Skip to content

Game 13 of 82: Utah Jazz at New Orleans Pelicans (1-12)

November 21, 2013

Welcome to the NBA, Trey Burke…

trey-tunnel

…and congrats on your first NBA bucket!

trey-first-bucket

Welcome back, Jeremy Evans. Get well soon, Andris Biedrins, Brandon Rush, Marvin Williams’s nose and Gordon Hayward’s shot.

Pre-Game Quotage
** Trey Burke on what he’s learned from watching on the bench
Pace of the game. I think that’s the biggest thing for me, is learning the pace, learning when to attack and when to, you know, set the offense up. You know, just watching guys like Tony Parker, Deron Williams, you know, the Jrue Holidays. Just some of the top guards, just seeing their pace, you know, having the opportunity to see the game from the coaches’, you know, perspective. I think that’s definitely helped me out a lot.
** Burke on his NBA debut
It’s my first official NBA game. I’m excited…I had butterflies every game last year in college, so I know I’ll have butterflies tonight. But I think that’s just m–that’s excitement, you know, coming along with the, you know, it’s not about being nervous. It’s about just going out there and being confident.

historic haywardHistoric night for Gordon Hayward (H/T @UtahJazzPodcast)

Post-Game Quotage
** Gordon Hayward on his 1-17 performance
I mean, whatever reason, they just didn’t fall tonight. Pretty frustrating…Missed 16 of ‘em. So. I mean, it’s whatever. I gotta move on…Shooters shoot, and so I’ll just keep shooting.
** John Lucas III on this shot
Us, you know, losing, and kinda me feeling like I wasn’t performing to how I usually perform, I just was putting a lot of pressure on myself. And so, coach told me, “Man, don’t worry about that. You just go out there and play the game and enjoy the game.” … I feel good. Every time I shoot, I feel like my shot going in. You know, when I was missing, I wasn’t gonna back away and not shoot again. ‘Cause I’m a shooter. So every time I shoot, I always, I, to me, I feel like it’s the ball. It’s not my shot. That’s my mentality.

trey mom tweet

** Lucas III on the game
We should’ve won this game, but you know, they hit some key shots. And you know, they went to the free throw line I don’t know how many times. And we didn’t start going to the free throw line until the last two, three minutes of the game. I mean, we were driving in there. But you know, it is what it is.
** Trey Burke on the game
I feel like tonight, we could’ve won the game. You know, came down to the last 10 minutes of the game. But you know, we’ll learn from it. And you know, it’s kinda like a repeating thing that we keep saying, but we are learning. You know, we’re growing as a team. And we’ll continue to get better.

** Hayward on where the team is
I think we’re learning and I think we’re growing. It’s just not there yet, so. We gotta get better.
** Jeremy Evans on where the team is
I feel like this team is doing good, far as, you know, staying in it; playing hard just to cut the lead back down. A lot of teams would give up, just saying how young we are, whatever. But we still fight and I feel like this is a good mindset of any team.

** Burke on being sent ahead through the tunnel (gif’ed up top)
I looked behind me and wasn’t nobody behind me. It was, I was kinda embarrassed at first, but I was like, “O–you know, it’s no big deal.” You know, I was already out there. (1280)

Watch Diante Garrett (H/T @bjcseven):

garrett-photog

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Alec Burks “Trey Burks”: Craig Bolerjack
** People calling Andris Biedrins “Andre Beechers”: John Lucas III
** Sidney Lowe’s tax evasion court date has been postponed yet again. Sidebar calendar updated accordingly.

kris lowe tweet

(The Jazz announced yesterday that Trey Burke would not be playing at New Orleans.)

** From the heckler files:

heckler

** From the censored player files:

rudy tweet

And if you’re wondering how long it took for #JazzTwitterPolice to get on the case and make Rudy Gobert (DNP-CD tonight) delete the tweet:

14 minutes

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
1120 udqms

** David Locke: What’s it feel like when you shoot with those fingers taped together?
Trey Burke: It feels good. Honestly, it feels normal. You know, I used to shoot, you know, with the index finger down. But now, you know, I go back to my old ways. I used to shoot, before that, I would shoot, you know, with all my fingers. It doesn’t feel different at all.
** Craig Bolerjack: [Ref] is getting a heavy dose of Ty Corbin in front of us.
** Harpring on Favors: He could be deep, but his recovery speed is so good. (H/T @halloweenheadfm)
** Boler on Amundson’s hair: No, no, no. Never a pony.
** Harpring: So long. So good. Anthony Davis.
** Harpring: This is a nice two-minute spurt from the Jazz.
** Harpring to Boler: I need more out of you sometimes.
** Harpring: You gotta find your position. You gotta find what makes you perform, in the NBA. ‘Cause what worked in college a lot of times does not work in the NBA.

angry tweet

** Harpring: Look at coach Corbin get mad at Kanter right now, saying “Hey, you gotta get out.”
** Harpring: You gotta get lower, Boler. Sometimes he comes off. Enes Kanter was standing straight up, and he would help himself if he would bend his knees and gets ready for it.

To close:

kolbi tweet

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rafael Amarante permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:21 pm

    WTF Kolbi, hahahahahahaha

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

