Skip to content

The Charlotte Bobcats/Hornets Introduce Al Jefferson

July 11, 2013
tags: ,

al charlotte

Opening statement
I can’t express how happy I am to be here, you know? I think Charlotte, the Bobcats did a great job, you know, coming at me, and it just made me feel very proud that, you know, a team out there just really respect my game and want me to be a part of they family.

And I was just pleed* with that, and I’m very happy to be here, and to represent this, the city of Charlotte.

* That’s “pleased,” for those of you that need a translation.

What Al likes about Charlotte
I’ve always been a great fan of the city. You know, I’m closer to home, you know, I’m from Mississippi. So it was just, like I said, it was just a no-brainer. And just to know they wanted me, you know? Just to know they, you know, wanted me to be a part of they family.

And like you said, I did have other options, but no one stood out like Charlotte…Just to listen to ‘em talk, that night I couldn’t sleep one wink. You know, I stayed up all night just thinking about it.

** Al was recruited by Kemba Walker two months ago. Two weeks after that, Charlotte was inviting him to visit.

sweaty al

What were the other options?
I didn’t visit nobody besides Charlotte. You know, so they were the only one that I took the time out to come see. But it was a couple of other teams, like, you know, of course like Utah.

But then we, me and Utah, you know, came to an understanding far as they want to go with their young bigs. And that’s, you know, make a lot of sense. You know, I think both [Derrick Favors and Enes Kanter] gon be superstars in this league one day. So I couldn’t be mad at them for that.

** Also talked to Dallas and New Orleans, among others.

On his defense
I have got better. I think it’s a lotta more room to go, but it’s good thing about, you know, the head coach here. He came from a great defensive, you know, minded team, far as, with Orlando and Houston.

He a great defensive-minded guy, so I’m just thinking that he could help my defense get to the next level. Along with the other guys, you know, on this team. (Charlotte Bobcats)

** To quote @shandonfan, seeing this is :) :( :) :( :) :( :) :( :) :( (photo via Getty Images):

al bobcat

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    July 12, 2013 8:40 am

    The reason Big Al signed a 3 year deal is so he can come back to Utah for our championship run.

  2. July 12, 2013 9:39 pm

    @bebop I would not mind that one bit :)

  3. Gnote permalink
    July 13, 2013 12:20 pm

    That is the saddest picture of Al I’ve ever seen!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

