Skip to content

Game 42 at NJ: At the halfway point

January 20, 2011

[Do you think the guys aren't taking care of themselves in between games?] Jerry: I’m just looking at the energy. If they’re sick, that’s one thing. Maybe they’re all sick. You can ask them that.

So…this is where I’m at: I’m not calling for a trade, or a lineup change.

If your kid is failing school because he doesn’t do his homework and plays video games until 4 a.m., do you do his homework for him so that he gets good grades, or do you sit his ass down and make him study?

These are grown men we have on the Jazz. They need to figure out how to play together and help each other. At the end of the day, they will be stronger for having gone through the process. They have what it takes and the chemistry to win. We’ve seen that. So I don’t want the coaches bailing them out by doing their homework for them, i.e. changing the lineup or playing different guys. I don’t think the Jazz are getting beat or overpowered by other teams. I think the Jazz are the ones losing games, and they only have themselves to blame. So it’s on these millionaires to get their act together.


5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rog. permalink
    January 21, 2011 2:39 am

    I approve this message. Seriously, I can understand the excuses when it’s every now and again, due to back-to-back games or illness, but half of the season…that’s not cool.

  2. Jazzy Girl permalink
    January 21, 2011 3:20 am

    AMEN!! And thank you!

  3. RRR permalink
    January 21, 2011 9:33 am

    Road Kill!

    Oh and right on, it’s on the team not the coaches. Too much party. Put down the cheerleaders and git yer head back on straight guys!

  4. C33 permalink
    January 22, 2011 2:44 pm

    Totally agree that Sloan shouldn’t have to be a babysitter. A few years back my 21-yr-old bro-in-law worked for me. He’d NEVER get up on time and I got sick of it, so left without him.

    When I got back that day, he says, “How come you didn’t get me up, man?”

    I says, “Dude, this isn’t high school and I ain’t your pa. Who you think gets me up?”

  5. January 22, 2011 4:46 pm

    Looks like all the smart people are in agreement. ;)

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

