Skip to content

Utah Jazz Draft Workout Recap, 6/18

June 19, 2013
tags: , ,

No audio or video posted for 6 of 8 prospects that worked out, including BJ Porter, Elijah Johnson, Trent Lockett, Colt Ryan, Durand Scott and James Southerland.

mcw

Michael Carter-Williams
** Altitude reference: yes.
** Fifth workout. Has worked out for Phoenix, New Orleans, Dallas and Sacramento. Has Orlando and Detroit left.
** What can you bring to an NBA team? I think I can bring a positive attitude, first of all, you know, on and off the court. You know, it’s always nice to have, you know, a guy in the locker room that, you know, gets along with everybody. And I think for on the court, you know, I think I bring positive energy, leadership. You know, I think I’m able to, you know, make other players better.
** Would you want to play here? I definitely would want to play here. You know, I think I’d be a good spot for me to come in and play right away and you know, really, you know, chase some of my dreams as a rookie player. You know, I think I could, you know, establish myself as a leader on the team, and you know, it wouldn’t be a, I wouldn’t have the pressure [of that] ’cause they don’t have too many veterans, you know what I mean? So you know, I think that, you know, Utah would be a great place for me.
** Are you a vocal leader or a show-by-example leader? I think I’m a little bit of both. You know, I think that, you know, I play hard every time I step on the floor. So you know, that kind of, people feed off that, and you know, I think I’m definitely a vocal leader. I like to get the guys going, and you know, correct them if they’re wrong, or you know, give them encouragement.

goodwin

Archie Goodwin
** 14th workout in 16 days. “it’s been a grind for me, so you know, but it’s not a problem for me ’cause I love to do this.”
** Where are you most NBA-ready? My attacking style. Being competitive, and my athleticism. I feel like my athleticism really gonna help me, and you know, once I continue to get stronger, continue to improve my shot, continue to, you know, grow and mature, then a lot of other things will fall into place for me.
** What is your impression of the Utah Jazz? I think it’s a good organization. Obviously, you know, they had some battles in the, you know, with Michael Jordan and they have probably the greatest point guard of all time come through here. One of the greatest coaches in Jerry Sloan, so it’s a lot of history behind, you know, the people that’s here. And you know, just to be a part of this organization would really be a helping and a blessing for me.
** Beating Tyrone Corbin: I talked to the head coach a little. I just beat him in a shooting game too. So y’all, make sure y’all tell everybody I beat him in a shooting game.

Other Notes
** The Jazz have worked out many, many more prospects this year than any other year in the past, including 2011 when they had two lottery picks. Walt Perrin attributed this to Dennis Lindsey. Has Kevin O’Connor been jackpotting around all these years?
** Perrin also said that he’s talked with Trey Burke’s people, but doubts the Jazz will get him in because his people are limiting his workouts.
** Another workout tomorrow. (KALL)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    June 19, 2013 12:47 pm

    Much thanks for the recaps!

  2. Griffin permalink
    June 19, 2013 1:58 pm

    Tyrone Corbin lost in a shooting contest? I guess he’ll just need to continue to improve and get better.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

