Skip to content

Game 9 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. New Orleans Pelicans (1-8)

November 14, 2013

BEST WIN OF THE SEASON!

marvin-shot

bench-reax

guys-reax

Marvin Williams and Richard Jefferson absolutely deserve the game ball. And even if you are pro-tank, seeing the no-longer-winless Jazz win one had to feel good…

Wheelings and Dealings
Brandon Rush was the guy that broke the news about Jamaal Tinsley being waived. The tweet was subsequently deleted, but not before (to the annoyance of Jazz PR no doubt) it was screencapped by @5kl:

rush tweet


tinsley tweets

Best of luck to Jamaal!


garrett tweets

Pre-Game Quotage
** Derrick Favors, asked whether he watched the Kansas-Duke game last night
Nope. I was playing Madden all night last night. So I didn’t get a chance to watch it.
Is Madden your escape from the travesty that is this season?
No, I’m just a Madden guy. You know, I play Madden everyday, all day. You know, that, it’s my game.
I’d say this is conclusive evidence Derrick Favors is not tanking. Also, “travesty” was my word, not the reporter’s.
** Favors on what’s been the biggest issue defensively this year
Probably just communication, you know? Guys still learning how to play with each other, and learning how to, you know, build a chemistry. And I think the main thing’s probably just the communication problems.

** Gordon Hayward, asked whether he watched the game last night
I caught a little bit of it. Some talented guys on the floor, so.

We know Trey Burke also watched the game:

trey tweets

** Hayward on what’s been the biggest issue defensively this year
Lack of execution. It’s not having all five guys being in the right positions doing their job. And you know, sometimes we have three; sometimes we have four. But it’s that one or two guys that aren’t doing it.

** John Lucas III, asked whether he watched the game last night
Oh yeah. I mean, I been watching Jabari [Parker] ever since he was in middle school. You know, I was in Chicago, went to most or all of his high school basketball games…Those two guys, man, you know, their futures look bright.
** Lucas on Jamaal Tinsley being waived
Jamaal, you know, Imma miss him. He was helping me a lot, you know, keeping my mind right. You know, ’cause all this is kinda new to me. Last couple years, I been on winning teams, and losing the first couple–eight–games, you know, I kinda black out, like, in, not black out, verbally, but just in my mind, where I go into like a shell, and I’m trying to figure out things that I really can’t control. Like, I’m trying to figure out what I could’ve done better or what I shoulda did or what I, and you know, and it’s just like, I’m trying to put everything on me. And Jamaal says, “It’s not all on you.”…You know, I’ve always been in a system with the point guard being the first option, where we coming off the screens, and we’re creating, and we’re shooting, and we’re doing this. And now I’m in a different role, which, you know, I’m accepting, but I still, he told me I still have to stay me. Don’t change who I am as a player.

trey-shootaroundTrey Burke doing work at shootaround

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin, post-game
I feel a lot better…We got down, but they didn’t quit on it, and continued to stay together, and fought, and it was a great win for the team.
** Corbin on what he saw in Diante Garrett
Well, he’s a point guard.
** Corbin on whether he’ll be celebrating the win
We gon enjoy this one tonight. We’ve been through enough adversity thus far this year.

harp-boler

** Gordon Hayward on Diante Garrett
I thought he did a great job. Hopefully we can see more of that play…He just played with energy. He did his job, and I mean, it’s just a matter of, he wasn’t forcing things. He was reading the defense well, and you know, just took what they gave him. He made some tremendous passes. He’s a bigger guard, you know, so he can see and read the defenses pretty well, and he made some, like I said, some pretty tough passes, and also had a couple drives to the rim, and finished well, so can’t say enough about the job that he did.
** Hayward on Richard Jefferson and Marvin Williams
RJ led us there and brought us together [when the Pelicans opened the second half with a 6-0 run] and said, “No more ‘my bad’s.’ You know, no more ‘We’ll get it next time.’ And this is our time right now” and really led us there. Brought a lot of energy for us, and you know, we fed off that as well as good having Marv back. And [he] knocked down some shots for us, played some really tough “D,” and brought us energy as well, so I mean, I thought it was a great team effort.

** Derrick Favors on what the locker room was like after the game
Everybody was just like, “Finally.” You know I’m saying? Excited. Finally! Man, you know, finally get a win, you know, break the ice, so now we good.
** Favors on how valuable Richard Jefferson has been to the team
He just kept everybody level-headed with everything. You know, we were going through our losing slump, and you know, certain, when guys were having tough nights, you know, he was the guy that, you know, made sure we stayed together and kept our heads up and stayed together as a team.

dl blackberry

** Enes Kanter, post-game
Oh yeah, it feels good, man. You know, after, oh man, eight loss, it’s like a medicine, you know? Thanks God. Thanks Allah, you know?
** Kanter on Diante Garrett
I didn’t even know his name. I was just calling him “Garrett,” you know, ’cause of back of his jersey. But you know, he played really good, man. He just, you know, he’s a really point, good point guard. I didn’t know anything about him ’til today, and he just step up and play big time.

enes abs (Via AP Photo)

