Skip to content

Game 58 Jazz vs. Hawks: Winless So Far Post-Trade Deadline

February 28, 2013

al ankle

Pre-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin on the Jazz coming out lethargic in the 3rd quarter: We gotta get better. We gotta find out what it is that we, you know, whatever we’re doing at halftime and getting ourselves ready to go in that third quarter. We gotta change and make sure we’re ready to start the game.
** Corbin on whether he got what he wanted from the starting point guard change: Yeah. I thought Earl created pace for us. You know, other than that third quarter, which nobody, we didn’t have the pace we wanted then. But I thought the beginning of the game was pretty good.
** DeMarre Carroll on Paul Pierce and Kevin Garnett: They really love me and really speak highly of me. They think of me like I’m their little brother…They really good friends of mine.
** Al Jefferson: Utah’s been the best thing that ever happened to my career. This team has been the best thing that ever happened to me. (Trib)

** Paul Millsap, asked for a “medical update”: Yeah, I play house, but…
** Big Al on Derrick Favors: Derrick do a lot of amazing things that me and Paul don’t quite do as well. You know, he’s a great defender around the rim. Block shots, you know, very active, can move his feet…and his offensive game is getting better. So you know, I feel real comfortable if Paul can’t go, he can step in and play big minutes for us.

marvin torn shirt

** Marvin Williams, story and UDQM: When I was in Atlanta, man, we went through a little stage where we were, you know, tearing guys’ shirts off, you know, when they weren’t looking. I was out there talking to Josh [Smith] and Zaza [Pachulia] came and got me.

** Kyle Korver on Utah: I love coming back to Utah for a lot of reasons…I loved living here, you know, just the life here. I loved waking up and seeing the mountains everyday. You know, just a good lifestyle here in Utah. We had fun teams to play on. You know, we had good teams, a lot of pieces that fit well together. I mean, playing in this arena was great. I think we might’ve lost, like, seven games in two and a half years that I was here. Seriously, I mean, it was a low number. We had rocking crowds…a lot of good memories.
** More from Korver: I’m a free agent this summer. You know, I mean, yeah, I would definitely listen to Utah if they came asking.

big ass hands

Post-Game Quotage
** Tyrone Corbin: We just gotta get better. We gotta do a better communicating, we gotta do a better on the ball.
** Corbin on what the Jazz have to do to stop this losing streak: Get a win. We gotta do whatever it takes to get a win.
** DeMarre Carroll on what’s causing the Jazz’s slow starts: I just think we’re not coming out with energy. When you don’t come out with energy, and mixed with a combination of not playing hard, you know, we end up 10 down, we end up 20 down. We end up in a loss. So you know, it’s coach Corbin, I know he’ll find a fix to it.
** More Carroll: We just came out flat. We really didn’t have no energy. And you know, when I got in the game, and second unit got in the game, we really said we was gonna pick up the energy…I think I got hurt, and I don’t know if that took it down a little bit. … We had it going there for a second, and then I got hurt, and I don’t know what happened after that.
** Derrick Favors: We played Atlanta awhile back, you know, I didn’t have, I didn’t play my best game. You know, I was kind of disappointed in myself so when we played them tonight, I just wanted to come out there and make a statement, you know, show that I’m a better player than what I played last time. (KALL,1280,Utah Jazz)

ghost

Random Stuff, etc.
** People still calling Alec Burks “Alex”: Kevin Pelton
** People calling Paul Millsap “P Diddy”: Big Al
** Burks’ hat of the day: Louis Vuitton.

burks hat

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Harpring: When I played and when I found that zone sometimes, it was hard for me to come out sometimes.
** Harpring: I don’t think you can get to this level playing if you’re not hard on yourself.
** Big Al on Al Horford: Don’t let his size fool you, he powerful down there too. So you know, he’s one of them type of guys that I just gotta be ready. I can’t relax, not even one second on him, because he move around a lot.
** Hayward on his compression sleeve: I wish I would not have to wear it right now, but you know, it’s just one of those things for protection in case, you know, you get hit on.
** Harpring to Boler: Do you need me to get you home? (H/T @dianaallen)
** Boler: Al’s down. Now he’s back up.
** Harpring: Marvin tries to do the reacharound. (H/T @bjcseven)
** Hayward: It was just too big of a hole.
** Hayward: They backdoored us, just kind of owned us.
** Corbin: We can’t be down in a hole like that every night.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

