Skip to content

Bits from Dennis Lindsey Interview, 9/20

September 26, 2013
tags: ,

lindsey

What are your expectations for Tyrone Corbin this season?
I tell you what, I really appreciate Ty’s approach. You gotta realize, you know, Ty has been doing this for awhile, but this is going into his third full season.

And I think the fact that he’s already proven he can coach a veteran club and put a winning club together, put a playoff club together, I think COACH is much more sophisticated than the average public gives him credit for. …

You know, a big reason why Ty Corbin, or excuse me, Trey Burke, is here, is Ty Corbin’s input during the draft. And you know, I don’t think many coaches that had been able to, you know, show what he’s done, you know, early in his career would’ve been as much of a company guy.

And you know, I think the Millers [and] us in management communicated very well all the way through the process. You know, expectations at the beginning of the season, you know, all the way to the end.

We gave the team last year a chance to compete and we fell short of our playoff goals and you know, now it’s time for us to reorganize, and Ty and the staff, you know, I expect them to do a very good job this year.

How can small market teams level the playing field with big market teams?
[Apart from the new CBA], I think there’s, I know this sounds silly, but logistically, there’s a lot of things that are convenient about San Antonio, about Salt Lake City, that we can take advantage of.

Everybody thinks “small market,” you don’t have as many nightclubs and restaurants. But we have everything to offer everybody else does; just instead of having 10 in L.A., we have, you know, two in Salt Lake.

And you know, when we get players here, they like it. Especially if it’s a certain type of player, that has, you know, a significant other and a couple of kids.

So we’ll try to, you know, in a wise way, you know, add to what fits, you know, our city and our organization, and I think there’s a lot of things that we can sell.

And without exception, the business support, the fan support, the fact that, you know, we’re not competing with professional football or professional baseball, and that these athletes are one of 15 in our market, you know, there’s quite a few things that we can sell as an advantage.

Have you personally toured Salt Lake’s nightclubs and nightlife?
No, I really haven’t. It’s not my deal, never was. Wasn’t much of a dancer…I guarantee you if [you ever saw me dancing], you would’ve seen a guy with no rhythm.

No, my wife and kids take care of me pretty early…my seven-year-old has been putting me to bed well before 9 o’clock several nights, so I’m afraid my lifestyle doesn’t fit. (1280)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2013 10:57 pm

    I love DL, but I really hate the current formula of “ask any question about Ty Corbin, respond with at least 4 compliments of what a great job he’s doing before not answering.”

  2. JasonInPG permalink
    September 27, 2013 3:15 am

    Of course Ty Corbin is a company man. He has to realize that he wouldn’t be an NBA head coach with any other team, so he’s going to do any. damn. thing. that management asks him to do.

  3. Diana permalink
    September 27, 2013 11:30 am

    ugh.

    Its so old, so so so so so so freaking old!

    • Tim permalink
      September 27, 2013 11:53 pm

      Does anyone ever think that management reads these blogs and that is why they so actively vocally support Ty. The organization takes a hard stand in supporting their coach and they read things on the internet. They know fans want Corbin’s head. They are actively showing support for Ty in the face of public backlash. I kind of like the fact they are so loyal.

      Wait and see what happens this year. For all we know the whole crew could be overturned next year.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