** Marvin Williams on the crowd
The crowd was huge tonight, man. Just, to be a team that was 0-8, if you didn’t know we were 0-8, you would never know by the crowd, man. So that’s great that we got true fans, man. They really got behind us tonight. We fed off their energy and got a good win.
** Marvin on his show of emotion
You know, sometimes you just get tired of losing, man. I think nobody in that locker room is used to u–losing. The Utah Jazz are not used to losing, period. So we really needed this game. We didn’t want to let this one go, and I think we showed it tonight.
** Marvin on how his shot feels
It feels great, man. While I was out, you know, rehabbing, I spent a lot of time with coach Johnnie [Bryant], you know, shooting. He’s got a ton of shooting drills, and he made sure that I was gonna be ready when I got out there on the court. So when I was able to get out there, the one thing that did feel good was my shot. So I’m really thankful for that.
** Marvin on Richard Jefferson
Aw man. He was absolutely huge. I mean, flat out huge. The spark he gave us in the third quarter, I think guys really kinda jumped on his back and he kinda gave us throughout the game. So, it was big, man. We were down, and he kinda put the team on his back through the stretch there, got us back in the ball game.

family package

** Richard Jefferson on his shot
I haven’t been particularly shooting the ball well. Fortunately, Johnnie Bryant, Al Jensen and Sidney Lowe, you know, they got me in the gym, got me shooting some extra jumpers. Really helped me out there…I was laughing with Brandon Rush. I was like, “Dude, I’m gonna hit shots tonight.” He was like, “It’s about time.”
** Jefferson on Tyrone Corbin
I can’t thank, you know, coach enough, coach Corbin, for sticking with me. I know the last few games I haven’t shot the ball well…and coach Corbin’s been there. He’s a 16-year vet, and I know he’s under a lot of stress ’cause he wants to get the win. But coach Corbin’s doing a great job. You know, we’re just, you know, we’re, you know, he’s not getting the best poker cards right now, and he’s playing the cards that are dealt to him. And you know, just the way he handled the young guys, and you can’t get on ‘em too much because you need them to produce. But at the same time, being a disciplinarian, and you know, he’s done as well of a job as anybody as I’ve seen since I’ve been in the league.

garrett locker

** Diante Garrett on his Jazz debut
It felt real good to get out there and get a chance to play and play for an NBA team, and getting extended minutes, and you know, having guys on the team that’s giving you confidence, and you know, pushing me to, like, you know, do the right play and be aggressive and stuff like that. So I think it helped out a whole lot.
** Garrett, asked how were the butterflies when he first checked in
It was a lot of them in there. But once I got the ball in my hand, it kinda went away, like, ASAP.
** Garrett on what was on his Walmart shopping list when he got the call, and if he paid
I actually paid for it. I was going to get some cereal and some milk and stuff for the house. And I got the call, and I was like, “Okay. I’m still gonna take this home, and give me a nice little meal tonight.” (KALL, 1280, Utah Jazz)

garrett brown

Random Stuff, etc.
** What’s worse than an armless Richard Jefferson being listed as the Jazz’s center? This (Via @NFLGuy_SK; H/T UKNo1Jazzfan):

rj bucket chart

** People calling Al-Farouq Aminu “Amino”: Craig Bolerjack (as usual).
** People calling Alec Burks “Alex: Craig Bolerjack.
** Hayward calls Richard Jefferson “RJ.” Favors calls him “Richard.” Kanter calls him “Jefferson.” Garrett calls him “Rich.”
** People calling Andris Biedrins “Andre”: Richard Jefferson

** Watch Ty’s reaction here on this Hayward shot lol:

gordo-shot

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** David Locke:

locke udqm
** Reporter asking Favors about putting up big numbers: Is this something that feels natural and normal, and you can sustain it?
** Harpring on Anthony Davis: You think Gobert is long. This guy is long. Just like Gobert.
** Boler: Evans bangs it down, right in front of Ty Corbin.
** Matt “The Pimp” Harpring on ticket deal: That’s it, 90 bucks for the complete package. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Harpring: When you notice guys are hanging on the shorts, they’re tired, and you say to yourself, “OK, let’s pick up this tempo a little bit more.
** Boler on Burks: Three Pelicans on top of him. They picked that ball clean.
** Boler: Davis quiets the crowd with a move inside.
** Boler: Eric Gordon strokes its deep. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Steve Brown to Hayward, post-game: What does this one feel like? How big was that monkey?
** Boler on Diante Garrett: He comes in and just melts into this team, the fabric, in just a matter of hours.
** Corbin: We got down, but they didn’t quit on it.
** Corbin: It was great to see it go in the hole for us tonight.
** Corbin: We’re still short, and I thought Marvin was huge for us tonight.

To close:

barking-marvin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2013 4:31 am

    “You think Gobert is long. This guy is long. Just like Gobert.”

    I think this might be the most Matt Harpring-est thing he’s ever said.

    • November 15, 2013 7:14 am

      As well as this other Harpring gem from last night: “Jazz are small right now with the small lineup.”

  2. KaBar6 permalink
    November 15, 2013 6:41 pm

    Ty’s deep thought process of Diante “well he’s just a point guard”.

    Thank you COACH, so insightful you are! Seriously, how is he still a head coach?

    • November 16, 2013 7:59 am

      There was also

      :What were you most impressed about offensively?”

      “The ball going in the hole.”

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

