Skip to content

Dennis Lindsey on whether the young guys can start next season and other off-day odds and ends

April 7, 2013

One. Do you feel like Derrick Favors, Enes Kanter, Gordon Hayward, and Alec Burks would be qualified to start next year?

Dennis Lindsey: I think all of them, in different ways, and starters, and look, you know, I, the, the whole starting thing is pretty arbitrary to me. You know, as a player, sometimes I think, guys, if you really ask them, they’d rather close than start. Those especially who want, you know, the pressure, you know, of the end result on, you know, on their hands in the last second…

[talking about Manu Ginobili and Gregg Popovich, and then John Havlicek]

…We can go through the list of guys, and I really think there’s a, you know, I’m more tangibles than intangibles, but I obviously believe in intangibles…

[starts talking about Manu and Havlicek again]

…You know, I’ve really appreciated Gordon. You know, he could very easily have said, “Hey, that’s not me. I was a lottery pick. I did this at Butler. I took us to the final game. I’m gonna be that,” and [he] did not bat an eye. Not one conversation with his agent. Not one complaint to Ty[rone Corbin]. And he served that purpose well, and now his purpose has changed.

But yeah, you know, I think all four young guys can, can move forward and take bigger roles whether they start or come off the bench. (1280)

Two. Congrats to Rick Adelman on getting his 1,000th coaching win. Rick and Jerry Sloan were teammates on the Bulls once upon a time (via video from @JazzBasketball1):

jerry rick

Adelman sounds exactly like Jerry:

adelman 1000

And speaking of Jerry, this tweet came one day ago:

jerry coaching

One more Jazz link:

ak adelman 1000

Three. Gordon Hayward, asked about his favorite TV shows: I honestly don’t really watch much TV. Pretty much the only TV show that I watch is “Big Bang Theory.” I’m pretty into that show. (1280)

Four. #JazzMysteries:

corbin mustache

Five. DeMarre Carroll on free agency: I’ll decide what I’m going to do at the end of the year. Me, man, I’m just … at a level of my life, a level of my game, I can play in the NBA. I can be a rotation player and contribute. It’s just finding the right opportunity, finding the right system, the right coach that believes. (Trib)

Six. LOL at Memo Okur cringing as Matt Harpring surprises him from behind (IDQM):

matt memo

8 Comments leave one →
  1. stpx permalink
    April 7, 2013 6:03 pm

    has dennis lindsay EVER given a direct simple and clear answer to ANYTHING? He should become a politician. He never says anything. Man, Im sick of him.

    • MyKroberts permalink
      April 8, 2013 6:28 am

      It might not be saying much, but he is a lot more informative than KOC….

      I also don’t get why Big Bang Theory is so popular – it’s jokes are all obvious and cliche.

      • April 8, 2013 11:55 am

        a) Despite the poor public speaking, DL strikes me as much, MUCH more reasonable and accurate when describing the state of the team. He basically said the C4 are all prepared to play 30+ minutes, whether starting or off the bench.

        b) Big Bang Theory cracks me up. It’s nothing like the genius of Arrested Development. Or the brilliant character-based humor of Parks and Rec. It’s obvious, based on extreme stereotyping, etc. But it makes me laugh.

        • April 8, 2013 11:57 am

          At the same time, I wish they’d stop the whole “starters” vs. “finishers” BS. Everyone knows what you mean if you say a guy is good enough to be a starter. Just say, “yes, they are ready for that kind of role.”

        • MyKroberts permalink
          April 8, 2013 12:42 pm

          Modern Family has got to be my pick for a current comedy.

  2. April 8, 2013 11:26 am

    I really hope Dennis Lindsey is a better GM than public speaker. Between him, Kevin, and Rigby, it’s all a bunch of nonsensical, grammatically vacant verbal diarreah

  3. April 8, 2013 3:27 pm

    @Jon I thought the whole point of the way he said it was that it was just a very roundabout way of him not wanting to say they are ready to start.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

