Skip to content

Game 72 Jazz vs. Suns: 72 down; 10 + ? to go

March 28, 2013

Sharing is caring and giving is winning. Jazz basketball is infinitely better when the extra pass is the rule and not the exception. This play will not make any highlight reels, but I love it as much as any (Jazz) highlight.

ball-movement-1

To be honest, once they showed Bear with the two pink jersey grandmas and then Coach Jerry Sloan, and with Memo Okur in the house and joining the broadcast, the game could’ve gone either way and the night would still have ended on a good note for me.

:) :) :) :) :) via @utahjazz

Pink jersey grandmas! So funny that I just posted about them yesterday, and today here they are on the broadcast for the first time ever (that I’ve seen; but then again League Pass sometimes sticks me with opponent or national feeds). And how funny was it that Bear dressed up like them!

pink-grandmas

Pre-Game Quotage

mcneal

** Jerel McNeal on how much he knew about the Jazz: I knew quite a bit about ‘em. It was just more so because I had a old teammate of mine, Wes Matthews, that played with ‘em a couple years back, you know, so I always followed them closely because of him…I got a chance to talk to him, actually, earlier this morning right after I got done doing all the paperwork and everything, and me and him talked about, just letting him know and stuff, and he was, you know, just the type of guy he is, you know, he was super excited for me, and just happy I was getting a opportunity to, you know, to, just to get a, showcase my skills and get another shot at this level too. So, you know, I think it meant a lot to him, and obviously it means a whole lot to me too.
** McNeal on what he’s hoping to show in the next 10 days: Main thing is just, I’m trying to make the most out of the opportunity, and whether that be helping out in practice, or if I’m fortunate enough to get any playing time in any games, whatever it may be, I just want to do whatever I can to, you know, to show, you know, the organization and the coaching staff, you know, that not only am I a great guy off the court, but you know, I’m able to contribute something on the court too if I’m able to get the opportunity. (@da_breezman)

enes shoulder

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin, asked why the starters played so many minutes: Well, we were trying to win the ball game…It just didn’t feel like we were breaking away from ‘em until the very end there, so I wanted to make sure we had control of the game.
** Gordon Hayward on Al Jefferson: I thought we did a good job of playing through Big Al. He did a great job of reading the defense. When they double-teamed, he kicked out, and when they gave him single coverage, he took advantage of it. So I thought it was a good job by him.
** Big Al on Enes Kanter’s injury: It hurts to see, you know, see him playing so well and have that type of injury, especially right now…He’s a good kid, and I talked to him earlier. He had a positive attitude. You know, he wasn’t feeling down about himself. So you know, just continue to work hard and rehab that shoulder, get it back 100 percent, because at the end of the day, that’s all that matter.
** Derrick Favors on Enes’ injury: I feel pretty bad, ’cause, you know, when I had my injury, he stepped up big. So I’m gonna have to do the same for him.
** Hayward on Enes’ injury: It looked gross. I’d never seen something like that before. So, first time for everything. Shoulder was…abnormal for sure.
** Randy Foye on Enes’ injury: Pretty gross. But, you know, he’s a tough kid.

Enes Kanter Quotage
** On his injury: It wasn’t pretty, but they already bring the other Turkish guy back, you know, for replacement–Memo.
** On whether he knew it was bad right away: Yeah, I couldn’t open my arm, and I looked at my shoulder, and I’m like, “Oh my.”

already texting

** On getting sympathy from the ladies: Oh, they’re already texting me. (This is what he was saying in the pic above.)
** On wearing a sling: I still look good, huh? I still look good. I still look good.
** On whether he watched the rest of the game: I watched the whole game. You know, I, my first question was, did we get the jump ball? But they picked Mo, so [shakes head] it was crazy.

jump ball

Random Stuff, etc.
** Steve Brown addressed Gordon Hayward as “G” in the walk-off interview.
** When he was on air with Craig Bolerjack and Matt Harpring, Memo maybe hinted at joining the Jazz in a coaching capacity: “I’m hoping I’ll be back and, more often, and hopefully I’ll be around the players more and coaching staff, and we’ll see what happens.”
** For you special folks that like to watch people putting on hats (heya @My_Lo), here’s Jerry Sloan (I’m guessing) putting on a hat someone gave him for his birthday. The scribbling you see is Matt Harpring deciding Jerry Sloan’s hat should say “Jazz” instead of “John Deere”:

jerry-john-deere

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Boler: Big Al goes inside, tries to muscle Scola, does! Big Al, showing some power inside early!
** Boler: Foye got a piece of Johnson.
** Harpring on Favors: He just needs to go straight up in the air. He doesn’t need to get contact right there.
** Boler on Kanter’s shoulder: That would take most men to their knees. Guaranteed.
** Harpring on shoulder injuries: You need to get them surgically repaired because they become so loose that if you have contact, it’s just going to pop out.
** Harpring on replay of Enes’ shoulder injury: See the bulge? (H/T @da_breezman)
** Harpring: You can’t just play on one end.
** Boler: Burks loads it up again, Scola tips it out.

harpring fist bump

4 Comments leave one →
  1. J.B.Pehrson permalink
    March 28, 2013 9:31 pm

    I just love the thought of Memo being part of the Jazz organization. One of my all time favorite players.

  2. March 29, 2013 12:44 am

    i love the pink jersey ladies! that’s probably the best thing the jazz bear has done all year.

  3. bebop permalink
    March 29, 2013 2:28 pm

    I think the Jazz bear reads your blog…

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

