Any time you see your partner–and the “4” and the “5” are a partner in the offense–that someone’s fronting your partner, you gotta flash high.
** Steve Brown to Enes Kanter: Were you pushing? I mean, is it one of those things that you press, and you try harder and harder, and it seems counter-productive sometimes?
** Enes Kanter: Alec came up big, and Garrett came up big. So it’s going good.
** Steve Brown to Derrick Favors: Everybody could go off on any given night, and I know you guys are really worried about not being that guy tonight, to let your guy go off.
** Phil Johnson on Diante Garrett: Here’s a guy from the D-League. And those guys are usually ready to go.

To close: What is even going on here…

marvin-post

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2014 11:38 pm

    was the byu baby on the broadcast last night?

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

