Skip to content

Utah Jazz Draft Workout Recap, 6/7

June 13, 2013
tags: , ,

Note: Richard Howell and Kenny Kadji were also supposedly part of this workout.

adams

Steven Adams
** How do you see yourself fitting in on a team with a few young bigs already? Just whatever the coaches ask for eh, ’cause I feel like I’m versatile, so whatever he wants me to do, I’ll do it. So, yeah…I think I would fit in anywhere, to be honest with you. Not being cocky or anything, just that I don’t care if they’re old or young. But yeah, it’s all good.
** Where do you expect to be drafted? I don’t know. They just said first round, so that’s what I’m aiming for.
** Where are you most NBA-ready? I think running and setting screens, as well as defending and stuff like that. Yeah. That’s where I think I’m most ready, but yeah, all the other stuff will come around. But I feel like as a big man, it’s good to just get all your defense, rebounding, blocked shots, screening, running on lockdown first so that’s your foundation. Then you can work on everything else.
** What do you need to work on the most? Probably low-post. Kinda everything, like everything, but everyone says that. So mostly the one that needs improvement is getting open for my shots, just creating separation and stuff.
** Tell us about your family with the 18 kids. We all have same dad, just different mums. And I’ve only met 15 of ‘em. So I don’t know where the other three are…It’s normal for me, ’cause I didn’t grow up any other way.
** Six of you played for New Zealand’s national team? Um, two… [counting] Yeah, I think so. Six…just the six.
** Fifth workout. Been to Boston, Dallas, Oklahoma City and Philadelphia.
** NBA comparison? I’ve been told, kinda Serge Ibaka. But’s that’s only kind of, you know what I mean? He’s really good. So I don’t play exactly like him, but that’s what I’ve been told.

cooley

Jack Cooley
** What do you bring to an NBA team? I mean, I think foremost is rebounding and hustle. Intensity. I mean, I’m always going to go out there and give it 110 percent. And I’ve been working on my shooting quite a bit and I think it’s a lot better than people think it is right now. And I’m just trying to go out there and show that, and just bring little things. Help teams win, really.
** Fifth workout. Been to LAL, Brooklyn, Houston and Milwaukee.
** Greatest strength? I think in rebounding, probably. Probably rebounding and my physicality, really, is up there with the best of ‘em. I mean, I personally believe I’m one of the best rebounders in this class, and I just want to go out there and show it.

schroeder

Dennis Schroeder
** Seventh workout. Been to Houston, Milwaukee (two days), Boston, Dallas and Philadelphia. “Tomorrow I go home to Germany. So, very excited about it.”
** European basketball vs. NBA basketball: In Europe, you play, like, set plays all the time. And in the NBA, you play transition. So I think the NBA fit me better than in the, in Europe, so.
** Is Utah a desired destination for you given its lack of point guards? I think it’s a great situation for point guard, so when they draft me, it’s a very good situation, so we can play right away, I think, so.
** What do you bring to the NBA? I think the first thing is defense. After defense, try to lead the team. Try to bring everybody together. And yeah, try to win games.
** Have you studied NBA history? Do you know Deron Williams and John Stockton played here? Not really. But I watch Deron Williams play here. So, but John Stockton, not really.
** Are you able to watch NBA games in Germany? I watch every game, so, every night I watch NBA. I watch it on the stream, in the Internet. So, follow every time. Do you watch Jazz games? Little bit late. So it’s every time, like, 4 o’clock in the morning.
No follow-up question on which illegal streaming sites he prefers.
** Who do you model your game after? Rajon Rondo.
** How do you pronounce your last name? Schroeder. So, it’s very difficult for you, so…I never heard a guy from America who pronounce it very well, so. It’s Schroeder, so…That is my problem. “Schroeder.”* I got a nicksname.
* Pronounces it with long “o” in American way.
** Is Dirk Nowitzki Germany’s god of basketball? Yeah, for sure. Everybody talk about him. Everybody likes him, because he respect everybody. Talk to everybody nice, and yeah, I met him in Dallas too. And we talk very long, so. Is Chris Kaman second on that list? Yeah, but he not German. (laughs) So I think, yeah, but.
No follow-up question on whether David Hasselhoff is Germany’s god of singers.
** Was “discovered” at the age of 11 by a coach in a park while he was taking a break from skateboarding by playing basketball. Has played two years of professional ball in Germany’s first league. Began learning English in fourth grade.
** What do you need to improve on? I think I have to improve on the finishes for sure, because it’s like 7-foot guys over there, like Ibaka. They blocking shots, so I have to go into contact and try to finish strong.

siva

Alternate Siva pic inspired by @da_breezman.

Peyton Siva
** On the altitude: You don’t notice it at first, but your mouth starts getting real dry.
** What do you bring to an NBA team? I think the biggest thing I can bring is probably my leadership, and you know, my playmaking abilities. I love getting everybody involved. I love getting everybody open shots, and I think playing in the NBA, it’ll be a lot more space off the pick and roll, and that’s one of my strong suits. So I think that’ll be one of my things I can bring to a team.
** One word to describe your NBA skillset? Playmaker.
** Fifth workout. Been to Boston, Philadelphia, Detroit, and Washington; has several more scheduled, including Sacramento.
** What’s something people should know about you? I’m a great all-around person. And I have a strong faith in God…Definitely a people person. I’m a leader…I love bowling. I love watching movies.
** On workout with the Jazz: Utah had a, the “Utah 100″ [at the end of its workout]. You shoot a hundred threes at the end, and, so you find out if you can really shoot because you’re dead tired. How many did you hit? Today I shot the highest out of everybody. I think I shot around, like, 65.


** Jazz VP of Player Personnel Walt Perrin: We try to get winners. We don’t really want to bring in guys who are, you know, 5-28, ’cause they don’t know how to win. Winners are very important to us. (KALL; Utah Jazz)

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

