Skip to content

A Wonderful Trip Down Memory Lane with Antoine Carr (aka Bits from Antoine Carr Interview) Woof Woof!

April 9, 2013

Where are you now?
I’m down in San Antonio. I have a remodeling company, and I’m also training my son, who’s getting ready to take that next major step here pretty soon, in about two years…He’s 6’7.5″, about 235, wears size 18 [shoe].

How did you get the nickname “Big Dog”?
Well, I was originally called the Big Dog because in Witchita, Kan., the area we were living, it was a little bit rough. And then some of the other areas we moved to in other cities were extremely rough. So my dad bought me a big rottweiler, and everywhere I went, obviously, the dog went with me. So I just became known as the Big Dog because I walked around with my big rottie all the time.

Why did you start wearing the googles?
The goggles actually became a part of me there in Utah. We were playing against, I believe, it was the Clippers in Anaheim, Calif., and I went for a loose ball and one of the guys, I’m not sure exactly who it is, but he had long fingernails like a girl, and he swiped at the ball, and I think he missed and caught me in the eye instead.

So the eye shut down, obviously, and anytime you’re hit in one eye, the other eye tends to shut down too. So I’m thinking, “Well, might be blind here.”

So of course I was kinda feeling around the floor and trying to figure out where I was going, and my good teammate Karl Malone and those guys of course started riding me. So it was kind of one of those funny situations where you walk in the locker room after an injury and everybody’s on the floor feeling around like they’re trying to look for something.

So you know, they’re cruel. I’ll put it like that.

What was it like being in a Stockton-Malone locker room in the Finals years?
For me, it was just that great feeling of being with a team that could get to the Finals, that you know had the talent and the work ethic to get there. And you know, I was just honored to be even considered to play for this team.

You know, as you know, I was down here in San Antonio originally, and Karl Malone basically told my mom, he’s gonna come get me and bring me up there. And he held true to his words.

Do you feel less fulfilled for not having won a title?
Well, I don’t feel exceptionally good about it, ’cause I still feel like we should’ve had at least two titles.

You know, I think we should’ve never let that team go that third year. I think we should’ve just kept us all together and played that short season out and see what happened, and at that time make a decision. But it unfortunately didn’t, and it’s history from there.

What was Karl Malone like as a friend and teammate?
He’s one of those guys that, you know, you just love being around. He’s one of those guys that’s just, he’s an old country boy kinda like myself. So he’s gonna go out and do those country things. But when he’s in that–what I call a big square–the hunt, you’re in trouble.

He comes to play, and he’s gonna bang, gonna do whatever’s necessary. And if you get in the way of those knees or elbows, you could be in trouble.

On Jerry Sloan vs. Deron Williams
Jerry Sloan is an old-school, hard-nosed coach, and when he gets on you, that’s part of the game. And these young guys now, you know, you have to be real gentle with them. You know, they can be fragile. And I think that was part of it.

Coach Sloan is just one of those guys that, “Look, I’d rather not deal with that type of stuff. I want to be able to talk to my team. I want to be able to tell my players, ‘Look. This is what I need of you.'” I mean, for how long did it work?

And all of a sudden, you have these young kids coming in and thinking they’re God’s gift to basketball. Well, I got news for you. Basketball’s been around a lot longer than all of you guys ever will be.

So you know, to me, those guys need to learn, you know, you’re not God’s gift to basketball. You’re just another good player, and as you get older, there’s gonna be other players to come behind you that may be better, or just might get promoted up to make it look like they’re better…

[Deron Williams] is not John Stockton. Period. That’s about as easy as I can make it. You’re not John Stockton. Unless you were John, I don’t think you had the right to run around and try to dictate what goes on there in Utah. Especially when you don’t have that type of talent or have that type of talent around you…

You know, I like the kid. Don’t get me wrong, but you know, he’s no John Stockton. I’ve been with some of the best guards in the world, and you know, he’s not in that top ten.

** Rod Zundel on a picture he has of Carr doing a remodeling job, #UDQM: I got a little teeny bathroom that’s about four or five feet wide, and you are straddled across it with your legs up in the air, laying tile. (KALL)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Brent E permalink
    April 9, 2013 10:47 pm

    Great interview from a great player on the all-time great Jazz roster. Just wondering, did you clean this one up at all, or is Antoine Carr just a much better public speaker than Rigby, KOC, and DL?

    • April 9, 2013 10:49 pm

      Nope, didn’t clean anything up. I transcribe everyone the exact same way. I guess that answers your question. :)

    • Colby permalink
      April 10, 2013 7:10 pm

      See, Carr’s not playing some condescending media/PR game and insulting everyone’s intelligence. So he can, uh, you know, well, it is what it is, and he can, as I see it, when you really, I, I think when you really take a look at it from the outside in, one foot in front of the other, potato/potahto, well, I’d, you know, I’d be, I’d be lying if I said he wasn’t the only one out of all of them who can talk like a human.

  2. RajaBella permalink
    April 10, 2013 3:19 am

    Great interview. Thanks so much for posting. He’s a great guy and I love what he had to say.

  3. April 12, 2013 12:18 am

    Big Dawg!!!!!

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

