Skip to content

Game 71 Jazz vs. 76ers: A Real Win!

March 26, 2013

Is it just me, or was this game…boring? Not that I’m looking a gift horse in the mouth, but it was really hard to get into the game. I don’t know if it was the completely dead crowd (and by crowd, I mean “crowd”) or the 76ers doing their best impression of “Jazz-on-the-road basketball,” but it was just flat all night despite numerous highlight plays. Win though, so yay!

The discovery during Enes Kanter’s walk-off interview that he keeps his mouthpiece behind his ear is probably the most interesting thing that happened tonight…

enes mouthpiece

Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin: The ball went in the basket for us.
(I guess this is the opposite of “We just couldn’t make shots.”)
** Corbin on the #PlayoffPush: We’re still in the fight, you know, and we understand where we are. This group of guys have been resilient all year long, and I don’t, you know, expect anything other than for them to continue to fight, as long as we have fight in us, and we’re in the fight.

corbin ref

** Enes Kanter with the most Enes quote ever: I was so much comfortable. You know, my teammates give me that comfortable, and you know, I’m just try to do my best and get the Jazz win.
** Derrick Favors on looking for Enes when he caught the ball: I think that’s the underrated part of my game, you know? I got good court vision. But Enes know when I catch the ball, you know, my first look is gonna be either him or the perimeter guys, ’cause I know everybody gon’ clamp down on me some. So they know that’s my first look, and then my second look gon be to try and get to the basket, but they also know I can make plays off of that.

lowe brown

Random Stuff, etc.
** Has Jerry Sloan had his fill of bad basketball?

325 jerry tweet

** Love, love, love this:

enes al tweets

** Armless Al was back again tonight:

armless al

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Boler: Foye penetrates, Enes stays hot from last night in Dallas. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Boler: Ivey tried to penetrate…taken down. (H/T Lou Allen)
** Harpring on Favors: He’s a 30-minute-a-night guy.
** Boler: Derrick Favors has ripped up Philadelphia is a very short amount of time.
** Boler: There’s Hawes, working both ends.
** Boler: Yeah, talk about your package as a player. Harpring: Yeah, they could be daggers, it’s what happens next… (H/T @BeardedMangus)
** Harpring: We have a double-stuff moment right here.
** Boler: Marvin’s up. There’s the contact. / Harpring: There was a lot of contact when Favors went up.
** Boler: Kanter felt the lean, and he went inside and up!
** Boler to Foye: You have tried to stay positive. I know it’s been down, but it does come back.
** Jeremy Evans: The minutes at the end, it just comes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 10:55 pm

    1. The game was really mind-numbing. I don’t know why, but it was.

    2. Corbin’s generic platitudes are the stuff of glory

  2. SurlyMae permalink
    March 27, 2013 12:43 am

    Poor armless Al. At least he had both of them during the Mavs game!

  3. March 27, 2013 12:57 am

    even at the game it was flat and a bit boring. it was weird considering the number of highlight plays. also, some guy outside was selling his lower bowl tickets for $5 each…

    p.s. your captions killed me today!

    • March 27, 2013 4:11 pm

      Thanks dw!

      P.S. The other season ticket holders are probably preparing to sue that guy for devaluing their property…

  4. March 27, 2013 6:17 am

    also, do they show those cute old ladies with pink jazz jerseys on television? most of the cheers during the game happened when they were up on the jumbotron. probably because they’re the most adorable ladies ever.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

