Skip to content

Game 34 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Charlotte Bobcats (10-24)

December 31, 2013

The Jazz close out 2013 by reaching double digits in the win column!

trey-dagger

al-3

Happy New Year, yalls.

Al Jefferson Pre-Game Quotage
** Big Al on what kind of reception he thinks he’ll get
I hope they, you know, welcome me. I don’t think I left on bad blood.
** Al, asked about how he’s helped take the Bobcats forward from where they’ve been in the past few years
Don’t give me all the credit. Coaching style; you know, doing a wonderful job of trying to give us a new identity. And you know, just, you know, the young guys that we have, young players, young talent. And then with me, with my experience and low-post presence, you know, I just think that it’s, we all working well together.
** Al on Derrick Favors and Enes Kanter
Them guys, especially Favors, and Enes, you know, them guys really stepped their post game up to another level. And then got a lot smarter at understanding how, what it takes to score and [being] patient down there. You know, and I remember last game, Favors hit a shot on me and said, “Yeah, I’ve been working on that.” And I said, “I see, yeah.” (laughs) So you know, them guys just continuing on the improvement, so I know it’s gonna be fun going against them, you know? I tell them both, and they agree with me, I taught them everything they know.

big al favorsWelcome back, Big Al!

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the game
It’s a hard-fought ball game. You know, we ended up winning it. We made some mistakes, but I think, you know, a lot of these games, for these young gr–for this young group of guys, learning how to finish games, and you know, hopefully getting lesson when we get teams down, how to finish ‘em off without making it close.
** Corbin on Derrick Favors
Been huge all year long. Been huge, and we need him to continue to get better™. We need our guys to understand how and when he’s gonna come across and help, not allowing guys to get directly run into him so he get put into a bad spot to get fouls.
** Corbin on Trey Burke
Made a big shot for us. So he’s, every night, man, he’s continuing to learn lessons and get better™ every night he step out there on the floor.
** Corbin on Alec Burks
We really needed a guy to attack the basket for us and make some shots, and he really took up the slack. And he’s been playing extremely well for us of late, and we need him to continue to get better™.
** Corbin on Marvin Williams
You know, Marvin’s, you know, gonna do whatever he can to help this team win and be successful, and he’s continuing to do whatever he have to help us grow, and playing different roles [every] night, defending different guys, and talking to the guys on the floor, making sure we’re in the right spots, and he’s been doing a tremendous job for us.

greg miller

** Trey Burke on the Jazz’s last play
It was a 1-point game, and you know, coach called basically a iso. You know, I knew the guy was going, you know, go for the pump fake, you know, for the 8-foot jump shot, so I just tried to get into the paint and get in a better look.
** Burke on close games
I love ‘em. You know, we all love ‘em. You know, we embrace the close games because it makes us stronger as a team.
** Derrick Favors on falling for Big Al’s pump fake (also UDQM)
I knew it was coming. I don’t know why I jumped. I knew it was coming. I was just, he’s good doing that, man…He probably the best in NBA history at that, man. I mean, I don’t know how I fall for it. I knew it was coming. But he just one of those guys who got you.
** Favors on what it was like going against Big Al
You know, it’s always tough going against Al, man. Even when he was here, in practice and stuff, man. It was always tough going against him, man. He one of those players, he gon get his points. He gon get his shots. Only thing you can do is try to make it tough and hope he misses.

burke-and-burks

** Richard Jefferson on the game
For us to sweep the season series against a good and improving Charlotte team, it’s big for us.
** RJ on the last 20 games
When everyone was “tanking this and that,” that was never what was going on in our locker room. We stayed together. We got better. And coach, like I said, coach has been doing a great, great job, and you know, it showed in the last 20 games…We’re gonna get better, and you know, if you look at the way we played the last 20 games, 30 games, and then you’re saying, “Okay, this team’s gonna get better,” well, that’s something to be proud of…We had the 24th off and the 25th off. And then to come back and get a win against a good Lakers team, you know, that shows that this team is focused. Like, we’re here to play basketball. We’re here to get better, and we’re here to get as many wins as possible. (KALL, Utah Jazz)

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Rudy Gobert “Hollywood France” yesterday: Ian Clark

hollywood france

** People calling Alec Burks “Alec Burke”: Matt Harpring (though he did correct himself) (H/T @edwin_nba)
** People calling Kemba Walker “Kem-bay”: Phil Johnson
** People calling Trey Burke “Trey Williams”: Alema Harrington (though he did correct himself)
** Jerry Sloan :)

jerry 1230

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Gordon Hayward on Big Al: It’ll be good to see him, and hopefully he doesn’t kill us down there.
** Derrick Favors on Big Al: You can’t stop what he does, man. I mean, he’s one of those post players, that, he gon do his move, and you can’t stop him.
** Trey Burke on his ankle: It’s okay. It’s fine. It’s a little sore, but it didn’t really bother me the other night. You know, I’ve been taping it, you know, more, now. And you know, I’m just gonna continue to get treatment on it, continue to take care of it so it’ll be ready.
** Matt Harpring on Enes Kanter: That can’t feel good, having 260 lbs. on you.
** Craig Bolerjack: The Jazz came strong. Good recovery.
** Boler: Favors takes a spill, and it will be on Kemba Walker.
** Boler: Marvin holds it out front, hands it off to Hayward. Five to shoot.
** Boler on Favors: Went in, into a cameraman.
** Burke on using glass: If you know how to use it, then it can definitely help you.

To close:

ny kiss

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2014 12:05 am

    I’m surprised not to see a screen shot of the dirtiest UDQM of the year (and just under the wire!) from Matt Harpring during the pregame. For his New Year’s Goals for Gordon Hayward, “Eat Less Misses;” though kind of appropriate considering his recent engagement.

    (Sorry, I’m filthy minded I know.)

    • January 1, 2014 8:38 am

      I saw that and it did not register.

      I can’t tell you how ashamed I am.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

