Skip to content

Bits from Randy Rigby Interview, 6/5

June 10, 2013
tags: ,

rigby 605

Breaking news: Randy Rigby is now brought to you by Burt Brothers Tires. I hope Les Olsen is prepared to be trashed on 1280 from now on.

On Jerry Sloan
We’re having conversations. And it’ll be forthcoming, you know, on any announcements that can be d–but right now, it’s premature.

Veteran point guard to lead the young guys, or young point guard to grow with them?
I think, those are decisions also, I’m gonna say that, I’m glad that we’ve got great minds like Kevin and Dennis, that are going to make those final decisions.

But as I hear conversations going, one of the advantages that I think that we’ll have is, is that definitely we want to continue to build a young core. We’ve got a number of players that are 21, 22 years old; 20 years old. And I think we’re looking at adding some more players in those ranges that can kind of grow up together and build this so that you can ha–hopefully build a championship-caliber team that can be growing and competing for a 10-year period of time. Much like we’re seeing San Antonio have been able to do.

The same time, I think there’s an advantage to take advantage of free agency as well, and maybe you look at an older player that can also come in, who can be a little more of a seasoned person, who can also make sure that those y–even though the young guys may be learning a lot, he can also mentor the young point guard, as well as make sure that the young big guys are getting the ball where they need to get it, to help them in their development as well.

So I think you’ll see maybe a combination of things going on from our basketball operations to make sure that we get the right kind of perso–team, that can complement and lift this team, and help us grow as fast as possible.

Thank the Millers for Taylor Swift
We just recently had a successful concert over here, with Taylor Swift. I actually went to it. I was one of the few 50-year-olds that was there at the event.

But the one thing that hit me, as I sat in there, that it kind of warmed my heart about the Utah Jazz. And I, as I realized and saw, here’s 20, well, there was about 16,000 people there, sold out immediately

Without the Utah Jazz and the commitment the Millers have made to really bring this facility here, and have it here primarily for basketball, but without them this facility here, Taylor Swift’s concert would not be coming through here in a smaller venue.

It takes a major NBA city to be able to deliver those kind of NBA and top quality talent, and I thought this is a, a really kind of a, it was kind of warming to me to think something totally different from sports that these people are being able to enjoy…and it was a remarkable concert.

On Justin Bieber’s outfit at Game 7 of the Heat-Pacers series
Gordon Monson: What kind of person wears sunglasses indoors?
Spencer Checketts: The Biebs, Randy. The Biebs can get away with that.
Rigby: You gotta be a successful music guy. Or Antoine Carr.* (1280)

* More breaking news: Antoine Carr is on his way to Salt Lake City with a baseball bat for that comparison.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    June 10, 2013 8:52 pm

    Does Randy have any idea what he’s saying when he speaks? Because it always comes across as gibberish. How he landed that job in a mystery to me.

  2. Alec permalink
    June 11, 2013 10:29 pm

    I feel the same when i listen to Corbin, who also seems to be some kind of impostor.

  3. Idaho! permalink
    June 12, 2013 3:12 am

    Why can’t we fire idiots like Randy Rigby. It sounds like he’s barely graduated preschool. Who taught him to talk in partially completed thoughts? He starts saying something and changes and revises what he originally began saying. What is his job description? Why is he aloud to open that idiotic mouth and speak for an NBA team? I HATE how he skirts around questions, never giving you what you wanted to know. The whole front office as well as Corbin aren’t much better… Last night I was watching Root Sports and the Rockies take you into their “WAR ROOM” Showing the fans what WE WANT TO SEE AND KNOW! Why in the hell do the Jazz hate their fans and not keep us updated? Why in the HELL did Randy Rigby talk about Taylor Swift at all? Because he didn’t want to answer S#!T!

  4. Idaho Falls permalink
    June 12, 2013 6:23 am

    Thanks for deleting my post. The Jazz brass don’t care about us as fans. That’s the gist of it. Not answering questions and bumbling chatter when we ask them is losing brownie points! I HATE KOC, RR, AND CORBIN! They STONEWALL US!

    • June 12, 2013 8:44 am

      Actually because you posted under a different version of your name it required approval which is why it didn’t show up. I approved it just now. (I can’t tell if you wanted it deleted or not. If you do, reply here and I’ll comply.)

      • Idaho Falls permalink
        June 14, 2013 12:44 am

        Sorry I am a different person than the first poster. Call me Idaho Falls2! :)

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

