Skip to content

Pre-season Game 4 of 8: Utah Jazz vs. Portland Trail Blazers (1-3)

October 17, 2013

At least it was close in the end.

And at least with it being a close game and all, it was fun to watch at the end.

And at least we had this:

favors-dunk

And at least Andris Biedrins had this:

biedrins-bucket

(I can’t explain why I felt compelled to .gif this bucket. I just did.)

Pre-Game Quotage
** John Lucas III on what’s the big thing the team has been working on in practice
You know, just getting better.
** Lucas III on whether he prepares differently when he starts
No. M-mm. No. Not at all. You know, you just come in and you fill that role. You come in and you play. And you just play the game you been playing. So I’m coming in the same way I come in every game. Just wanting to compete, leave everything on the line, and hopefully lead my team to victory…I’m not gonna do anything different I haven’t been doing all year or all career. You know, to me it’s just a opportunity to come in and pick up where Trey [Burke] left off.
** Lucas III on whether he feels like he has more responsibility to score when he starts
I had some coaches wanting to try to make me into a passing point guard, and had some guys who just let–some coaches let me just go out there and play my game. And coach [Tom Thibodeau] and coach Ty[rone Corbin], they let me go out there and play my game. So that’s ‘xactly what Imma bring. I’m just gonna play my game like I’ve been playing these last couple games.
** Gordon Hayward on what he can say to Trey Burke
Definitely feel for him, you know? Hopefully get better soon, and he can do a lot of other things while he’s rehabbing and getting better, so. That’s what I learned from, you know, just being able to sit and watch.*
* It may just be me but Hayward looked somewhat disgruntled while saying the last part.
** Hayward on what the team has been working on in practice
In transition we’ve gotten beat a lot of times, and a lot of that is communication errors, and you know, just matching up to whoever, you know, not necessarily your man. And so, you know, hopefully tonight we, we had a challenge the other night when we guard, went against LaMarcus [Aldridge], and it’s a team effort, and hopefully tonight we can be better.
** Derrick Favors on his shots not falling
You know, it’s just getting into a rhythm, getting chemistry down with everybody.
** Favors on whether he feels there’s more of a defensive focus on him
Nah, not right now. You know, I’m just missing shots. You know, my shot’s off right now, but I’ve been working on it, and hopefully it’ll start falling.

just one kiss

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the team not being able to close out the game and if this is where he misses his veterans the most
Yeah. I mean, that’s part of the process of learning, to finish ball games. And we played a pretty good game up to the last, I think, eight possessions…I thought they, we had some good things happening in the game. And you know, we have to learn a lot of situations. We have to get better™ in a lot of situations, but I thought there were some really good signs on both ends of the floor for us.
**Gordon Hayward on how comfortable he is running the offense and how he thinks he did tonight
I’m very comfortable, with altering positions…I know the offense pretty well now, and I thought I did okay tonight. Too many turnovers, obviously, and if I woulda been able to shoot the ball at all, it would’ve been a different story. But I thought it was ok.

lindsey exclusive

** Derrick Favors on what was the difference for him offensively between the first and second halves
I just got into the flow of the game. You know, we started running a lot of screen and rolls. You know, I was setting the screens, rolling to the basket and getting open looks…The game just started coming to me. You know, I wasn’t forcing nothing. I wasn’t thinking. I was just out there playing.
** Favors on getting into foul trouble away from the basket
Just a mental thing, man. Just mental stuff, man. I just gotta learn how not to be as aggressive, you know, in the beginning of the game, and you know, don’t be too aggressive 17 feet away from the basket. You know, use my fouls wisely and you know, just be there early on defense and you know, just play smart.
** Enes Kanter on what the team still needs to work on
It’s gonna get there, but we have to figure something out, you know? It’s the third game we lost, and you know, we just have to figure something out and try to fight, I guess.

Random Stuff, etc.
** Color lesson of the day:

white orange
** By request of @My_Lo:

ty-booty

Matt Harpring’s Sexual Harassment Tips
“Maybe give yourself another six inches. Put yourself right up behind the defensive player where he can’t see you, and he’s gonna run into you. You know you’re gonna get contact from any bit of movement whatsoever.”

Unintentional Dirty Photo of the Night

udp

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Harpring: Kanter’s giving you his entire package. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Boler: Look at Lucas, man. Fire in the eyes, pumping up Enes Kanter.
** Harpring: I just need a little bit of Matt Time away from the Boler.
** Boler: Let’s go to the fifth floor, bring in Big T.
Harpring: The penthouse!
Boler: Yeah, he’s hanging out.
** Harpring: Yes, they’re fast. Yes, they’re quick. But do they have that instant explosion when they need to get to the rim?
** Harpring: When you got Jeremy Evans coming at you, you better be ready to rise up.
** Harpring: See the little in and out move, under control, the pump fake, which is very underrated, by the way.
** Boler on Hayward: He doesn’t hesitate to bang ya. (H/T @UofUJazz, @5kl)
** Corbin, post-game: We gotta make sure we understand that, if you’re having a good night, we want to be able to finish it. Not relax and you gotta make sure you finish it off.
** Corbin on Lester Hudson’s defense: Staying in the guys’ body, got his hands on a lot of balls. He made his shots when he had shots. (H/T @andyblarsen)

enes-3Way better than 3-goggles.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    October 17, 2013 10:33 pm

    I think you and i have a soft spot for Biedrins. I dont’ know why I do but it seems like you do too :)

    this was a fun game to watch despite the loss. And it seemed very winnable if we were just a little bit more organized.

  2. October 18, 2013 3:34 am

    My_Lo saw what I saw. And Corbin approves of that veteran rump.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

