Skip to content

Getting to know Trey Burke, Rudy Gobert, and Raul Neto a little more

July 1, 2013

Unless otherwise specified, questions were asked by David Locke.

630 burke
** When did you get the basketball jones? I started playing around 4 or 5, but when I was like, when I started getting, like, addicted to the game, I’d say around 9 or 10.
** Do you have brothers and sisters? Yeah, I have a older brother, a older sister, and a younger sister.

Will the Jazz be re-signing DeMarre Carroll? (H/T @JazzmanJoey; via @KCCO_SLC):

burke jersey number

** Has Trey done laundry? Can he cook? Trey’s dad: No. He needs help, but we will have some support here off and on, but we still want to let him grow. But I will be here starting out for the transition off and on, and Mom will be coming in and out. So we will have some family members here as well.

630 gobert
** Where did you grow up? I grew up in north of France, in Saint-Quentin, north of Paris. And, I mean, I just left to Cholet, like, 15 years old.
** Basketball journey: Start basketball at 11…At 13, 14 years old, I left my family. I mean, I was only coming back on the weekends…It was tough, [but] I want to go to the NBA, I want to make sacrifice, and it was my dream, because I love basketball…Cholet was a great [basketball youth academy], because it put some players in the NBA like Mickael Gelabale, Kevin Seraphin [and] Rodrigue Beaubois, you know, and so, we came, I came to Cholet and the guy was liking me…so I just come at 15 years old,* and after this, Cholet was pretty far from my home, and we just could, I couldn’t go back home, just go back for, like vacations. It’s like one every two months. Christmas, vacations, and practicing everyday, and school, so…And at 18 years old, yeah, I start to play professional.
* UDQM (H/T @edwin_nba)
** Do you know the difference between rural vs. urban? What was it like where you lived? It was just a normal city, you know? Not big, not small. But I think Utah is better. Utah is better than [where] I’m from. Not better than Paris, but…
** On his hook shot: If people try to block it, probably it’s gonna be goaltending.

unguardable

** Did you start playing basketball because you liked it or because you were tall? I mean, I did many sports before. And I tried basketball, and I really liked it.
** Did your parents play basketball? Yeah, my dad played basketball. Played in Marist College in NCAA…and after he played professional in France.
** Do you have brothers and sisters? Yeah, I got one half-brother and one half-sister. But we don’t have the same dad…My mom is white and my dad is black.
** On his mom being with him at the draft: She was very, she was happy. She was very happy for me because she know, like I said, all the sacrifice I do, and she was really happy to see me realize my dream.
** Have you talked to your dad since the draft? Yeah, yeah of course. What was his reaction? The same. Same. You know, everyone’s really happy because it was, he wanted to get draft too but he had to do military, so he couldn’t do draft, France. So it was why I wanted to get draft too, because he couldn’t get draft, so I want to get draft.
** You’re French, so that means you like your clothes and you like fashion, ’cause that’s just guaranteed. Uh…yeah, I mean, I start to like it, yeah. In France, I was just, you know, the school sportswear…I’m not like crazy, crazy guy, but I like to be classy for the dress code for the games.

630 neto
** Where did you grow up? I grew up in Brazil, and now I live in Spain for two years. I play there right now…I grew up in a big city, and Belo Horizonte is the name. It’s in the center, it’s like five hours from Rio by car. So it’s a nice city.
** I want to go to South America to go skiing. Are you close to the mountains? Not in Brazil.
** I’m assuming you’ve never been–how much have you been to the United States? A lot. I have been New York, Los Angeles, Washington [and also San Antonio]. But never in Utah.
** Does the NBA seem like a lot to you? I want to get ready to play in NBA the earlier I can, so it’s my dream to play in the NBA. And I think I will be here one day.
** What’s your thought about a reporter tweeting out today that you are better than Trey Burke? I cannot say nothing about that. (laughs)
** How old were you when you moved to Spain? I was 19 years old…I didn’t went to the college. I just finished high school and I stopped with the school.

