Skip to content

Game 76 Jazz vs. Nuggets: Boom Bitch’d

April 4, 2013

nuggets-celebrate

This was a look at how the Jazz stack up against a non-lottery team. The guys didn’t put forth their best effort, but the last five wins came against some really mediocre-to-bad teams. Consider this a reality check of sorts.

At the very least, we’ll have the memory of the Jazz’s attempt at running a zone for our everlasting amusement.

Pre-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on winning five straight: Well, we continued to play. You know, you understand what it’s gonna take, and you know, it’s a long season. Sometimes you’re not playing your best basketball. As long as you don’t quit on yourself and continue to work, stay focused, stay together, you have a chance to work it out, and this group of guys are showing that they gonna stay together and they wanna get better, and as a result, we’re having better results.
** Corbin on Enes Kanter: He’s progressing, you know? You know, we’re still waiting to see how he’s coming along. I think so far everything’s coming along ok. But you know, it’s gonna be a day-to-day thing and see what gives us the best chance, what gives him the best chance to get better.
** Corbin on why the Nuggets are ahead of the Jazz in rebuilding when Carmelo Anthony and Deron Williams were traded at the same time: You know, I don’t, I, they, their system has been there, with George Karl’s, been, he’s still there. I mean, they traded Carmelo, but they had, still had Ty Lawson, and that group has still been around. And, they just figured it out with their key guys. It’s, they kept, you know, Carmelo left, but they kept a lot of the guys that they’ve had, and they just running, and they added guys that fit what they, what they’re doing. So, you know, it’s just one of those things. They figured it out. I thought when they made the trade, I thought the group that came over at the end of that year, they kind of continued. They got better really quick. So that was a good fit. They’re somewhat experienced guys that came over, in [Wilson] Chandler, who came from New York, and [Danilo] Gallinari, who was playing from there, so they were used to being, playing. And so, they were able to just pick up and go, and the style fit what they were doing a little better. (KALL)

OK? OK.

** Paul Millsap on whether Kenneth Faried is a young Paul Millsap: Oh yeah, man. He’s tenacious, and tenacious rebounding. Never gives up on a play. He’s a little more athletic than me than when I was, you know, younger. But same qualities, you know? He could go after it every time. You can see it.
** Al Jefferson on where he’s improved defensively: With defense, you know, you gotta make one, two, three, four efforts on the defensive end, and I think that’s the difference for me this year than other year. You know, I’m going after that second and third, you know, and the results there. That’s what it takes…I still got some ways to go, you know, but being out there with Paul [Millsap] and [Derrick Favors], you know, me and Paul out there together. Paul, you know, is a great defensive player, pick and roll cover. D-Favs a guy who, you know, shot block at the rim. You know, so them guys really help me out a lot too, make me better. You know, it’s amazing for a third-year guy, I learn defense stuff from him, you know? And I been in the league nine years, and D-Favs is only third year, but you’re never too old to learn things and pick up things from younger players.
** Al on Enes Kanter: We gotta hold it down for him, because he, you know, few games I have missed, you know, he held it down for me. And that’s what I told him, I said we gonna hold it down for you. You just take your time and get yourself back together. So that’s what we trying to do.

shy favors

** [Adorably embarrassed (pictured above)] Derrick Favors, asked what he’s taught Big Al defensively: I mean, I just, sometimes tell Al, you know, on pick and rolls, you know, help him out a little bit. You know, just when you go back, have your hands up, you know, and just doing little things like that. You know, he showed me things on offense.
What’s the number one thing he’s taught you offensively? Just being patient in the post. You know, sometimes I can get a little bit impatient, you know, trying to make a move too fast, so he just tell me to take my time.
Who’s a better teacher, you or Al? Obviously him. You know, he been around the league longer, with the experience and all that stuff, and you know, I just throw him my little input on stuff.
Is it natural or awkward for you to be giving Al tips on defense? It’s kind of awkward at first, you know, but I think I kinda got used to it. I just say something every now and then.
Is he coachable? Yeah, I coach him. Sometimes he might come up to me and ask me, you know, so he’s very coachable.
** Favors on his puppy: I just got him yesterday. Man, I been playing with him. You know, I love him, you know, but he keep me up at night with all that whining he doing…I named him Gotti [like Mo Gotti, and] he’s a pitbull. (Utah Jazz)

favors dog

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin: We didn’t do a good job on the defensive end tonight…We fell for the trap…We didn’t play our best basketball.
** Gordon Hayward: Props to them.
** Mo Williams: You can’t play good, shoot the ball good, every game. I thought every other area of my game, I played well today. I just didn’t shoot the ball well.
** Mo on the playoff implications of this loss: We just won five games in a row. I mean, I hope you guys weren’t expecting us to go, you know, 11-0. That’ll be great, but at the same time, you’re not going to win every game.
** Randy Foye: You know, I put a lot of the blame on myself, you know, because say if I make two or three of them shots, you know, it’s a different game. But you know, that’s what it is. You know, I’m gonna come in tomorrow ready to work.
** Foye on not getting good looks tonight: I know [Corey] Brewer. And first thing he said to me when I, you know, when he subbed in, and Andre Iguodala too, he said, “We’re not gonna let you, you know, tear us up tonight from the three-point line.” You know, so, you know, I knew what the scouting report was, to chase me off. You know, I tried to do some different things to get in there, but it seemed like when I got in there, them guys are so big and athletic, it seemed like they were everywhere. They just mucked everything up, and you know, they switch everything. So they make it tough, but you know, they’re smart and they a good team.

