Skip to content

Bits from Trey Burke, Rudy Gobert and Raul Neto Introductory Press Conference (6/28)

June 30, 2013

selfie(H/T @Peter_J_Novak; photo via @jarommoore)

First statements

Trey Burke: First and foremost, I just want to thank the Miller family for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this family, you know, as well as coach Corbin and his staff.

You know, I’m thrilled to, first of all, have the opportunity to play in the NBA. It’s been a dream of mine, you know, my whole life, and you know, hearing my name called last night, and then hearing I got traded five minutes later, you know, I quickly realized that it, that this really is a business.

And I’m glad that I’m here. I’m definitely glad I’m here. I’m glad that I have the opportunity to play with the guys that’s already here, as well as Raul and Rudy. So thank you. Thanks for the opportunity.

Rudy Gobert: It’s kind of the same. I mean, I’m very proud to be here and very happy to be a part of the Jazz family.

And I’m going to work hard and help the team to win. And I was also very happy when I hear, like, we got Trey and Raul, ’cause good point guards and good pass, good luck for me, so.

Raul Neto: I just want to say, thanks for the Utah Jazz to give me this opportunity. And I will do my best to prove that I can play in the NBA. I will keep practice hard everyday, and I want to say thank you to my dad to be with me here, to my family, to all my friends who was in Brazil watching me, and I’m so happy to be here.

On Raul Neto

Dennis Lindsey: Raul is someone that Tiago Splitter, who we had the good fortune to draft in San Antonio a few years back, he always said, “Watch Raul. He’s really good.”

Trey, what do you see your role being here?

Trey Burke: Well, I think what’s gonna be expected is for me to come right in and show my leadership abilities. You know, bringing a winning mentality and also making plays for a team.

I think that’s a natural strength of mine’s, is, you know, playmaker and you know, with the guys that’s surrounded around me, I’m sure I’ll be able to make plays, you know, for them and for myself, so you know, whatever it takes for this team to win, I’m willing to do.

What would be your role if you don’t get to start?

Trey Burke: Well, I think it’d be a process. You know, I haven’t came off the bench probably since my freshman year of high school. So if I am to come off the bench, then, you know, I have to accept that. You know, try my hardest to get into the starting lineup each and every day in practice.

But I’ll still be a leader, you know, from the bench when I’m not in the game. And I’m still gonna try to encourage the guys that’s on the court and just do my best to, you know, show my leadership skills. I know that’s, you know, one of my jobs, ‘specially being a point guard.

How will you adjust or develop the offense from here on out with the addition of a pick and roll point guard?

Tyrone Corbin: Well, much of the same. We’ll change some things.

And one of the things that we all have to be careful of, guys, is, gon be extremely high amount of pressure on young guys to come in and develop. And you can’t speed that pross* up any more than the process speeds itself up.

So we’ll get into camp. We’ll look at what’s best for the team, and what’s best for the guys. And Trey’s a point guard that can play a lot of pick and roll. And in the last couple of years, we haven’t run as many pick and rolls, but it is an area that we, we’ll address with him.

But we have to give him time to get comfortable. We have to see how he pick things up. We expect him to pick ‘em up fast after watching his career up to this point. We think he is a quick learner.

But the competition is different. He’s gonna have a lot of stuff, all these guys are going to have a lot of things thrown at them, and you guys are gonna put more pressure on ‘em, to speed the process up and why he’s not playing, why he’s not starting.** Whatever that thing is.

And a kid have to continue to work. So as excited as we are to have him, we know the work that it’s gonna take to get him up to where we want to be, and that’s a process. And he’ll come in, they’ll come in and work…So we’ll change things as we can change things to make ‘em better for them and our team.
* Not a typo.
** From this past season of Ty’s interaction with the media, I’d say that Ty would feel the pressure more than the guys would.

trey all star

clown pants(Caption brought to you by @mac_jazz; photo via @ScottyG1280)

Trey, have you had any contact with any current Jazz players?

