Skip to content

Mockup: Utah Jazz Mardi Gras Uniforms

April 28, 2013
tags: ,

mardi gras

Our current uniforms are infinitely better than their personality-free navy and baby blue predecessors, but I really like the way these turned out.

Home / primary and possible alternate:

home

Road / primary and alternate:

road

What do y’all think, would you buy/wear any of these?

P.S. I believe this is still our primary logo (someone correct me if I’m wrong). This mess of colors makes a pretty convincing argument an update is in order.

jazz primary logo

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2013 9:17 pm

    Ive always sort of semi hated this set of unis. The green just doesnt work. Period. Its a bad green. The blue home uni is ok…..barely. The logo is cheesy. But i think 2/3rds of NBA unis are bad. Spurs are great, Heat road unis are great, Bulls are great….celtics are just iconic. Kings are hideous…which is fitting in a way. But if you go back…..like the bob lanier era Piston unis are far better than today’s version. Portland has good unis. Both road and home. Clippers are close to kings for awfulness. They look like some Masonic Lodge team unis. The new Wizards, though some people hate them, do sort of work. I mean the Cavs went back to the wine and gold….and it works. Its not the prettiest uniform, but it works. So..yeah, update the Jazz. They need to include something that says Utah…..the name Jazz is insane, but its part of history now…but the club might think to mix in something resonant of the area. But over all, uniforms in all sports are sort of being ruined. The new NIke NFL uniforms are beyond terrible. And they all look alike…they look like NIKE.

    • April 28, 2013 11:03 pm

      It’s hard to beat the classics…plus the new uniforms tend to have way too many colors.

  2. April 28, 2013 9:17 pm

    i guess the logo does include a mountain. SOmehow it doesnt register when you look at it.

  3. April 28, 2013 9:19 pm

    sorry, i said home blue, i meant purple. I agree they are far better than the previous uniforms though,.

  4. April 29, 2013 1:43 am

    Our current uniforms are the sickest we’ve ever had, in my opinion. Love the navy blue. Love the dark green. ESPN was ranking the best jerseys in all sports and this era’s Jazz jerseys were in the top 10.

  5. April 29, 2013 5:39 am

    I am a huge fan of our current uniforms.

    As for these mock-ups, though, I like them. And that’s impressive. I always hated the old purple and gold uniforms from classic days. I didn’t like the shade of purple (which was almost, but not quite, blue), and I really disliked the bland all-gold logo.

    But the way you use the white logo with gold and green in the ball, that looks nice.

    The only ones I don’t like out of all these are the gold unis. I would not want them at all.

    And I still can’t believe the mountain is our team’s official logo. But our team is cheap, and it would cost money to change the official logo back to the note that it ought to be.

    • April 29, 2013 8:17 am

      I was looking through some notes from around the time of the logo change.

      Every source/article/report cited the NBA fine the team would have to pay as the reason why the Jazz didn’t make the J-note their primary logo.

      Everyone, that is, except Randy Rigby, who was quoted as saying they kept the mountain as their primary logo because branding experts had recommended it, even though the mountain logo would be minimally used going forward.

  6. Jeremy permalink
    April 30, 2013 3:06 am

    I loved our blue/light blue uniforms! The current ones are just fine as well.

  7. May 2, 2013 10:11 am

    I loved the powder blue alternate as well that Dwill and Booz wore. I like the current jerseys but I think we could fit these new creations as well. I never was a fan of wearing purple though and dont want to have the color back. I was always feeling awkward with purple as the primary. I love to now say that I hate purple and gold because everyone knows its the lakers. I dont want anything like them but having said that I like the yellow jersey because we havent had anything like that in decades.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

