Skip to content

Game 78 Jazz at Warriors: Mark Jackass Loses

April 8, 2013

mo-fo-chest-bump

Look out your window and see if pigs are flying by, because the Jazz just won against a winning team on the road!

Quotage
** Al Jefferson: We were really getting stops…You know, I think D-Favs is the big key to that. You know, when coach subbed me out there towards the end and put him back in, I couldn’t be no happier than if he were putting me in the game. I feel like that was the right move, and he made a big defensive stop there towards the end. I think, you know, Derrick Favors really the key reason why our defense is so great, you know, especially in the key–in the crunch time of the game.
** Mo Williams on Favors’ defensive contributions: That’s what he brings to us, man. We know it, and he does a great job for us on the defensive end. He’s our shot blocker. You know, we know Al is not a shot blocker. Paul [Millsap] is not a shot blocker. So when he’s back there, everybody knows it and he makes up for a lot of defenciencies* that, you know, we have on the perimeter.
* New word, meaning defensive deficiences?
** Randy Foye: Two MVPs of the game is Mo on the scoring end, and then Derrick Favors controlled the game defensively. He did a great job, especially at the end, you know, he was helping me when they set a screen for [Stephen] Curry, he was there for me helping me out. But you know, he played his butt off, and he really is the MVP of the game.
** Gordon Hayward on Favors: The defensive presence is something that only, it seems like, only he can bring, at times just because of his length and athleticism. And as a perimeter player, it’s a lot more comforting knowing, you know, if I gamble or get clipped on a screen, he’s got my back. So it’s tremendous playing with him.
** Derrick Favors: On the last play, you know, I knew they were going to try to get something going to the basket. So I just stood there and got the block.

favors

** Tyrone Corbin: You look at Randy. It started with him, with his defense. And after the first quarter, that, how he made Curry work for everything he got, and then the weak side guys, their rotations were good. And, you know, just the aggression, and the focus, the detail on the defensive end was what won the game for us tonight.
** Tyrone Corbin, asked specifically about Favors’ performance in the last minute: The last play, he switched on Curry and challenged his shot out. So, just the focus of all the guys, I thought they all did a great job.

** Mo on Steph Curry: I knew that Curry was gonna come out being aggressive, so I wanted to, you know, make an effort to making him guard me also. And as a [result] there, you saw me and him not guarding each other throughout the game.

jamaal3

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Harpring: Boler, if you can’t get up for this, you need motivation.
** Boler: A lot of banging, back inside goes Big Al.
** Harpring on Curry: He has the quickest shot release. His father had that too.
** Harpring: Favors is just too big. He’s coming! He’s coming, Boler! (H/T @da_breezman)
** Harpring on Bogut: When he’s in, it slows him down a little bit. And then you see, they take him out.
** Harpring on Mo: He’s been huge all night long.
** Harpring: That’s one of the hardest things to do, is bang with a player on one end…
** Booner: Physically, are you feel like you’re getting tested by some of these guys in the NBA, as maybe you’re a little soft or something? Hayward: Uh, I don’t know. You know, for me, I always just compete. It doesn’t matter if they’re going to be physical. If they’re going to be physical, I’ll be physical right back. Booner: Hello! (H/T @HipMrBully)
** Via @5kl, a #UDPM:

BHTMbWZCAAEAEd7.jpg large

4 Comments leave one →
  1. modernagejazz permalink
    April 8, 2013 8:47 pm

    Sweet win! :D

    On another note, am I the only one who thinks Favors’ D is overrated? He is very good as a help defender and pick and roll defender. But every game he seems to let his man beat him with a cut off the ball and his man to man defense also lets me down sometimes. I mean, he did allow David Lee to drive on him, all the way from the top of the key to a layup. David Lee.

    Don’t get me wrong, I am a fan of Favors, but it worries me that everyone hypes him as a defensive master when I seem to see obvious flaws he should (and has the ability to) improve on.

    • April 8, 2013 8:57 pm

      I definitely think there are areas where he can “continue to work and get better.” However, it’s all relative. When you compare him to the rest of the team… ;)

      • modernagejazz permalink
        April 8, 2013 9:28 pm

        Lol! Yeah, I think the contrast to Al really is behind the overpraise. On the other hand, it’s always good to have the reputation of a great defensive players, the refs catch up eventually.

        • mykroberts permalink
          April 9, 2013 1:14 am

          He struggles when pulled away from basket. Athletically he should be able to stay with people, but he seems to be over aggressive or out of position. Kanter + Favors pair could be an issue because neither are ideal to guard stretch 4s.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

