Skip to content

Derrick Favors Talks Jerry Sloan; Al Jefferson and Paul Millsap

August 20, 2013
tags: , ,

favors

What’s it like having the face of the franchise for the last two decades, Jerry Sloan, back in the fold?
It’s just a great experience too, you know, having a guy like Jerry Sloan, you know? Soon as he walk in the gym, you know, the whole intensity changes. You know I’m saying?

You know, he’s that Hall of Fame coach, so you know you wanna go out there and play hard for him, ’cause he know, obviously know what he doing. So you know, like I said, he walks in the gym, the whole intensity change. The whole mindset change. And you know, I’m happy he back.

You’ve been playing behind Al Jefferson and Paul Millsap. Do you feel like this is your team next season?
Yeah, I do. You know, I’ve been playing behind them for three years. You know, I learned a lot from them.

And you know, when the moves went down this off-season, you know, both of them called me, talked to me. You know, they were like, “Yo, you know, it’s your team now. You gotta go out there, you know, and do what you gotta do.”

What are your individual expectations for next season?
Right now, you know, just going out there, and you know, showing the NBA I belong. You know, last three years, I’ve been coming off the bench playing behind guys, and you know, I think this summer, coming up, you know, gonna be a big change.

How good can the Jazz be next season?
I think we can be pretty good. You know, obviously this first year gonna be kinda tough, you know, getting everybody adjusted and everything. But you know, I think we building on something special. (Hoops World)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    August 20, 2013 8:32 pm

    Derrick Favors has a fetish for saying the right thing. I have an uber man crush on him.

    • August 21, 2013 10:03 pm

      Amazing how when people are sincere and not BSing it comes across sincere!

  2. nyjazzfan permalink
    August 21, 2013 12:40 am

    You know, you might edit out some of the you knows, you know? I think, you know, even if he talks that way, you know what I mean, we could, you know, for the sake of brevity, you know, make it, you know, easier to read. I love Favors, but he can work on his erudition!!

    • August 21, 2013 10:23 am

      I try to transcribe everyone — whether it be front office, coaches, players, foreign, Karl Malone — exactly. If we’re going to talk about erudition, let’s start with management and Ty though :)

  3. Diana permalink
    August 21, 2013 11:53 am

    I love that Favors loves Sloan and respects him! Long Live COACH Sloan!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