mcneal

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Corbin on George Karl: He have guys now that are different sizes, who can play at the pace that he wanna play.
** Steve Brown: The locker room is so loose right now. (H/T @phann_08)
** Brown: Even with all the pressure, they’re more loose than they were midseason. (H/T @phann_08)
** Brown to Al: You’re more loose now, I think, than you were mid-season when maybe things weren’t so tight. Al: Yeah, I mean, you just relaxing and doing what you supposed to do. So I guess it’s ok to be loose then.
** Favors on his new puppy: He keep me up, but I gotta deal with it.
** Favors: When Al and Paul get tired, usually me and Enes sub in together, sometime, but now it’s just me going in by myself.
** Boler: Big Al is one tough load. Harpring: Big Al, if he gets the ball deep enough, it’s going to be a long night.
** Boler: Hayward knew when he let it loose it was going to be a little bit short.
** Harpring: George Karl likes to go small.
** Harpring: Jazz have the size advantage with Favors inside. I think the Jazz should try to work him the ball a little bit.
** Harpring: It’s gonna be tight coming down. This one hurts.
** Hayward, post-game: They backdoored us, and kind of picked us apart there for a little bit. So it was difficult.

football gordon

11 Comments leave one →
  1. stpx permalink
    April 4, 2013 8:32 pm

    what a non answer as to why denver is better than utah. Well, for openers, they have Karl and the Jazz refuse to fire Corbin even though its clear he is in over his head. Second……..ty corbin cant coach. And finally, honestly, the talent level is much the same. Favors, Kanter, Hayward…..but the jazz dont even start those guys. Its pathetic.

  2. Brent E permalink
    April 4, 2013 9:15 pm

    II told my wife before the game I was expecting Denver to hand the Jazz an ugly loss, primarily because George Karl would make adjustments and Corbin would not. It seemed in the first quarter that the Jazz were hanging in there, but sure enough Denver started to pull away and continued to get to the hoop all night while the Jazz trotted out the same players and kept taking contested jump shots. Games like last night really make me wonder what progress Corbin has made in his 3 years as head coach.

  3. April 4, 2013 11:28 pm

    i think corbin showed a lot of progression last night. it used to be just sidney lowe with pocket squares that don’t make sense, but corbin really outdid him last night. a good assistant coach brings something new to the table and, to his credit, ty is learning from him and continuing to get better.

    • stpx permalink
      April 4, 2013 11:34 pm

      getting better?? I see zero evidence of this……..by doing what? by not adjusting to denver’s offense?

      • April 5, 2013 12:57 am

        uhh….

      • Colby permalink
        April 5, 2013 1:13 am

        He’s talking about Ty’s pocket squares game. He’s picking it up from Lowe. His pocket squares are making less sense now. DW is being sarcastic. Case…..*sunglasses on*

        ….clothsed.

        • stpx permalink
          April 5, 2013 1:19 am

          my bad .

    • April 5, 2013 7:55 am

      And as the game went on, the pocket square completely gave up. First one side wilted, and then the whole thing just kind of died.

  4. April 5, 2013 1:00 pm

    As a teacher, a writer, and one obsessed with effective communication, I must say that Tyrone Corbin’s answer regarding why the Nuggets have rebuilt more quickly is incredible. My favorite line:

    “I thought when they made the trade, I thought the group that came over at the end of that year, they kind of continued.”

    I want to be the thesis statement of my next opus.

    • April 5, 2013 5:52 pm

      As someone obsessed with effective communication, you must love the Dream Team of KOC, Rigby, and Ty.

  5. April 5, 2013 1:11 pm

    And the odd thing is this:

    There are totally non-cynical, non-bashing reasons you can come up with regarding why the Nuggets are ahead of the Jazz in rebuilding.

    1. The featured parts of the Nuggets trade were players who had 3+ years of experience. They have already progressed through early struggles and were playing at a high level immediately. On the other hand, the featured parts of the Jazz trade were a 19-year-old rookie and two future draft picks. Just by virtue of the returning players/picks, the Jazz should be a couple years behind the Nuggets.

    2. The featured guy of the Nuggets trade directly filled the hole left by the guy they were losing: they went from one strong SF with post-up skills (Melo) to a new strong SF with post-up skills (Gallo). Then the other guys coming in added nice depth to the team. Contrast that with the Jazz, who lost an All-NBA PG and gained a C/PF … that hole represented by losing Deron Williams was NOT matched by the featured return and had to be filled by a temporary stop-gap player. Then the major draft pick was another C/PF. Because the positions of the incoming and outgoing players don’t actually match, fully implementing the rebuild is going to take more work (and time) than the Nuggets’ situation required. (That the Jazz rebuild inherently requires more moves and work, and yet it’s the Jazz is the team that hasn’t done a single further roster change focused on the rebuild since is simply incredible.)

    There are other reasons, of course. I wrote about them at great length. But it concerns me that Ty Corbin’s answer left me wondering if he had any idea why Denver is so much better than the Jazz.

    I don’t like wondering that about my team’s head coach.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