Trey Burke: No, I haven’t. Jamaal Tinsley reached out to me yesterday on Twitter, and that was about it.

Do you know any current Jazz players?

Unfortunately, no.

Do the Jazz have a young core in place that you can build around?

Dennis Lindsey: I think so. I think we have the beginnings of a foundation, but as you guys know, and as Ty alluded to, we can’t skip any steps.

And so, I can imagine that we’ll add some veteran leadership. We certainly have several free agents that we have Bird rights to, and we’ll hit those guys at the appropriate time.

Ty, which position do you most need veteran leadership at?

Tyrone Corbin: Well, I think it’s important to have a chance to have guys grow, the right guys, with a young group of guys. And position doesn’t mean as much as people, in this situation, and this level of play. I think you can get it from different positions on the floor.

But the main thing for us is, the fit has to be right for where we are within our development now. And this group of guys is gonna be special for us. We have, you know, a few guys has had three year–two and a half and three years–of experience with us so we can grow with those guys as we integrate new young guys and then a couple of veteran guys in the middle of that.

What were the past 24 hours and flight to Salt Lake City like?

Raul Neto: I mean, for me, it was a crazy night last night, because I get drafted by Atlanta Hawks, and they trade me, and I didn’t know, I don’t know my future yet ’cause I don’t know if I would stay here. I don’t know nothing. And I’m just, I just want to live the moment, to enjoy, and that’s it.

Trey Burke: I would say the same with me. You know, going to Minnesota first and getting traded to Utah, and then, you know, get on a plane this morning, and you know, being here that quick. You know, things has been moving fast for me, and I’m sure for all of us. So, but that’s a part of the business, and I’m looking forward to getting started.

Rudy Gobert: Say the same, you know. It was like, yesterday, it was crazy. But I’m very happy to be here though, and ready to start the work.

locke udqm

Trey, Ty said last night he will give you a nickname because it’s too confusing for him with Alec Burks on the team. Do you have one already?

Trey Burke: Uh, have one for me? I don’t know. Just TB?

Will Karl Malone work with Rudy Gobert?

Dennis Lindsey: You can ask Ty that. You guys, yeah…That’s really, you know, that’s Ty’s question to answer, not mine.

Tyrone Corbin: He will touch all of the big guys at some point together. And individual, as Derrick [Favors] has been kinda one-on-one for the last week with him…

It’s been really, really interesting to watch Derrick’s game grow in that short amount of time, just spending that much time with Karl. We look forward to it continuing with all our bigs.

Just think how much further along Favors could be if the powers that be had been able to set aside their personal issues and Karl could’ve started working with him last summer. At the same time, thank the basketball gods that Favors went and asked for a big man coach.

Raul, will you be playing in the NBA this coming season?

Raul Neto: My dream is play in the NBA, but I cannot, like, come here, and–I have to wait. I have to wait their decision, my agent decision, there’s not my own decision. So I don’t know yet. It’s my dream, play in the NBA. I try be ready to play in the NBA every day. And I have to wait.

Dennis Lindsey: It’s open-ended…We’re going to have to get through free agency. You know, we have to get contractual information from Raul’s agent. But again, we’re gonna be fully invested in his career, whether we bring him [over] this season or some time in the future, so. (KALL, Utah Jazz)

Other notes
** People calling Raul Neto “Raul Lopez”: Dennis Lindsey.
** Burke’s parents and Neto’s father attended the press conference.

neto dad

** More UDQM (H/T @not_TYCORBIN):

tribjazz udqm

** The good: Rudy Gobert won the press conference with this jacket. The bad: The comments on this Utah Jazz Instagram make one weep for humanity.

rudy instagram

One Comment leave one →
  1. BC7 permalink
    July 1, 2013 3:16 am

    Cracks me up that in the first pic (“girl selfie”), Ty has his tongue out.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