raul ty pantsPhoto via @RaulTogni

** I don’t know if this is a universal phrase but there’s something called the “basketball jones.” Have you ever heard of that? No. In America, it’s where you kinda ha–it’s where you have to have the ball all the time and you’re just always playing and you just have it. Like, there’s just guys that have it. Right? Guys or girls. How old were you when you just first had to be playing all the time? I think when I start to walk. Because my dad played basketball and I always had basketball balls in my home. So I started to play basketball, went to have, that dream to play in the NBA, when I was like five years old. But I start to practice when I was eight years old. And then I was everyday, all the day, playing basketball.
** Nobody listening, I’m sure, has ever seen you play. What’s your game like? I will be a point guard…Play for the team, assists and play pick and roll well. And have to improve my shot, my defense too. And that’s it.
** How many brothers and sisters do you have? I have two brothers, one younger than me and other one older…My younger brother is in Lexington [in Missouri]. He’s studying there. And my mother in Brazil with my older brother.
** You were in New York. Were you positive you were going to be drafted? Yeah, I was positive. But…I was a little bit surprised. So I was very happy and very excited yesterday.
** What will you do with your Jazz draft cap? I will give to my dad. I think my mom is gonna put in my bedroom. So, it’ll be home.
** You left home at 18 and moved half a world away, but do you have any concerns about living and playing in the United States? I want to be here. I want to be in the NBA, in the Utah Jazz. But if the better for me now, it’s going back to Spain and keep playing in Spain to improve more, I will be, I will do that. (1280)

Let me quote the awesome Gregg Popovich:

“These guys, they travel around the world,” Popovich said of international players such as [Ricky] Rubio, Manu Ginobili and Tony Parker. “They’re more cultured than we are. Everyone acts like Americans are the ones…we have sort of an arrogance about us. Like we’re the cultured ones? Are you serious?

“Have you watched TV lately? Have you seen what Americans do? How many languages do you speak? And you wonder how they’re going to adjust to our culture? I hope they avoid it and keep their own!”

A Series of Unintentional Dirty Quote Machine (UDQM) Events
** Locke to Gobert, on being asked about his height: Do you get it all day, everyday?
Gobert: Yeah. Especially the airport. Yeah, of course.
Locke: And does it, is it hard? Is that hard?
Gobert: It’s not hard. I mean, it’s part of, just gotta be cool with people. And so, yeah, it’s not hard, no.

** Locke to Burke: Sitting next to you, you’re not very big.
Burke: Nah.
Locke: You worried about that? This league is brutal.
Burke: No, not at all. You know, I’m not worried about it at all. And a lot of people axe me about it. You look at Chris Paul, he’s not big. You look at Tony Parker, he’s not very big.

** Locke to Burke’s parents: Really nice to meet you. I look forward to spending some time with you. I look forward to taking you skiing. I’m serious. Mom, you coming? Oh come on, Mom! You’re coming, aren’t you? Possibly? ‘K.

From KALL and 1320 Interviews
** People calling Enes Kanter “Eenis”: Trey Burke
** Burke on what will be his first big purchase: I would say making sure I have a, you know, a nice truck. You know, when it does start snowing, that will probably be, you know, the most important purchase for me.
** Burke on whether he expected to be taken by the Pistons with the eighth pick: Yeah, I was expecting it. I was expecting it, but they went a different route. I think, you know, they needed a shooting guard, and you know, once they didn’t choose me, I didn’t know, you know, I was very uncertain after that. I didn’t know where I would slip to, who would choose me. You know, but fortunately, I was drafted the next pick and then traded to Utah, so it all worked out.
** Burke, sharing about himself: I love shopping. I love going to movies. You know, I’m a video gamer. You know, I like to enjoy myself a lot…I like bowling as well. Besides that, my parents have been together for about 15 years. You know, I have a strong support system, strong family who’s been supporting me from Day 1. You know, and I have a lot of confidence in myself, so I think, you know, hopefully the fans accept me, and I think I’ll be a good fit for the Jazz.
** Neto, on what he likes to do in his spare time: I like to be home with my friends playing video games. Watching movies. Know the, see the city where I was. And that’s what I do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    July 1, 2013 5:06 pm

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! They gave the rook the Junkyard Dog’s number… I’d be pretty pissed if I was DMC. Unless the Jazz bid higher than everyone else, I think that slight will wipe out any loyalty he had to the Jazz.

  2. modernagejazz permalink
    July 2, 2013 11:47 am

    Lol, Pop is the best. Even though that’s clearly an exaggeration.

    Locke just can’t do it right. Are you kidding me, of course I have watched Raulzinho play. The shocker is that sometimes I listen to his BS.

    BTW, Raulzinho sounds very sober about what he needs to work on. His development was bizarre. He was selected to the national team at 17 (if I remember correctly) even though there were better players ahead of him. He played just garbage time and clearly had the athleticism and handling, but lacked the shot and overal understanding. He came a long way, he might just have what it takes.

    • July 2, 2013 3:12 pm

      I’d been hoping you’d have something to share about Neto. So glad you did :)

      What you related sounds a bit like Karasev. Named to the Russian national team for the Olympics at 18, only got garbage time, had the natural abilities but maybe not the bball knowledge.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

