Skip to content

Orlando Summer League Game 1: Utah Jazz vs. Miami Heat

July 8, 2013

Burning Question of the Day: Why did every single Jazzman have his waistband folded over? Why were the tags left on?*

tags

* @Texas explains (to me): “they don’t have their waistbands folded down, those shorts are reversible and have thick elastic. Nobody took the tags off”

Two game .gif’s. The first bucket of the game was a nice Rudy Gobert putback:

gobert-putback

And second, Jeremy Evans’ OUCH! moment:

evans-fall

Not that the score/results really matter, but the Jazz — coached by Mike Sanders — won the game.

jerry ty

Quotage
** Sidney Lowe on Trey Burke’s performance: I thought he did a good job. He’s had a very good camp. I thought he got us into our stuff well. Didn’t shoot the ball the way he wanted to, but I think he had, like, six or seven assists. Only two turnovers. So you know, we were pleased. Pleased with his effort.
** Lowe on Burke: He’s very serious about the game, and he’s serious about getting better. And he’s gonna continue to get better…You can tell that it’s important to him that he understands what COACH Corbin wants.
** Lowe on Rudy Gobert: First of all, defensively, he was outstanding. I thought Rudy was outstanding with his quickness, his job that he did on the pick and rolls. He really got up, and he was aggressive with it. Came over from the weak side and blocked a shot. Very impressed with him. We were very pleased with Rudy’s effort today.

burke mom tweets

** Trey Burke on his debut performance: I think today, I played a, you know, solid game. You know, my shot wasn’t falling, but I think a lot of times I was kinda hesitant out there. You know, that’s not usually how I play. I usually just play with a free mind. When I play like that, I think I perform better.
** Burke on whether he’s been told that he’ll start on opening night: I haven’t really gotten indications, you know, but I think the opportunity is there. I know I have to work for it. And I think that they’re allowing me to work for that opportunity so that’s all that matters to me…I still want to be a starter…I think it’s realistic, absolutely.
** Burke on how he’s adapting to the speed of the NBA game: I think I’m adapting to the speed pretty well. I think I did a really good job of, you know, being in the right spots on the weak side today on the defensive end, getting around screens, you know, when I could. You know, and then on the offensive end, playing at my own pace. But I think that’s another thing on the offensive end that I gotta continue to get better at, is, you know, changing speeds. I think today I played at, you know, only, like, two speeds. You know, I wasn’t changing speeds enough. I didn’t make the big play me enough coming off the pick and roll, and like I said, I think it’s all just a matter of when I get really comfortable, and I think I’m starting to get comfortable. (Utah Jazz)

Random Stuff, etc.
** All right, time to ‘fess up. Who commissioned the Alec Burks voodoo doll?
burks excited

burks-ankle

burks bummer

** Before Burks left the game, his shot was looking really good.
** Burke’s ability to distribute impressed. His ability to finish in traffic did not. That area of his game needs a lot of work. He did a pretty good job rebounding the ball, though.
** In attendance: Raul Neto and Gordon Hayward (wearing shower slippers with socks; sandwiched between Brad Jones and Michael Stockton).

in attendance

** The empty chair with the “Refs” post-it next to Jerry Sloan:

jerry

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machine (UDQM)
** Trey Burke: It was great, to be able to play with, you know, guys like Alec Burks, Jeremy Evans, Big Rudy,* you know, down low. You know, it’s just great having those weapons around me. And it’s just my job to continue to, you know, try to find ways to, you know, get them balls in comfortable positions.

* No more Big Al and Big Turkey is out of commission…so it’s all about Big Rudy now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    July 8, 2013 3:44 pm

    Ty using his Alec Voodoo doll so he doesn’t have to play him any more than necessary.

    No to Big Rudy, yes to Mont Block.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

