Skip to content

Game 82 Jazz at Grizzlies: The party’s over

April 18, 2013

Game 82. Season on the line. Playoff hopes live or die here. A study of Tyrone Corbin’s emotional roller coaster on the sideline, presented in chronological order:

1ty

2ty

3ty

5ty

6ty

7ty

8ty

9ty

10ty

Quotage on the Game/Season
** Tyrone Corbin on the game: I thought our defense did a pretty good job on them. We just couldn’t put the ball in the hole.
** Gordon Hayward: It’s kind of depressing, you know? Season’s over with. And it was a long season for us, definitely had some ups and downs…but proud of the effort we gave, you know, there in the last month just to fight to give ourselves a shot. I mean, that’s all we could ask for.
** Mo Williams on the season: When I look back at this season, Imma look at the uniqueness of this team, where we had a lot of free agents, and we had a lot of guys come together for the better. We coulda went left, easy…At the end of the day, it’s unique and it’s rare that you have [so many free agents] on one team at one time. You [usually] won’t have too many, and if you do, trust me, that team probably won’t be playing for Playoff position.
** Paul Millsap: For it to end like this, it’s tough.
** Al Jefferson: We disappointed, of course, ’cause we lost the game and didn’t get a chance to make the postseason, but overall, the whole season, I mean, I just think everybody should keep their head up, because we should be proud of ourself. There were many time this season that we had a chance to tuck it in and give up, but you know, we kept fighting, fighting to put ourself in a position to get into the Playoffs.
** Randy Foye on the games that got away: That’ll be something that we definitely, you know, next year have to start off and just understand that, you know, you got, you have to win those road games, because if not, you know, you can’t be a Playoff team.

Seeing Al and how crushed he was at the end of the game made me tear up a little…

mem-1smem-2smem-3smem-4s

Quotage on Free Agency
** Foye: I don’t think it’s time to talk about that, about free agency. I do think this, you know, we are a family. We came together in October. We had a lot of ups and downs, but we stayed together. We stayed the course no matter what the circumstances were.
** Mo Williams on whether he has a timetable for free agency decisions: No, no. I haven’t even talked to my agent. And you know, I’m going home, spending some time with my family. You know, pretty sure they miss Daddy.
** Millsap on his free agency timetable: I don’t know, man. I haven’t thought about it yet. I haven’t thought about it. I expected to be in the Playoffs late next week. You know, obviously it didn’t happen, but right now, just take some time. See what happens.

mofo

Misc. Quotage
** Corbin: You know, I can’t say enough about the respec’ I have for this group of guys, man…We didn’t have our best game tonight, and that’s still disappointing, but this group of guys, I’m really proud to have worked with them.
** Hayward on whether he wants a greater leadership role: Definitely. You know, the time to sit back is kinda gone now. Like I said at the beginning [of the interview], you know, third year is gone. And I don’t know where the time went, but it’s gonna be fourth year in the league, and you know, can definitely step up in that area.
** Millsap on this team: We are [a close group of guys]. We definitely are. You know, a lot of guys on this team hang out a lot. Pretty close-niche*, and hopefully we continue to be like that.
* Not a typo
** Millsap on whether the uncertainty of free agency hurt the team: Uncertainty causes doubt. I mean, you know, nobody even knows what’s going to happen with their future. So I would say that it did hurt a little bit. You know, but we’re all professionals, and gotta deal with it, gotta live with it, and gotta continue to fight for it.
** Millsap on whether he’ll remember the fight to get in the Playoffs or not getting in: I don’t think it really matters how you finish, how you start if you’re not in the Playoffs. Simple as that.

Random Stuff, etc.
** If this is the way it was going to go, I really wish I could’ve watched the game with Raja Bell.

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Boler, pre-game: I’ve got a good feeling inside. (H/T @da_breezman)
** ESPN guy: Randolph a little undersized, but it doesn’t matter. He can get the shot off in a variety of ways.
** Boler on Favors putback: Right place, right time, in traffic, Favors muscles up two.
** Harpring: You hate when you look down and see a guy above his average.
** ESPN guy: That’s two consecutive possessions that Utah went deep, too deep, into the shot clock.
** ESPN guy on Corbin: You gotta try to push a new button. This isn’t working.
** Harpring on Randolph: He’s such a load when he gets it down low.
** David Locke (H/T @blazerdog38)

locke tweet

10 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    April 18, 2013 10:25 pm

    I hate ty corbin. Cannot wait until he is off the jazz payroll. Seeing al sad made me sad too. Shame his teammates in the backcourt were exceptionally bad.

    • April 19, 2013 7:56 am

      The lack of adjustments was also sad and bad.

  2. The Jorge permalink
    April 18, 2013 10:48 pm

    Moni, Thank you for the whole year of recaps, vents, interviews, commentary, UDQMs, opponent gamethreads, and everything else. You establish the level of Jazz fanaticism that I strive for in my personal life! I have loved checking your magnificent blog daily and getting the actual fan outlook and commentary that I relate to. What you do is definitely worth it and I thank you for the laughs, thoughts, and overall awesomeness that came to me everyday throughout this season. Your enthusiasm for this is inspiring.

  3. Alec permalink
    April 18, 2013 11:42 pm

    The Jorge said it all! Thank you very much, Moni!

  4. modernagejazz permalink
    April 19, 2013 2:57 am

    The Jorge said it all! Thank you moni, but I know you’re not done with the season yet. And I can’t wait. :)

  5. zb1 permalink
    April 19, 2013 5:50 am

    Thanks moni for the season of coverage. You are the best Jazz blogger around. Keep it up.

  6. April 19, 2013 7:55 am

    Thank you guys so much for reading, and for your comments. They mean the world to me.

  7. JFFR permalink
    April 19, 2013 11:49 am

    I just wanted to say thank your for the blog. It’s my favorite Jazz blog and I’ve loved following it all year long!

  8. JFFR permalink
    April 19, 2013 11:51 am

    *thank you (not thank “your”)

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

