Skip to content

Locker Room Cleanout, Part 1 (Carroll, Marvin, Foye, and Murphy)

April 19, 2013

dmc

DeMarre Carroll
** On being a benched free agent at the end of the season: GMs understand what I do, you know, what I bring to the table. You know, championship-caliber teams, you always have those type of guys. You know, you can look at, go on down the line. Miami, you got guys like Shane Battier. Memphis, you got guys like Tony Allen. Oklahoma City, [Thabo] Sefolosha. I can keep going down the line, but you know, what I bring to the table, you got, championship teams, you know, need that, and I feel like a lot of teams understand what I bring. You know, every time I step on the court, even if I don’t play, I have all the opponent coaches coming to me, telling me how they, you know, how hard I play and how they appreciate me and keep doing what I do.
** Would you give the Jazz a hometown discount since they gave you a chance? Man, you know, only time will tell. I let my agent take care of that…I don’t want to sit here and say it’s about the money, but whatever my agent has planned, that’s what he get paid for.
** On the Jazz giving him a chance: Without Kevin O’Connor and Richard [Smith], you know, I wouldn’t even be here. They flew all the way to L.A. to watch me play, you know, stayed in contact with me and they stayed in contact with my agent, and gave me a shot. You know, Kevin O’Connor, that type of guy, he has a nose for finding, you know, diamonds in the sand, and I think, you know, his background speaks for itself.
** On why he’s a fan favorite: My fans just appreciate everything I do. You know, I’m blessed to have fans like Jazz Nation. You know, when I get out there and I leave all my heart on the floor and 110 percent, I think they realize that and they understand. If you just go out there and play as hard as you can for Jazz Nation, they gon love you…This is my home, and Imma be a, Imma try to be a Jazz until they don’t want me no more.
** Offseason goals: I really want to get a lot of film on Bruce Bowen and I actually want to be, my mid-range shot is always good…I really want to be a corner knockdown three. Not necessarily top of the key or you know, on the, I really just want to be straight corner and knockdown defender. And if I keep the energy I got, I think I can probably be better than Bruce Bowen.

marvin

Marvin Williams
** On becoming more consistent: It’s been something that I’ve been fighting with, I think, for the last few years of my career, you know? Just becoming more consistent, ’cause as you say, you know, there were nights where, you know, I’d have great nights and there were some nights where I’d, you know, literally be nonexistent on the offensive end. So you know, it’ll be something I continue to work with in the summertime, you know, I’ll work with the coaching staff, and you know, I will get better, man. I will be better next year for sure.
** What pieces are the Jazz missing? Well, I think we have the pieces here right now. You know, obviously, like I said, we let a few games go that we probably should’ve won this year, but I feel like we’re more than capable of being, you know, a top four, top five team in the Western Conference for sure. We have tremendous inside players; we got some really good perimeter players; and we got a good coaching staff. So I feel like, you know, the pieces that we have together here right now are good enough for sure.
** On his first season with the Jazz: This has been, honestly, man, maybe statistically not my best year, but it was probably my most fun year that I’ve had in a long time. Obviously, it was my first time with a new team, but I couldn’t have axed for a better situation to come to. I came to an organization that’s, you know, family-like, and I’m more of a family-oriented guy. So the city was great, man, the fans were great, and I’m just thankful to be a member of the Utah Jazz.
** On his player option: I haven’t decided. I’ll sit down and talk to my parents about it. You know, maybe in a few weeks or so. Talk to my agent about it, but you know, I love playing here, man. Coach Corbin was great. His coaching staff was great. You know, this organization was really great. So, you know, I would like to be back here for sure.

foye

Randy Foye
** On whether he agrees with Tyrone Corbin saying free agency negatively impacted the team: No, not really. I don’t know what guys had going on, you know, personally, but I didn’t really feel as though, no one was being selfish or you know, thinking about their future, at all. I just felt as though, you know, it was some ups and downs. We fought through ‘em, but at the end of the day, we just didn’t get the job done at the end…We knew we were much better team than that, and we knew that we supposed to be there.
** On why he’d like to stay with the Jazz: It’s just a good fit for me. It’s a good fit for me, a good fit for my family. I just love, you know, how everything is done here. You know, me and K.O.*, we talked, we never talked about the future, but you know, when I first signed here, the plan was not to sign for one year. The plan was to sign, you know, for three years. But you know, with the situation with Raja Bell, it just couldn’t happen. And you know, I understood. So you know, I took a chance, you know, playing one year, playing my butt off, and you know, it worked out for me.
* People calling Kevin O’Connor “K.O.”: Randy Foye

koc lie

** On Tyrone Corbin: He’s good, man. I like him a lot. You know, me and him had an unbelievable relationship. I think he respected me so much because, just my hard work and toughness, and you know, never giving in no matter what the circumstances was…And, but I think he did a great job. I think that he understood, you know, it was tough on, it was a little tough on him because all the free agents. You know, no one really wasn’t locked in. And so, it was tough, you know? And I think that you know, he did a great job in that situation, of just managing guys and just trying to make everything work for the better.

murphy

Kevin Murphy
** First NBA season: I felt pretty good, you know? First year, you know, most guys can’t say they complete a year in the NBA, so I feel, like, very accomplished, but I’m not satisfied right now. So you just gotta keep working, you know what I mean? … I already knew coming in that I wasn’t gon be, like, you know what I’m saying, one of the main guys playing. I just hoped that I work myself up to that way in. And I didn’t, so, not saying it was anything I did, it was just we had some vets and stuff in front of me. So I think I just gonna go home this summer, just work hard, and try to get the minutes.
** Offseason goals: My strength, just getting stronger.
** Thoughts on organization: It’s a great organization for me…I mean, I haven’t played for nobody else, but I do think this is one of the top organizations in the league.

(KALL,1280,Utah Jazz)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    April 19, 2013 1:31 pm

    Marv wins best t-shirt award.

  2. Brent E permalink
    April 19, 2013 8:19 pm

    Definitely one of the toughest parts of this year was that so many of players seem likeable off the court, but aren’t the best fits with the team. Marvin and Foye both seem like very nice people, though I can’t say I’d be super excited about either coming back next year (and Marvin’s probably a lock).

    Demarre was less bitter than I thought he’d sound about the Jazz, and that’s a good thing. He’s the one free agent I’d most like to see resigned. I don’t know if Murphy can contribute on this level and I’m not sure if that’s his fault, mine, or the fault of the Jazz..

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

