Skip to content

Bits from Kevin O’Connor Interview, 4/1

April 3, 2013
tags: ,

Weekly front office praise for Tyrone Corbin
You know, I have to tell you, anything I would say to COACH, I would say to him, you know, in private.

We’re very happy with the job he’s done…We’ve done, you know, we’ve done some things that have put in him a situation where he’s trying to figure out playing time, etc., but I’ll leave that to Dennis [Lindsey] and myself and to Greg [Miller] and Randy [Rigby], rather than talk about him over the air.

But let me say this. I don’t think you’ll find a guy with better character and a harder-working guy. And we’re all going to grow together, and I think that’s an important aspect of what we do.

On free agency and “You go live in Utah”
If somebody doesn’t want to come, that means somebody else will. So we’ve gotta, we understand that. We understand that’s part of it. But I think we’ve had a decent track record going, going kind of against what everyone’s saying, that we can’t get free agents. We’ve gotten them, and they’ve played well.

Did you catch up with Deron Williams the other night?
It, it didn’t, you know. I haven’t spoken to Deron. Saw him in Chi–I saw him in New Jersey, during the workouts. Back there in May, last May. I haven’t spoken to him since. And, you know, we were just trying to beat the New Jersey Nets, and you know, that was, that was my goal that night.

And, you know, having been in the league as long as I have, and we’ve traded players, and we’ve let players not, we haven’t signed players, and they’ve signed somewhere else, etc., etc.

So if I get into all of that stuff, with trying to catch up with, or worry about, some of the, somebody on another team, and then I’ve got one a night.

So I didn’t, I didn’t seek Deron out. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t have said hello to him.

Ante Tomic update
We’ve seen him play, probably, in person, I saw him play in person three times in December, and Dennis has seen him. And Rich Sheubrooks, our global, director of global scouting, has seen him a couple of times. So, more than a couple of times.

So, yeah. We’re in tune with where he’s at, and we’re gonna have some conversations with him. Last year, he did not have a good year, and he actually went from Real Madrid to Barcelona…He’s had a very good year this year. One of the better young centers over there.

So we will have a conversation, and you know, sometimes players are very comfortable in where they’re at, and they don’t have the itch to go yet. So that will be a conversation. That’s all part of the off-season.

In 22 Euroleague games this season, Ante Tomic has started 20 games, averaging nearly 23 minutes per game (third most on the team; Euroleague games are 40 minutes long). Tomic is averaging 11.7 points on 63.4-percent shooting, 5.9 rebounds, 1.8 assists, and 1.3 blocks per game.

How old are the “Core Four” again, just in case anyone’s forgotten?
Think about it: 20, 21, 22, and 23–just turned 23. In four years, in four years one of them’s gonna be 24, 25, 26. We’re looking forward to that. (1280)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rafael Amarante permalink
    April 3, 2013 8:05 pm

    “If somebody doesn’t want to come, that means somebody else will.”

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure that’s not how logic works. Whatever that is.

  2. KaBar6 permalink
    April 4, 2013 8:26 pm

    KOC seems so discombobulated.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

