Skip to content

Game 37 @MEM: The Utah Jazz is broke

January 8, 2011

I’m four hours removed from the game and I’ve soothed my soul with spicy fried chicken. I’m feeling better, though I know it’s a false sense of well-being and the next murdering of my eyes is likely only 18 hours away.

I kinda knew we were sunk ahead of time. I knew as soon as I heard Jazz players talking after the last game against Atlanta about how it’d be good to get out on the road. It just completely reminded me of the Playoffs two years ago, when, after getting their asses beat in LA in Games 1 and 2, Jazz players talked about how great the crowd at ESA is, and how they can’t wait to play, and would play better, at home. They were out of the Playoffs five days later.

On today’s game:
There’s no leadership, no chemistry, no flow. SWARM has been contaminated with starter blood and mixed and matched into oblivion. Millsap and Jefferson are still getting in each other’s way, rather than making each other better. I wouldn’t be surprised if we hear Deron pointing fingers and questioning his teammates/coaches again.

I expect more from Deron. I expect better from Deron. Listen to his post-game comments lately. When asked what the Jazz need to do, his answer is always, “I don’t know.” He needs to do something to figure it out rather than sitting there stumped, because when he figures it out, I believe the Jazz figure it out. We don’t lose games when he’s on his game. This is fact.

(Just to be clear, I’m not advocating a trade. Treating an aching toe by amputating the leg is not the answer. The last thing we need is having to incorporate more new players into this bag of mess.)

Finally, interesting quote from Jerry in the post-game:

“For some reason, [Millsap] gets hit in the head, in the mouth or whatever, and I don’t think he ever goes to the free throw line…They don’t seem to see it whenever he gets hit. It’s really amazing.”

I honestly can’t remember the last time Jerry said anything about the officials or officiating after a game. It’s definitely been years. Us Jazz fans are used to seeing Millsap get violated by referees night in and night out, and it must’ve been pretty bad if Jerry was commenting on it.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jazzy Girl permalink
    January 9, 2011 3:43 am

    Anyone else feel like crying and pulling out all of their hair?

    • January 9, 2011 8:51 am

      I have a sinking feeling tonight won’t get any better.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

